Irish Generals planned to attack the six counties.

Started by Gaoth Dobhair Abu, August 31, 2009, 01:14:50 PM

dillinger

. Free state and free stater is said with hate in the North and is intended as an Insult .
What, like the N word :)

Myles Na G.

Quote from: pintsofguinness on September 01, 2009, 09:09:53 PM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on September 01, 2009, 09:02:37 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on September 01, 2009, 08:52:39 PM
I dont know what point you're trying to make myles, the IRA killed civillians, we all know that.

That doesnt mean they didnt protect cathalic communites also, particularly in the early part of the troubles.
The point I'm making is that in the very early days of the troubles they failed to protect the Catholic community. Further, the people regarded them as failures and welcomed the arrival of British soldiers onto their streets. That fact may stick in the craw of republicans, but it's fact. The situation viv a vis the British Army changed over a matter of months, when they responded to a deteriorating security situation with a heavy handed and one sided clamp down in Catholic areas. That doesn't alter my original point, that the IRA didn't protect Catholic communities. Nor did they as the troubles continued. They failed to stop loyalist murders of  Catholics (their stated policy was they didn't want to get involved in a sectarian war) and continued to put the lives of the people in Catholic areas at risk with their 'operations' against the security forces.
Of course they did, catholics in republican strongholds were generally safe from Loyalist attacks.
Not in Belfast they weren't, and most of the sectarian murders took place in Belfast.

Myles, Myles, Myles.

I guess the next thing you're gonna tell us is that the IRA started the troubles?

A bunch of planes to fly over the Irish to scare them home. Jaysus!  ::)

Sandino

I have to agree with Hardstation. I was looking forward to this show but it is total crap. Mike Dewer has come across a total gobshit and very bitter, I wonder does he post on this site.
"You can go proudly. You are history. You are legend''

D4S

Quote from: hardstation on September 01, 2009, 10:39:57 PM
This programme is the biggest pile of shite I've seen in a long time.

It should go into the WTF thread.

Wild Boring and very much hypothetical with little fact!  All it's doin is portrayin Lynch as not a very strong character who needed everyone's approval!  Maybe it's the crap reconstructions but the guy who is playin Lynch constantly looks like he's petrified.  Tough times needed strong, assertive men, this programme isn't really portraying him as such.  Even choosing Newry to head for and not Derry was weak, they could run away from newry a lot quicker.
The secret of success in life is for a man to be ready for his opportunity when it comes.

Quote from: Sandino on September 01, 2009, 10:43:49 PM
Mike Dewer has come across a total gobshit and very bitter, I wonder does he post on this site.

Now he's saying the Irish Army would have been wiped out!

Sandino

Zig slaughtered was his phrase. The skills aquired in africa would have been used in ireland. As they were in the end anyway

Sandino

This is just total crap, they have just given 2.30 as being the time of the end of the conflict. Did I every tell you how my life would have turned out IF I had been a great footballer, could they make a tv show out of it?

I didn't watch the program, I just assumed the exercise was a sop by Lynch to a few in cabinet who wanted some plan for some action in case there was another event like the Battle of Bogside.

Very disappointing programme, with little insight. The invasion scenario is hardly credible, the supposed takeover of the RUC station on the Northern edge of Newry, when it was in Corry Sq, and the Irish Army sitting out in the middle of fields waiting to be straffed from the air. A load of bollix.
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

Comic book fantasy stuff. 120 soldiers camped outside Newry?! What would have been the point? Pub talk dressed up as a serious documentary.

I was looking forward to that for a long time no. Load of nonsense.

boojangles

The loud dramatic music with strings and horns and what have ya done my fuckin head in.Tryin to make a big thing out of nothing. 120 troops,slaughtered by 2.30.FFS.
Although it was hard to listen to some of them British Army veterans like Dewer,it would be hard to disagree with them.