The Poppy

Started by ONeill, October 28, 2009, 12:30:43 AM

Quote from: delboy on October 28, 2009, 04:14:37 PM
Yes, I believe it should be left completely at the discretion of the individual.

So you disagree with the policies at BBC and UTV which requires local presenters to wear it? Hardly a progressive line of thought but sadly one that's only too rare among unionists especially when they think they're getting one up on the other side.

One the positive side, I work in a building with about 70 others, where Fenians would be in the minority and there isn't one person wearing it and haven't been over the past few years. Thankfully most sane people nowadays realise it is totally inappropriate to be wearing such repugnant symbols in a divided society. 

delboy

Quote from: Donagh on October 28, 2009, 04:23:55 PM
Quote from: delboy on October 28, 2009, 04:14:37 PM
Yes, I believe it should be left completely at the discretion of the individual.

So you disagree with the policies at BBC and UTV which requires local presenters to wear it? Hardly a progressive line of thought but sadly one that's only too rare among unionists especially when they think they're getting one up on the other side.

One the positive side, I work in a building with about 70 others, where Fenians would be in the minority and there isn't one person wearing it and haven't been over the past few years. Thankfully most sane people nowadays realise it is totally inappropriate to be wearing such repugnant symbols in a divided society.

I've stated my position quite clearly, it should be left up to the individual its f**k all business of anyone else, if said person at the beeb/UTV doesn't want to wear one then they shouldn't. I really can't spell it out much more clearly than that.

Che

Quote from: rossie mad on October 28, 2009, 10:13:41 AM
I dont want to go off on a tangent here but i was up in the north two weeks ago.

I was heading up to a friend from between banbridge and castlewellan or newcastle i think.
The route i took was armagh city,pontyzpass,loughlowbridge i think, banbridge and then the castlewellan road and i turned off somewhere on that road.

I noticed that every so often there was a UJ or Northern flag flying from different telephone poles and the markethill road there was a fair few splattered.

Then when i went down to my friend who lives on an oul country road i noticed a big farmyard beside his house and a lot of good land to the back and a big white pole with a UJ flying.

This wasnt the first big farm i noticed with a UJ flying outside on a long pole.

My friend is nationalist but is not political.He doesnt care as long as theres peace which is my oulook too.The easy option maybe but it actually irked me that every morning when my friend and his neighbours wakes up they sees this flying and even though they dont seem to care i have to say it would bother me.

Im maybe naive as my trips to the north has only been to crossmaglen and enniskillen a couple times to watch roscommon and yes even though there was a nice few tricolours in cross i never seemed to notice anything else.

On the trip two weeks ago i genuinely seen only one tricolour in the north and alot of bunting and flags for peares og in armagh city.

On the way home i decided going through the republic i would look for tricolours and see were we as genorous with the flag flying.

I went through monaghan cavan and leitrim and down to south roscommon.
I seen two. One outside the slieve russel hotel in cavan and one outside the mbna building in carrick on shannon.

My point is this are the UJs been flown for triumphalism or insecurity?

Was it just the route i took that was unionism favoured or is there other areas in the north where the tricolour is flown every half mile along a road?

that particular road that you took, was a haven for the blue brigade in this county, Armagh City was covered in the harps and og's colours and still is.

the unionists use the UJ etc like a dog use's its urine, to mark their place! We as nationalists / republicans however dont feel the same need to let people know we are there, hence the lack of tricolours on your visit.

So in answer to your question, its a mix of insecurity, triumphalism, ignorance & bigotry

Personally I hate them (Red Poppy), I also have a distaste for the Easter Lilly. Strangely I have attended both nationalist commerations and the peace commeration to soldiers of all wars, which was attended by personal of the Irish Security Services, the Irish Guards (British Army), US, UN Irish soldiers etc. For some reason I have no problem praying for the souls of Irishmen who have fought in the armies of Ireland & the World and the Rebellions of Ireland & the World, yet the Poppy & the Easter Lilly stinks of Facism to me (not saying either are, just both make me feal a little dirty). Then again I have no problem getting ash stuck to my forhead on Ash-Wednesday! In fact in on Anzac day in Australia I was at a Melbourne train station and an elderly soldier was selling Anzac Badges, I contributed the AUS$2 (if I can recall) but refused the badge, he asked why not. My response was that I respected their sacrifice but I am an Irishman and we have a different perspective on history to the children of the Empire. He laughed and said his wife was part Irish and he understood why.

