Kerry v Cork All Ireland Final 2009

Started by magickingdom, August 30, 2009, 04:57:07 PM

Forward-thinking no problem for Rebel giant O'Neill
By Brendan O'Brien

Friday, September 18, 2009

IN MOST counties, the man in charge would take one look at Pearse O'Neill and decide, there and then, this guy will anchor midfield come hell or high water.

Cork aren't most counties. O'Neill might stand 6' 5" and weigh 16 stone, but Nicholas Murphy is as tall and Alan O'Connor only gives him an inch, which is one reason why Conor Counihan can afford to use O'Neill as a centre-forward.

Size, of course, isn't everything. Another contributing factor behind the Aghada man's new job description is that all three are fine players and the juggling of resources has served the side well. O'Neill would not match a composite sketch of most people's archetypal centre-forward. No, that would be someone like Declan O'Sullivan or Brian McGuigan. Men who are shorter in size, if not stature.

Even some of O'Neill's longest admirers admit to being taken aback at his advancement into the forward ranks, among them Mickey Ned O'Sullivan, who coached him in 2004 with the Underdogs.

"I always saw him as a midfielder," said the current Limerick manager. "Back then he was raw but honest, strong and committed and he has come on an awful lot since. You could see he needed football and confidence but you always knew he had the bottle."

The story of O'Neill's late flowering on the inter-county scene is well thumbed but worth a recap. Contrary to popular belief, the Underdogs wasn't his first step on a national stage.

That came a year earlier when a bunch from Aghada rocked up to the Kilmacud Sevens a few players short and with "a bit of craic" top of their agenda and went and won the thing.

His 'discovery' with the Underdogs he owes to Counihan, his clubmate, who took a phone call one night from O'Sullivan who was scrambling around for a midfielder to face Kerry two months later. "Do you know anyone?" said O'Sullivan. Did he what?

O'Neill shovelled the coal alongside Kieran Donaghy in the engine room on the night Kerry were beaten after extra-time in Austin Stack Park, but his Cork career remained in neutral. Billy Morgan threw him in for a trial game against Laois soon after and, though he did reasonably well, the Cork train moved on without him and he ended up taking a timeout with some clubmates in Australia.

Morgan had no doubt O'Neill had what it takes, however. In 2006, the big man finally wore a Cork jersey for the first time and, though Morgan too saw him as a midfielder, he can see why he is now wearing number 11.

"Personally, I'd have no doubts about him," said the Nemo Rangers man.

"He never played minor or U21 for Cork so I suppose he was a late developer. We had good scorers and similar type players but nobody who could be direct and go straight at goal."

That directness has seen O'Neill score 1-5 from play so far this summer and he has slid seamlessly into a forward line that is now contributing scores from all points of the compass. The new berth still allows him compete for ball, high and low, around the middle third and his sheer size and presence must present a daunting obstacle to any centre-back looking to play out of defence.

"I don't mind where I play," says the man himself. "I know it's a cliché. I've been a midfielder up to the time I was called onto this panel, but then I've played a bit at centre-forward for Aghada since so I don't mind."

Having waited until the ripe age of 26 to play for Cork, and with another All-Ireland final staring him in the face, he'd be entitled to feel pleased with himself right now. Not so.

The suggestion that he has somehow 'made it' is quickly shot down in flames. "You only make it when you have a Celtic Cross in your back pocket. I just want to win that. Then you could say: 'Yeah, I've won something.'

"Up to that you're just another county player. It's a great feeling. It's great to play for Cork and wear the red jersey. I take great pride wearing it. I love wearing the jersey. I'll always have fond memories and stuff but I just want to finish the job on Sunday."

He will face Kerry for the 11th time in four seasons this weekend and, though little separates them in the win-loss column in that span, Kerry's dominance at Croke Park leaves Cork with questions to answer.

"I'd hope we're mentally as strong as Kerry. If we're not, we're going to lose. We've just prepared as best we can and trained hard and we're looking forward to next Sunday. We can't wait for it.

