Brendan Hackett

Started by Croí na hÉireann, September 09, 2009, 11:20:27 AM

Sometimes it's no harm to have a lad that's a bit mad in charge of a team.

Carbery

Quote from: Jinxy on October 17, 2009, 05:09:57 PM
Sometimes it's no harm to have a lad that's a bit mad in charge of a team.

Especially when they have no chance of winning anything.

Maroon Heaven

Either this is a stroke of genius or we'll be made look like fools...

Another endorsement for Hackett from another Olympian.

QuoteOlympian canoeist Eoin Rheinisch says that Westmeath have "struck gold" with their appointment of Brendan Hackett as senior county football team-manager.

Rheinisch, a fourth place finisher at the Beijing Games, will also help with the midlanders' preparatons.

"They have struck gold with Brendan and the rest of the backroom staff," said the Olympian.

"I mean you have Michael Carruth as the masseuse. No other team will have an Olympic gold medallist as a masseuse.

"He is a very inspirational man as well and he'll be involved in some of the conditioning work as well."

Jesus Christ I never heard that news about Michael!

Quote from: Maroon Heaven on October 31, 2009, 03:30:18 PM

QuoteOlympian canoeist Eoin Rheinisch says that Westmeath have "struck gold" with their appointment of Brendan Hackett as senior county football team-manager.

Rheinisch, a fourth place finisher at the Beijing Games, will also help with the midlanders' preparatons.

"They have struck gold with Brendan and the rest of the backroom staff," said the Olympian.

"I mean you have Michael Carruth as the masseuse. No other team will have an Olympic gold medallist as a masseuse.

"He is a very inspirational man as well and he'll be involved in some of the conditioning work as well."

Sounds like a lunatic to me.

Maroon Heaven

I have it now. We are up against Wee James And Down in March in the league.

Westmeath maybe have a score or two to settle.

The Konica

Quote from: Maroon Heaven on October 31, 2009, 03:30:18 PM

?????

Endorsement from the man who is employing him!!

'Brown nosing' ?

The Konica

From bad to worse, Jaysus if we continue to lose our top players at this rate we'd struggle to even give the Slashers their annual beating...

Westmeath suffer Gavin blow

By Randal Scally

Westmeath full back Kieran Gavin has told new manager Brendan Hackett that he won't be available for selection next year.

The 21-year-old, who has been a key member of the Lake County defence since making his senior debut three years ago, has already made plans to spend next summer in San Francisco. And even though he won't depart until May, he doesn't think there is much point in playing in the National League if he's not going to be around for the championship.

"I'm an all or nothing sort of person," the highly-rated Mullingar Shamrocks clubman said.

"I spoke to Brendan Hackett for the first time yesterday and I told him that there would be no point in me playing in the league if I'm not going to be here for the championship. Besides, I feel I need a break from football after the amount I've played between senior, under 21, minor with my club and county, and colleges with DCU, over the past few years.

"John Keane took a year out from football to go travelling when he was about my age and he said it did him the power of good. I mightn't get a chance like this again, so I'm determined to take it."

Gavin will depart for the West Coast of the US as soon as he completes his environmental exams in DCU next May, and won't return until September.

News of Gavin's unavailability will inevitably increase the pressure on double All-Star corner back John Keane to reverse his decision to retire from inter-county football at the age of just 29. The new Westmeath management will also be hoping to persuade star forward Dessie Dolan to remain on board.

The Garrycastle clubman is believed to be still angry with the county board after his father, also Dessie, wasn't afforded an interview for the manager's job when it became vacant during the summer.

Not really looking good for the year ahead. Can only wish Kieran a good summer, one of the best full backs in the county and will hopefully have many other summers watching him in the maroon and white. As someone who spent a summer in San Fran at 21 he'll have a blast and maybe he needs a year off to recharge the batteries. However it could backfire on him as well, it took Kevin Hughes 3 years to rediscover any type of form after he went traveling and I still don't think he is near the player he was before he left. The grind of training and hassle involved with playing county as well as club must make a break look attractive to players but it'll require twice as much work and time to get back to where they were before. Something Kieran and other players should bear in mind before making any decision and for that reason I'd keep Kieran involved for the league even if he does decide to stick with his original decision.

Maroon Heaven

Looks like the Westmeath Season is in Turmoil...

Hackett came out During the week to confirm what many of us have been thinking - he revealed that he is "way behind" in his preparations for the new season due to the logistical difficulties caused by the recent severe flooding in the Shannon region.

I'm lost as to what this statement means. I know a few of the county players who are doing gym work, but nothing ese. What was he planning on doing in late November that the flooding has had such an effect?

It'd be great if the westmeath lads could keep this thread updated as the season goes on. I'm looking forward immensely to all the tales of lunacy and comedy gold that is guaranteed before the inevitible strike.

Quote from: Maroon Heaven on December 13, 2009, 10:07:18 PM

Hackett came out During the week to confirm what many of us have been thinking - he revealed that he is "way behind" in his preparations for the new season due to the logistical difficulties caused by the recent severe flooding in the Shannon region.

I'm lost as to what this statement means. I know a few of the county players who are doing gym work, but nothing ese. What was he planning on doing in late November that the flooding has had such an effect?

Maybe that Rowing lad can't get Dessie Dolan out canoeing because it's too fast a current? Or Michael Carruth can't get punch bags filled as all the sand is being used to keep Golden Island Shopping Centre dry?

Offaly are in a far worse state. There isn't a dry sod in the county to burn for the winter. Expect this to feature heavily in post-Meath inquest.

Maroon Heaven

Quote from: AZOffaly on December 14, 2009, 11:22:19 AM
Quote from: Maroon Heaven on December 13, 2009, 10:07:18 PM

Maybe that Rowing lad can't get Dessie Dolan out canoeing because it's too fast a current? Or Michael Carruth can't get punch bags filled as all the sand is being used to keep Golden Island Shopping Centre dry?

Offaly are in a far worse state. There isn't a dry sod in the county to burn for the winter. Expect this to feature heavily in post-Meath inquest.

Is that a fecking Biff Dig there??........... Sure you know the greatest Forward of our Generation is not playing for Iarmhi next season. Has been making up his mind about playing since September and looks like he is going to wait a while yet.

Our season is fecked.

Has all the hallmarks of an ongoing Christmas pantomine.

Plain of the Herbs

Peter Canavan "not playing for Iarmhi next season" shock!
Quote from: Maroon Heaven on December 14, 2009, 02:04:00 PM
Sure you know the greatest Forward of our Generation is not playing for Iarmhi next season.