Quote from: Hoof Hearted on October 28, 2009, 09:34:21 AM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on October 28, 2009, 08:44:36 AM
It gives the unionists yet another chance to play the religion card. Imagine the uproar if people freely wore an Easter Lily to work etc?

At least the Lily is only worn on Easter Sunday. I don;t have a problem with remembrance Sunday and all that craic, But it isnt until 8th Nov, the poppies have been on show from last Thursday. It gets earlier by the year.
we're getting earlier ourselves
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=9970.0

I havent seen a poppy here yet.

aontroim

Neither presenter on UTV Live wearing a poppy tonight - is this only a BBC directive?

Quote from: aontroim on October 28, 2009, 06:15:33 PM
Neither presenter on UTV Live wearing a poppy tonight - is this only a BBC directive?

UTV only permit them to be worn between the 2nd of Nov and whenever 'Poppy Day' is - I remember Peter the Punt going ballistic about it last year. Soo unpatriotic don't ya know. 

FREEDOM includes the right of people to wear their poppy in peace. Is a symbol of the British killed in the World Wars so people are entitled to remember them as they see fit. As I am not British I don't feel inclined to wear one. 

If I meet any of them clowns around Boyle  >:( wearing them this year there could well be fisticuffs.
I will never cease to oppose the practice of wearing a symbol that supports Black and Tans, Derry murderers etc etc.
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

lfdown2

Quote from: longrunsthefox on October 28, 2009, 06:21:08 PM
FREEDOM includes the right of people to wear their poppy in peace. Is a symbol of the British killed in the World Wars so people are entitled to remember them as they see fit. As I am not British I don't feel inclined to wear one.

The Royal British Legion is the UK's leading charity providing financial, social and emotional support to millions who have served or are currently serving in the Armed Forces, and their dependants. Thanks to our supporters, we are able to provide the folllowing essential services.

(www.poppy.org.uk)

No it's not. From the British Legion website:

"The Royal British Legion safeguards the welfare, interests and memory of those who are serving or who have served in the Armed Forces."

There not being too many survivors hanging around from the world wars, I presume this would more likely include those responsible for the likes of Bloody Sunday and countless other atrocities in Iraq, Afghanistan, Falklands etc..., those involved in recruiting, arming and directing loyalist paramilitaries in the north, those who served with the murderous paramilitary force of the UDR/RIR. I object strongly to anyone that would have us sanitise that shower of shite.

Quote from: Donagh on October 28, 2009, 06:32:45 PM

"The Royal British Legion safeguards the welfare, interests and memory of those who are serving or who have served in the Armed Forces."

There not being too many survivors hanging around from the world wars, I presume this would more likely include those responsible for the likes of Bloody Sunday and countless other atrocities in Iraq, Afghanistan, Falklands etc..., those involved in recruiting, arming and directing loyalist paramilitaries in the north, those who served with the murderous paramilitary force of the UDR/RIR. I object strongly to anyone that would have us sanitise that shower of shite.
Well brave man let's see how many people you object to wearing a poppy. Let us know how you get on.

If people want to wear one it's none of your business. Agree with the other posters though that the BBC and UTV have no right to impose it.

Some people maybe do wear it to rile "the other side", I'm not sure too many do though. Either way anyone that gets offended by it is extremely precious and going out of their way to be offended. Life Is too short chaps.

but it is a British thing, having family who fought in WW1 and extended family as Irishmen but for the British Army and other who joined the french army I do not think they would expect me to wear a poppy. if there was a national day in Ireland and we had our own symbol I think they would be happy with that.

i know the family that fought in WW2 had wrote many laters stating that they could not stand by as the world was at war and felt that they need to help out in the war for the freedom of europe but they never felt anything other than Irishmen fighting in a World War and I think it is a disgrace that the Irishmen that fought in WW1 and WW2 and not remembered better in this country....but wearing a poppy is no way to remember them.

OK-I thot it was to remember World War dead... still if people want to wear it, thats their business. I choose not to... freedom.