Peter McKenna

Started by Jinxy, September 09, 2009, 12:39:46 AM

spectator

Quote from: orangeman on September 09, 2009, 03:38:49 PM
There's no doubt that Mc Kenna's brief is to get maximum income from the "facility". Landsdowne Road will be trying to do the same when it comes along.

That's the way it comes across all right.

Peter McKenna voiced concerns regarding supporters coming onto the pitch as far back as March 2006. As stadium director, it's beyond question that he takes his responsibility for safety very seriously. It's just taken him a while to act on his initial opinion, I suppose. Why the sudden bull's rush to install barriers after sitting on the fence  ;) about concerns he voiced three and a half years ago? Maybe it's because he now considers stewards to be in danger from those on the Hill?

Talking of the Hill, it seems to be getting a lot of adverse publicity this week. PMc spoke of the stewarding cordon being breached there. Yesterday's indo carried an old picture of Hill 16 with fencing in place. Internationally, standing terraces are considered an impediment to crowd control and safety, whilst also being associated with hooliganism.

We've had PMc talking of stewards being assaulted at the Hill 16 end. There was talk of broken glass on the pitch, while he warned of the necessity for quick release fencing to be installed. I've no doubt it's a genuine H&S concern that's driving this, but nevertheless Hill 16 is clearly not flavour of the month this week.

I wonder what plans the Croker management have for the stadium post the new Aviva arena. A standing terrace didn't appear to go down too well with UEFA when they visited in 2006, although temporary seating was acceptable for some of the Ireland games. You have to suspect there's an underlying commercial angle of some sort, although the H&S angle is a genuine one, imho.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/champions-league-final-rating-for-fivestar-croker-109122.html

Quote from: Bud Wiser on September 09, 2009, 04:16:09 PM
QuoteWhat about it?
This is a GAA discussion board.
Do we have to personally know people before we can discuss them?

Jinxy, this is the last time I am going to go to the bother of taking you by the hand and explaining things to you.

It was alleged that I was related to Peter McKenna, which in itself was a stupid allegation.  It was then alleged that I know Peter McKenna which as it happens I do like I know hundreds and thousands of people but which has nothing whatsoever to do with the topic in question.  I merely made the point if knowing somebody was a crime what about those that didn't know him at all, never seen him or read about him and they make comments while I would be judged that knowing him is a reason to agree with him.  Knowing somebody has nothing to do with it, same as I know all my local TD's but can't agree with them all or vote for them all.  Can you understand that?  Probably not.

What an arrogant, condescending post.
I said nothing about you knowing or being related to Peter McKenna so wind your neck in.

Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on September 09, 2009, 04:36:56 PM
Only time people should be on the pitch is a concert?  ???
Podium money????,
You talk some amount of shite Bud Weiser.
Are you that out of touch with what the vast majority of GAA members opinions are on this, or are you on a fishing expedition?
They should ban all Concerts from Croke Park from April-September,let those tools like Bono freeze in Winter if they want to,but they should not be affecting our GAA chmpionships.

Correct.  If Mr. McKenna says you don't go on the pitch then you don't go on the pitch.  If you disagree with Mr. McKenna you register your concern and object.  My granny goes to matches and she always commandeers a front row seat. If she had been at the match on Sunday she would not have wanted to go on the pitch but if she was sitting in the front row and all these eejits pushing down on all the people in the front including children what was she to do if she could not get her leg over the wall? Someone will be killed I tell you.

As for the podium, I see it as a great way of doing away with the GPA demand for 5% of the income from ticket sales.  Let them own the sponsorship on it instead of the 5% and allow Desmond up to say a few words and introduce the teams. 

Quote from: Bud Wiser on September 09, 2009, 05:36:30 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on September 09, 2009, 04:36:56 PM
Only time people should be on the pitch is a concert?  ???
Podium money????,
You talk some amount of shite Bud Weiser.
Are you that out of touch with what the vast majority of GAA members opinions are on this, or are you on a fishing expedition?
They should ban all Concerts from Croke Park from April-September,let those tools like Bono freeze in Winter if they want to,but they should not be affecting our GAA chmpionships.

Correct.  If Mr. McKenna says you don't go on the pitch then you don't go on the pitch.  If you disagree with Mr. McKenna you register your concern and object.  My granny goes to matches and she always commandeers a front row seat. If she had been at the match on Sunday she would not have wanted to go on the pitch but if she was sitting in the front row and all these eejits pushing down on all the people in the front including children what was she to do if she could not get her leg over the wall? Someone will be killed I tell you.

As for the podium, I see it as a great way of doing away with the GPA demand for 5% of the income from ticket sales.  Let them own the sponsorship on it instead of the 5% and allow Desmond up to say a few words and introduce the teams.

Does Mr McKenna own Croke Park? Does Cooney own it?
Nope the GAA,an organisation whereby we are all equal members own it.
This McKenna individual seems to have some jumped up pre-conceptions as to what power he has in GAA circles.

