The IRISH RUGBY thread

Started by Donnellys Hollow, October 27, 2009, 05:26:16 PM

A big criticism of Ireland down the years is that they used the same lads over and over.
Then when it comes to the World Cup we are cooked. But a good few lads came in and there is a bit more depth.

PS Some day of sport. The French are great craic.

Quote from: Captain Scarlet on Today at 05:33:27 PMA big criticism of Ireland down the years is that they used the same lads over and over.
Then when it comes to the World Cup we are cooked. But a good few lads came in and there is a bit more depth.

Honestly this was the best possible way a 6N could have panned out for Ireland; knowing both there's still work to do, but no longer thinking they have to run 30 year olds out 6 weeks in row.

Genocide Organ

Quote from: Tony Baloney on Today at 02:32:02 PM
Quote from: gallsman on Today at 12:41:03 PM
Quote from: gallsman on March 14, 2026, 10:14:10 PM
Quote from: dec on March 14, 2026, 10:11:11 PM
Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on March 14, 2026, 10:09:04 PMBrain dead doesn't begin to describe. Genge, the f**king glipe chessum for not scoring under the posts and running to the corner making the conversion difficult and then Pollock for ripping the ball winning the match and then for some reason just throwing it away FFS. The ref was cnut as well
I would have thought it was drilled in to players at a young age to score tries as close to the posts as possible

By way of explanation rather than excuse, I can understand a lock running an intercept try in from that far not wanting to risk anything other than running in a straight line.

Having watched this back, he looked all around him, celebrated early and still didn't turn towards the posts. I was giving him too much credit.
Their natural line is to the corner but you are correct the silly hoor had quite a bit of space to get closer to the posts.

It still wasn't an impossible kick, surely?

Quote from: Genocide Organ on Today at 06:43:19 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on Today at 02:32:02 PM
Quote from: gallsman on Today at 12:41:03 PM
Quote from: gallsman on March 14, 2026, 10:14:10 PM
Quote from: dec on March 14, 2026, 10:11:11 PM
Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on March 14, 2026, 10:09:04 PMBrain dead doesn't begin to describe. Genge, the f**king glipe chessum for not scoring under the posts and running to the corner making the conversion difficult and then Pollock for ripping the ball winning the match and then for some reason just throwing it away FFS. The ref was cnut as well
I would have thought it was drilled in to players at a young age to score tries as close to the posts as possible

By way of explanation rather than excuse, I can understand a lock running an intercept try in from that far not wanting to risk anything other than running in a straight line.

Having watched this back, he looked all around him, celebrated early and still didn't turn towards the posts. I was giving him too much credit.
Their natural line is to the corner but you are correct the silly hoor had quite a bit of space to get closer to the posts.

It still wasn't an impossible kick, surely?
Definitely not. But Smith had missed at least 2 prior to that so shoulda/coulda made it easier. All history now anyway.

France u20s take the Grand Slam. Their replacement outhalf will breathe a sigh of relief as he missed a gimme in front of the posts with about 5 mins left.

Big improvement on last year's wooden spoon and no shortage of skillful players in that team.

The U20 6N is very interesting from an Irish perspective in terms of how we bring players on. We won back to back grand slams in 22 and 23 and of those teams have only really managed to bring through Jack Boyle and Prendergast to the senior team. Boyle will be a front row fixture in time but won't start for Leinster in a European knockout game this year if everyone's fit. Prendergast obviously has a long way to go.

From 23 alone, France have already brought through LBB, Atissogbe and Jegou. LBB has been one of the best players in the world for two years straight, Jegou is first choice and Atissogbe looks electric and is certainly someone they'll have no bother playing instead of Penaud.

England got Pollock from 24 and Fin Baxter and Cunningham-South from the previous years.

Why can't Irish rugby bring any of these lads through?

Quote from: gallsman on Today at 09:30:07 PMBig improvement on last year's wooden spoon and no shortage of skillful players in that team.

The U20 6N is very interesting from an Irish perspective in terms of how we bring players on. We won back to back grand slams in 22 and 23 and of those teams have only really managed to bring through Jack Boyle and Prendergast to the senior team. Boyle will be a front row fixture in time but won't start for Leinster in a European knockout game this year if everyone's fit. Prendergast obviously has a long way to go.

From 23 alone, France have already brought through LBB, Atissogbe and Jegou. LBB has been one of the best players in the world for two years straight, Jegou is first choice and Atissogbe looks electric and is certainly someone they'll have no bother playing instead of Penaud.

England got Pollock from 24 and Fin Baxter and Cunningham-South from the previous years.

Why can't Irish rugby bring any of these lads through?
A lot of the French boys are blooded in Top 14 or Pro D2 but we seem to have a very conservative approach. It's obviously working for them given the progression of the players you have mentioned. Noah Caluori on that England team is plying his trade with Saracens.

The England captain Connor Treacy and his younger brother Declan (Captain of the u18s) would be useful additions if their Da wants to head back home!

True, more of a chance for them to come through at their clubs compared to the provinces.

Theres only 4 teams in Ireland, England top 12, France top 14, players a better chance to get game time. Ireland need look how these lads can get games to see if they anything to offer.

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on Today at 09:58:34 PMTheres only 4 teams in Ireland, England top 12, France top 14, players a better chance to get game time. Ireland need look how these lads can get games to see if they anything to offer.

Wales have just the 4 also.The Scots have only Edinburgh and Glasgow Warriors.

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on Today at 09:58:34 PMTheres only 4 teams in Ireland, England top 12, France top 14, players a better chance to get game time. Ireland need look how these lads can get games to see if they anything to offer.
France have the Top 14, Pro D2 and a long attritional season on top of any European ambitions so squad rotation is essential. This gives young lads a chance especially in an away games in Bayonne or Mantauban that your marquee players just wouldn't fancy. France also used to have an u23 domestic league or champ.