Paddy O'Rourke named as new Armagh Manager

Started by orange2009, October 02, 2009, 08:10:34 PM

Aghdavoyle

Delighted to see Murtagh involved. As he said himself he knows armagh football so that at least is progress from what we were looking at. I'm not sure how hands on he'll be around training so i'm assuming there'll be someone added from that point of view.

pats-mc

Good to see Donal involved. Knows Armagh footbal inside and never misses a club a game.Seen him at alot of Armagh championship games at all grades this year. Why would we not see more of Paul Mc Keown in a county jersey. I think he is one of the brightest prospects in Armagh.

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on October 13, 2009, 11:02:16 AM
Quote from: mackers on October 13, 2009, 10:42:52 AM
I'm a lot more encouraged about our future now with Murtagh in place. I was always impressed by him and he has done with Cross what we are hoping to do with the county. He successfully integrated good young talent into the Cross team alongside some of the established stars and created a winning formula. For me, the Rangers best AI win was their last one because of this.
He wasn't afraid to make substitutions early and he's his own man, he never allowed big Joe to influence him at any stage.
With McGurn in place (or so I'm told) we will not lack in fitness or conditioning and with these two men in place hopefully we'll be able to attract someone with a good coaching record.
We'll need it as the League has thrown up some difficult ties, we've never had a good record in Navan or Portlaoise, and Ballybofey will be a hard place to get a result in.
We'll have the opportunity to see whether David McKenna and Paul McKeown will bring something to the party now.

I am pleased to see Donal getting the number 2 and I think he will bring a lot of tactical know how to the set up that would not necessarily have been there.

Mackers, whatever about Titch being there more often now, I am not sure if we will see as much of Paul as some people would like.
Why's that bc? I had heard rumours that he wasn't that pushed on playing for the county, thought Murtagh's inclusion in the set up might encourage him (similar to Francie with Kernan). For me, he's an excellent prospect.
Like Aghdavoyle, I have seen Donal that virtually every club game I've been at, he'll know what's out there for us to use.

gorm agus bui

Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on October 13, 2009, 10:55:55 AM
Quote from: mackers on October 13, 2009, 10:42:52 AM
I'm a lot more encouraged about our future now with Murtagh in place. I was always impressed by him and he has done with Cross what we are hoping to do with the county. He successfully integrated good young talent into the Cross team alongside some of the established stars and created a winning formula. For me, the Rangers best AI win was their last one because of this.
He wasn't afraid to make substitutions early and he's his own man, he never allowed big Joe to influence him at any stage.
With McGurn in place (or so I'm told) we will not lack in fitness or conditioning and with these two men in place hopefully we'll be able to attract someone with a good coaching record.
We'll need it as the League has thrown up some difficult ties, we've never had a good record in Navan or Portlaoise, and Ballybofey will be a hard place to get a result in.
We'll have the opportunity to see whether David McKenna and Paul McKeown will bring something to the party now.

Reminds me a bit of the Stan / Bobby Robson ROI appointment now. The man more likely to have been a competent manager is number 2 while there are huge question marks over the main man.

Still its a step forward though surprising in light of what Murtagh said last week.
This your get of jail card now
If Armagh dont do well it is POR's fault but if they do anything it will be all down to Murtagh!!

Quote from: naka on October 12, 2009, 10:24:29 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on October 12, 2009, 10:10:13 PM
Any word on McGurn naka?
dont think its a given yet
mc gurn now confirmed  as part of the backroom team, now for a coach

McGurn and Murtagh would probably be welcome onto any team in the country but somehow I doubt if many Armagh fans will be congratulating the county board on the appointments.

I am an Armagh fan. I welcome the appointment of Murtagh and McGurn.
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

BroJolly

Quote from: ardmhachaabu on October 13, 2009, 06:29:10 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on October 13, 2009, 06:21:09 PM
I am an Armagh fan. I welcome the appointment of Murtagh and McGurn.

Me too. Really surprised after what was said last week, but delighted too.

Who would be in reckoning for coach? Liam McCorry?

Real1995

Have to say i would still like to see someone like Marsden added as a selector...lads we need forward ideas.....like in rugby....
Nice guys always finish second!

BroJolly

I'd be happy with Marsden as well. The guy's a legend

Quote from: irunthev on October 13, 2009, 08:03:47 AM
So basically this much awaited announcement of the back-room team consists of Mick McGurn, who was in place weeks ago anyway and Donal Murtagh, who was completely snubbed for the main job but is now willing to go in as Side-show Bob. Hardly earth-shattering news or indeed news. I think most of us were naively expecting an entourage  of big names to be announced. Or is there news that hasn't been revealed on this board yet?

Eh? Donal Murtagh will do for me as no.2. He could/should have been the main man, but fair play to him for being man enough not to hold a grudge. It's a wise move by O'Rourke and shows that he's not frightened to have a strong personality in with him. What we didn't need was a total novice as the no.2.  Fair play to you Donal, you've stood up when your county needed you!

irunthev

Quote from: Armamike on October 13, 2009, 09:06:25 PM
Quote from: irunthev on October 13, 2009, 08:03:47 AM
So basically this much awaited announcement of the back-room team consists of Mick McGurn, who was in place weeks ago anyway and Donal Murtagh, who was completely snubbed for the main job but is now willing to go in as Side-show Bob. Hardly earth-shattering news or indeed news. I think most of us were naively expecting an entourage  of big names to be announced. Or is there news that hasn't been revealed on this board yet?

Eh? Donal Murtagh will do for me as no.2. He could/should have been the main man, but fair play to him for being man enough not to hold a grudge. It's a wise move by O'Rourke and shows that he's not frightened to have a strong personality in with him. What we didn't need was a total novice as the no.2.  Fair play to you Donal, you've stood up when your county needed you!

As a complete neutral on this matter it is good to see such positive comments coming out of Armagh after what has been a bit of a fiasco..

FFS half of you knew nothing about mickey mc gurn 6 weeks ago, now its a great decision ? ?