"We've been playing in Croke Park now long enough. We've been playing Kerry long enough. There hasn't been that much focus on the Kerry thing. It's a means to winning a title, no matter who we're playing, and it just happens that it's Kerry."

This story appeared in the printed version of the Irish Examiner Friday, September 18, 2009

Counihan has given Rebels wings to soar

By Keith Barr

Friday September 18 2009

CONSENSUS can be misleading when it comes to predictions, but Cork deserve to be slight favourites on Sunday and, despite the many possibilities which might unfold, I still believe the Rebels' solid form will hold up.

Before I start to doubt my own hunch, let's begin with a simple role reversal from the semi-finals. Had Kerry managed to finally overcome Tyrone at the penultimate stage, there is little doubt they would be odds-on to win their fifth All-Ireland of the decade.

And had Kerry managed to destroy Tyrone as ruthlessly as Cork did with 14 men, the Rebels would be handed nothing but an outside chance of landing the crown, particularly if Conor Counihan's men had beaten Meath with a similarly unconvincing display.

Cork have, most impressively, accounted for the two top sides in the country in championship football this season. That warrants favouritism, end of story.

Or is it? The problem with Kerry is that their form lines are often distorted mid-season. If ever there was a reason to doubt the consensus when trying to predict a result, look back at the coverage of Kerry's perceived difficulties in July. For some reason, people have continually cribbed about Kerry throughout the decade, perhaps because of their failure to overcome Tyrone. And this has been most evident in Kerry itself.

But it's all rubbish and ignores the simple, underlying fact that this Kerry team has been one of the most consistent in the history of the game. And, more often than not, they have saved their best until the third Sunday in September.

Doldrums

The approach of just doing enough to get through back-door games this year seemed to inspire a soap opera around Kerry with rumours and stories gathering legs all the time. To be honest, as an outsider coming from a county that hasn't won an All-Ireland in 14 years, it's hard to take. Perhaps Kerry fans deserve a couple of decades in the doldrums to appreciate the wonderful footballers they have.

It's rare that I have too many reservations about a team that includes the three Ó Sé brothers and the Gooch, but I would be concerned going into the final that Jack O'Connor hasn't really found a settled starting 15 this summer. Something is missing. Whether through injury, loss of form or lack of appetite, O'Connor has had to mix and match and this has meant that Kerry's style of recent years has had to be amended.

That worked a treat against Dublin where they just ran at the opposition, but, as we have examined in detail here, there was a hell of a lot more to that occasion than just Kerry's display. And, even against Dublin, it was unusual to see Kerry rearranging their line-up. The tradition in Kerry was always to send out their strongest 15 in their best positions and let their opponents come and get them.

An indifferent outing against Meath won't have bothered Kerry unduly, but you get the feeling that whatever 15 actually starts on Sunday, it won't be long before O'Connor is making changes. This has the potential to destabilise Kerry's performance in what should be a serious examination by Cork.

Will Declan O'Sullivan go in on Michael Shields? What will Tommy Walsh's role be? Ditto Donnacha Walsh? Ditto Kieran Donaghy? Will Marc Ó Sé pick up Colm O'Neill? Is there a plan B if Pearse O'Neill is the one doing the rampaging? Will Aidan O'Mahony be drafted in? Will this game expose Mike McCarthy, who has been exceptional since returning?

These are simple questions, probably easily answered by O'Connor, but they're still a concern going into a game against a Cork side that bears no resemblance to the outfit that collapsed in 2007.

Hitting it spot on will be critical for Kerry against Cork this time; they cannot afford the slips they made against Tyrone in the closing stages last year, particularly in defence.

Normally, Kerry can expect to go into most games with a psychological advantage, but Counihan has reduced Cork's margin for error, they play their own game, they dominate. Just as it was with Tyrone, you expect that the Cork manager has eliminated the obsession with Kerry's reputation which preceded him and has focused his players on the thing they can control -- their own performance.

