John O'Donoghue -& his expenses

Started by Maroon Heaven, October 06, 2009, 11:27:02 AM

Quote from: Declan on October 07, 2009, 04:44:46 PM
Quotedermot ahearn - with either micheal martin or gilmore at a stretch.
How about this dark horse - a returning charlie mccreevy to charge in on his white horse and provide the cut throat leadership that the country needs.

Stop smoking that funny stuff LB it'll only damage you!!
goes to show - theres not a whole lot of choice or talent out there !

Listening to the honest citizens of Kerry eulogise and defend O Donoghue, makes one wonder if there is any sense of decency or morality left in the Country. There seemed to be a concensus that it was unfair to take their Pigs Nose out of the trough, but no realisation that the trough itself was immoral and indefensible. Lenihans proposed reforms our merely an attempt to head off further probes, cover up what has been happening for decades, but will eventually effect little change.  It would be interesting, would it not, to see the expense accounts of the six figure salaried Union leaders who are currently waxing so indignantly. Hypocrisy thy name is Ireland

Quote from: Pangurban on October 07, 2009, 08:01:58 PM
Listening to the honest citizens of Kerry eulogise and defend O Donoghue,

I would seriously doubt they were a reflection of the majoity in South Kerry. Those speaking in defence of junket john are of little importance. It's when the leader of the Country tries to defend him you need to worry. We have all been there before though. with the defence of Ahern.

Listening to the honest citizens of Kerry eulogise and defend O Donoghue, makes one wonder if there is any sense of decency or morality left in the Country. There seemed to be a concensus that it was unfair to take their Pigs Nose out of the trough, but no realisation that the trough itself was immoral and indefensible. Lenihans proposed reforms our merely an attempt to head off further probes, cover up what has been happening for decades, but will eventually effect little change.  It would be interesting, would it not, to see the expense accounts of the six figure salaried Union leaders who are currently waxing so indignantly. Hypocrisy thy name is Ireland

Why are you surprised. The people of Kerry vote in a complete buffon like Healy Rae who is nothing like what a national politician should be but an inward looking clown. Michael Lowry romped home as an independent after getting the boot out of FG, Beverly Cooper flynn in Mayo walked in too and even after she dumped the hospital lobby in Castlebar when she rejoined FF she will still get voted in again "cos daddy got the road into castlebar".

I don't know if it is an Irish thing to pick a foreign soccer team and support them to the death no matter what making excuses for every unacceptable thing they do even though there is no real relationship between the person and the team. It seems to me the same is true in politics, you back your man and you stick with it no matter what. If he is a gangster you rationalise that he's not as bad as some other bucko somewhere (as long as he throws a few crumbs your way). It is pretty pathetic and personally it depresses me to see people defend those that have no respect for the country or the people.

Smokin Joe

Quote from: mylestheslasher on October 07, 2009, 08:29:51 PM

I don't know if it is an Irish thing to pick a foreign soccer team and support them to the death no matter what making excuses for every unacceptable thing they do even though there is no real relationship between the person and the team. It seems to me the same is true in politics, you back your man and you stick with it no matter what. If he is a gangster you rationalise that he's not as bad as some other bucko somewhere (as long as he throws a few crumbs your way). It is pretty pathetic and personally it depresses me to see people defend those that have no respect for the country or the people.

Where is Lone Shark when you need him?

BTW, LS when the feck are you going to run for public office?

In a democracy, the people get the government they deserve.

Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 07, 2009, 08:36:21 PM

That's the type of throw away remark that excuses them.

Two facts and two falsehoods. We are the people they are the Government, we don't live in a democracy and we don't deserve this.

Quote from: Zapatista on October 07, 2009, 08:43:28 PM

That's the type of throw away remark that excuses them.

Two facts and two falsehoods. We are the people they are the Government, we don't live in a democracy and we don't deserve this.
Where was the concern when the going was good? You couldn't take your noses out of the trough long enough to see what was happening around you. The government were voted to serve the people, by the people. You reap what you sow. If I dig out my book of quotes I could throw out a few more...

Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 07, 2009, 08:57:47 PM
Where was the concern when the going was good? You couldn't take your noses out of the trough long enough to see what was happening around you. The government were voted to serve the people, by the people. You reap what you sow. If I dig out my book of quotes I could throw out a few more...

It's like blaming a passenger for being hurt in a car accident when you are unaware the driver is incapable of driving as he assures you you're safe.

FF built their empire on lies and deciet. It's not our fault we were conned it's the con mans.

Quote from: Zapatista on October 07, 2009, 08:23:12 PM
Listening to the honest citizens of Kerry eulogise and defend O Donoghue,

I would seriously doubt they were a reflection of the majoity in South Kerry. Those speaking in defence of junket john are of little importance. It's when the leader of the Country tries to defend him you need to worry. We have all been there before though. with the defence of Ahern.

Paidi O Se couldn't have spoke higher about O'Donoghue on Newstalk at lunchtime.
Pathetic really, and he told Ger Gilroy to not interrupt him a number of times as he waxed lyrical about John's love of the simple life and attending the local football games in Cahirciveen.

Yerra , their cute whures down there...

comethekingdom

Quote from: whiskeysteve on October 07, 2009, 09:37:42 AM
with the taxpayer getting raped time and time again down mexico way with the most outrageous bailouts, expenses and corruption its plain a lot of these boys deserve jail time.

and ye mexicans just bend over and continue to take it up the ass  :o

can the mexicans do better than moral indignation or are yis just a bunch of patsys?  :o

Easy for youse nordies to sit back and laugh at the rest of Ireland when ye live in a 'fake makey uppey' statelet bankrolled by the english taxpayer. Sure everybody knows that the 6 counties would be fcuked without England. Dont be under any illusions that robinson, McGuinness and co. are not screwing the english taxpayer also. What's going on here is really rotten. As a Kerryman I would never defend O Donoghue. However he may be the only scapegoat. Them dept of Finance guidelines need to be changed for the good of the country.

Yes but democracy can be a weapon in the wrong hands.

You can always use it to attack minorities and in Ireland at the moment people with cop on seem to be one such minority.

comethekingdom has a point,
O'Donoghues  golden cash cow receipts were sanctioned and examined by an all party committee which included the late convert Gilmore's party.
John is only a particularly bad apple in a rotten pile.

Claiming back the £1 he gave to some 'tin in face' merchant in Scotland took the biscuit.

However he is a "shining icon" in South Kerry.

FFS - where do I sign up for the revolution. I can do the finances!