As for your Granny sitting in the front row,Were the Kilkenny fans jumping over seats crashing into the people still sitting there,thereby seriously injuring them?If so thats disgusting behaviour that needs to be cut out. Perhaps you would be better advising your granny to take a seat in the middle of the front row of a section that is not near any of the Gates allowing entrance to the pitch. There you go problem solved.

First up.  My Granny will sit where she likes and she won't be pushed around.
QuoteThis McKenna individual seems to have some jumped up pre-conceptions as to what power he has in GAA circles.
Mr. McKenna is Stadium Director, or Director of Croke Park Stadium, he is paid a salary to do a job the very same way as any manager of any job including RTE.  We all pay for RTE, it has a director, he does his job but does not own the station.

The idea of people invading the pitch is an old tradition, but there were not 80,000 people in Croke Park at the time of the old tradition, more like half that which was some way managable.

I think the Croke Park authorities who permitted the ripping up of the sod before the  U2 concerts during GAA peak season cannot lecture AI winning fans on respecting the pitch or indeed disruption of anything - regardless of the rights and wrongs of pitche invasions.    These guys wouldnt give club teams playing in all ireland finals the opportunity to kick about on the field beforehand yet would fall quivering to their knees for the guys who hire the facilities- These are the guys who believe the national league finals arent important enough to play in their home field.  Does Croke Park provide a better service for those who pay for the facility and not those who own it?  .    The field has become their trophy, ill support those well behaved people who run onto the pitch to acclaim those who have reached greatness,  Theres are no sights more spontanaeous, more joyous in any sport in the world than the hero carried shoulder high to the steps of the Hogan stand.  As someone said earlier we are the landlords not the patron...If Mc Kenna persists on this matter i can see this all ending in tears in a modern take of John B's finest, and i wouldnt get into character assassination of the man.  We needs to facilitate those who go on the pitch better and ensure their safe passage.   

Look, it has nothing to do with anything only safety, it is not Mr. McKenna on an ego trip or trying to change old traditions without reason.
It is for Safety, including players safety.  See here: http://www.gaelicplayers.com/press/560-gpa-appeal-to-supporters

McKenna also regularly throws out the auld 32,000 break even attendance figure, which doesn't stand up to any scrutiny at all.  Still, he might be able to throw the club junior and intermediate finals into parnell this year, if he get presidential approval.

QuoteThe idea of people invading the pitch is an old tradition, but there were not 80,000 people in Croke Park at the time of the old tradition, more like half that which was some way managable

There have been 90,000 people in Croke PK previously, did they not invade the pitch?
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

Peter McKenna, nor anybody else can NOT quote a break even figure based on attendance levels.  That used to be able to be done years ago but because Mr. McKenna has revolutionised Croke Park break even figures are now based on ticket prices pro-rata to team profiles, ie, the number of people that would be attracted to the game. Then there is the issue of family tickets and school prices, and of course my granny, so the actual figure of people in attendance has nothing to do with some idiotic figure like 32,314 produced by some whizz kid in the Irish Independent when he should have been reporting on the dangers of pitch invasion instead.

Yes they did and often before the game had ended! Anyway there isn't 80K people trying to get on the pitch, probably only a third of that and in the history of the GAA we've never had a serious incident in CP or any other ground that I'm aware of. unless McKenna can show us the evidence of all these injury claims I'd be in favor of retaining the pitch invasion.

Well from the very outset, and on another thread I was in favour of the older tradition.  However, I have changed my mind now. Some of the comments posted here about U2 and rugby being allowed to be played on Croke Park and people can't invade the field and put lives at risk are laughable. There was 26Million Euro allocated to national centres of excellence from rugby and soccer at Croke Park and I suppose if this is only tea money to some of ye.

Anyone that refuses to conform to a public safety instruction should be arrested.  I'll say one thing for the GPA, Desmond Farrell had the courage of his convictions to come out and support Mr. McKenna and highlight the safety concerns for his players.  Good man Dessie.

QuoteThere have been 90,000 people in Croke PK previously, did they not invade the pitch?
there was no such figure ever in Croke Park before. You are probably referring to the Down v Offaly game in 1961 - I think - when about 60,000 got into Croke Park.  As the years went on and more pints of Guinness were consumed this was talked up to 65,000.  Then Celebration Ale came out and the figure skyrocketted to 70,000 and the 80,000 and now 90,000.  In most cases these were old men that were even allowed to sit along the sideline because they were no threat to anyone after a two hundred mile round trip on a bicycle.  Today is a lot different. This is why we need the likes of Mr. McKenna and in this case Dessie Farrell to move with the times and to protect both the players and the supporters.

You've  changed your mind because of a few posts about rugby and u2? We are all concerned about patron safety and I'm personally very much in favour of income generation but I've yet to be convinced that there is an issue with crowd safety. 

Wasn't there an issue with crowd safety a few years ago when the Dub's were waiting for the 2pm Holy Hour in the pubs that never came and a game was held up for half an hour because of crowd safety. There is no difference in a couple of hundred Dubs trying to crush their way into Hill Sixteen and about five thousand people trying to force their way from all areas of the stand down to the front and onto the pitch.  You say there were no safety issues that you are aware of.  I consider Sunday's debacle to be a serious safety issue.

Stop it Bud, you're killing me!