Why should they be obsessed with Kerry? After all, Cork are one of only four teams to have beaten Kerry in championship football in 10 years; why not do so again?

Kerry's back six have looked solid in the last two outings, but this is a serious test of pace, strength and endurance. And, unlike previous Cork challenges in recent years, young players like Colm O'Neill and Paddy Kelly look capable of generating and converting chances.

And these players reflect the change in Cork this year. They've had big physical men for a number of years, but, under Counihan, they look like a side less likely to collapse. They look solid; the football is matching the power, ability is being matched by intelligence. And, as they proved against Tyrone, they are prepared to mix it. They are one of the most impressive outfits I've seen for some time.

I get the feeling going into Sunday's game that there's a sense of contingency about Kerry's set-up, that they're on the back foot.

Of course, such a scenario is perfect for Darragh Ó Sé. As Kerry's natural leader, he will squeeze every ounce out of a situation where Cork have assumed the mantle of favourites and have to carry that extra burden of expectation. Kerry exploited this situation against Dublin by hammering into them from the outset but, unlike the Dublin game, I expect a very robust opening 10 minutes on Sunday, something which will prove a handful for Martin Duffy.

Talented

Beating Kerry and winning your first All-Ireland in nearly 20 years is a big enough challenge in itself, but my biggest fear for Cork would be their ratio of possession to scores. To win, they will probably need to perform even better than they did in Páirc Uí Chaoimh in June. They will need 60pc possession and their young, talented forwards cannot let them down. On All-Ireland final day, you can carry very few passengers; everyone must come to the party.

This is Kerry after all. Tyrone defeated them because they showed them no chink; they played to the line, to the 72nd or 73rd minute. If Cork come under pressure because of missed chances, Kerry will smell it, Gooch will punish it and the hitherto sense of invincibility in Cork all season could ebb away. You can't rule out such a scenario, not against Kerry.

While Counihan might have instilled a belief in his side which will see them ignore the pedigree of their opponents, they simply can't ignore the high stakes involved. This is a winner-takes-all game, the line between success and failure couldn't be finer. Manager of the year will be decided on the line, player of the year -- poised between the irrepressible Paul Galvin, Graham Canty and John Miskella -- will be decided on the field and team of the year will be decided on the scoreboard.

We should witness some classic duels and I expect fireworks. County passions run deep in men like Noel O'Leary and Tomás Ó Sé. Classic finals are as rare as hen's teeth, but like the hurlers a fortnight ago, when the gap is close enough, the potential is there.

Personally, while I have huge respect for a lot of these Kerry players, particularly Darragh Ó Sé, I think Cork's time has come. It's time for the likes of Graham Canty, Nicholas Murphy and Anthony Lynch to earn their reward for county service.

Out of the ashes of their battle with Frank Murphy and the county board two years ago, this team of Rebels has risen. Their destiny, I believe, is in their own hands.

- Keith Barr

Counihan puts hurler Cadogan on stand-by for Kingdom clash

By Colm Keys

Wednesday September 16 2009

HURLING full-back Eoin Cadogan has been placed on standby for a dream call-up to the Cork SF team for Sunday's All-Ireland final against Kerry -- less than two months after joining the squad.

Cadogan could come in at right corner-back for Ray Carey, who has been struggling with a shoulder injury since a collision at training last week.

Conor Counihan last night named the same 15 that started against Tyrone in the All-Ireland semi-final but a decision on Carey will not be made until after training tomorrow night.

Dual star Cadogan only joined the football squad when the hurlers were knocked out of the championship by Galway in July.

He replaced the retired Diarmuid O'Sullivan as the hurling full-back this season but has made quite an impact with the footballers in just over six weeks.

Eight of the Cork team named last night started the 2007 All-Ireland final against Kerry. Two more, Daniel Goulding and Anthony Lynch, came on as substitutes.

Cadogan, Alan O'Connor, Paddy Kelly, Colm O'Neill and Paul Kerrigan will feature in an All-Ireland senior final for the first time.

The Mayo minors have made one change for their All-Ireland MFC decider against Armagh, with Knockmore's Brian Rutteledge replacing Daryl Herbert in a reshuffled attack.

Meanwhile, Paul Grimley is set to come under renewed pressure to reverse his decision to withdraw from the process to find a new Armagh football manager. A new sub-committee will make a last-ditch approach to Grimley to reconsider this week.

Grimley's decision to take up an offer as assistant coach in Monaghan has sent Armagh into a tailspin over the last two weeks. The previous five-man committee, which was headed by the Ulster Council head of coaching Eugene Young and included former senior captain Paul McGrane, dissolved last week when some of its members stepped down.

Since then, the players have issued a statement and met with Armagh County Board on Monday evening. They have now agreed to show a united front to get a manager in place.

Clubs have been invited again to submit new nominations but Grimley still remains the target despite his insistence that he is staying with Seamus McEnaney and Monaghan.

McEnaney has reiterated his belief that Grimley is going nowhere.

Reports linking former Meath manager Sean Boylan to the position appear wide of the mark.

It is understood he is not the target of the players and he indicated yesterday that he wouldn't be interested even if he was approached.

Cork (SF v Kerry) -- A Quirke; R Carey, M Shields, A Lynch; N O'Leary, G Canty, J Miskella; A O'Connor, N Murphy; P Kerrigan, P O'Neill, P Kelly; D Goulding, C O'Neill, D O'Connor.

- Colm Keys

From today's Irishtimes

IAN O'RIORDAN Reports ALL-IRELAND SFC FINAL:

KERRY HAVE equalled one record in making a sixth All-Ireland football final in succession, and in the process have surely set another; using all five substitutes – or 35 substitutions in all – in their seven championship games to date.

It reflects not only the idea that modern football is a 20-man game, but also reflects the quality of the Kerry panel – which may well prove the difference in Sunday's final against Cork.

On top of that, Kerry also called on the maximum six substitutes permitted under the experimental rules in the NFL, in every game. This brings the total number of players used in this year's league and championship to 36.

Surprisingly, only five players have started all seven games: Tommy Griffin, Diarmuid Murphy, Marc Ó Sé, Tom O'Sullivan and Declan O'Sullivan. Colm "Gooch" Cooper and Tomás Ó Sé would have started all seven had they not been dropped for the Antrim game for disciplinary reasons, but with 18 players coming on as substitutes, many repeatedly, Kerry's enduring strength is clearly their depth.

Manager Jack O'Connor says that problems with injuries have played a role in this high rotation, but clearly any player who didn't make the starting 15 for Sunday can consider himself in line for a potential appearance.

"We've had a lot of injuries this year," says O'Connor. "People haven't taken that into account. I don't want to bore you with names, but we've had eight or nine injuries that kept players out for four, five, six weeks. Stuff like that.

"So we really had to juggle the pack this year and use an awful lot of players.

"But in the long term that stood to us, as there are more players in the frame now than there would have been if we didn't have those injuries.

"But really, you're picking 20 fellas to play in the game. I don't know if any other team in the country has done it, but we've used every available sub this year. Six subs in every league game, and five subs in every championship game. And I've no doubt we'll do the same on Sunday."

The Kerry substitute used most this summer is midfielder Micheál Quirke, who started the drawn Munster semi-final against Cork, but after that has come off the bench on five occasions.

Given he's the biggest player in the Kerry team – a massive 6ft 7in and 17 stone – it's almost inevitable Quirke will come into the mix at some stage on Sunday, particularly as Cork have so many massive players of their own.

"Cork are built on athletic prowess, I suppose," says Quirke. "They're a hugely athletic team, and gave us a fierce lesson in June. They were awesome that day. They're big guys, but well able to move, serious scorers too. They have it all."

Quirke would have reason to believe losing to Cork in June was the low-point of the summer, especially as he has failed to regain his starting place since. However, he clearly rows in behind the philosophy that it's the good of Kerry that matters, not the individual, and with that seems comfortable in whatever role he has to play.

"We just knew we weren't at the races against Cork last time," he says. "Our training wasn't good enough. Our tactical approach wasn't good enough.

"It was the turning point, though, because we all had to take stock and decide if we had the stomach for the long road through the qualifiers. We stumbled over the line a couple of times, but I still think that defeat to Cork was the making of our season.

"We probably won the national league coasting. The final against Derry was played in second or third gear. It was sterile stuff really, and Cork came out and hit us at a whole new level. It's hard to tell, though, how much we've improved since then.

"Our performance against Dublin was a little ridiculous, and then against Meath it was the other end of the scale. We're hoping to find a happy medium somewhere between those two, and if so, hopefully, we might just sneak it."

At the start of the season, after returning to management after a two-year hiatus, O'Connor seemed keen to give youth a chance, and briefly handed the goalkeeping duties over to Ger Reidy, who started in four league games.

The 23 year-old didn't do much wrong, but Diarmuid Murphy – who is 11 years Reidy's senior – soon regained his place, and is now the first name to go on the team sheet. Again, however, Reidy is only concerned about the good of Kerry football.

"It's my first year," he says, "and the whole scene is still fairly new to me. But I know the attitude starting out this year was that we do have the players, and that if we made the All-Ireland again it wouldn't be a big shock. The only thing some people were wondering was if we had the legs and the hunger, and I think so far anyway we've proved that we have.

"But there was never a moment of over-confidence. There was always a feeling that the next game could be our last. We came out, and we're happy to be here now. We felt as a group that there was one big performance in us. We were just wondering when it would come, and you have to say it did come against Dublin.

"We played possibly as well as we did all year, and looked at ourselves after that, and knew we were capable of going places.

"When you know you're playing Cork it drives you on that bit more as well. And I'm sure it's the same with the Cork boys.

"It's not so much fear. It's more excitement. You just realise it will be written into history after this one."

I have the right week, this is the Friday of the All Ireland right?

Some lack of interest alright. But you have to remember Cork only has west cork as a football heartland. They have huge volumes of players throughout the county but hurling is king in Cork. Cadogan opted for the hurlers earlier in the year even though they had no chance this season. Cork were well tipped to go well at the football this year -yet he still went to the hurling. Still a few all-irelands could change things but football is a long way behind hurling in the people's minds down there.

As for Kerry- with 35 odd titles and an appearance at least every other year in the final- they don't get too excited unless they win ;D.

As for the neutral interest- Cork isn't the most liked county in ireland- probably 2nd after dublin in terms of the most hated. People probably sick of seeing kerry winning. Hence the lack of interest.
Ultimately the neutral wanted Kerry v tyrone for the game to settle the team of the decade. But thats not Corks fault - they've more than earned their place in the final on merit.
Just hope its a good game but I fear it won't be because its the 3rd meeting in a season. Familiarity usually breeds punch-ups at Gaelic Football. But Cork won;t mind as long as they win.

Strange alright the lack of interest on here. After 2 very good games between the 2 earlier in the summer and the 50 50 nature of the game you'd think there's be a bit more interest. As mentioned earlier I think it could be a very good game with lots of interesting battles. Based on form throughout the championship you have to fancy Cork. My only worry is based on form you would have tipped Dublin to beat Kerry. So many times this decade teams have lay down to Kerry in Croke. I dont think this will be one of them though. Expect a hard hitting affair with little space and I think Cork will win by 2 or 3.

cornafean

I think Cork will win comfortably. Had Kerry been playing Tyrone this Sunday, I would have put my house on the Red Hands.

That said, according to Gaelic Life, Kerry are 50/1 to win by more than 16 points! Very tempting...
Boycott Hadron. Support your local particle collider.

QuoteSome lack of interest alright. But you have to remember Cork only has west cork as a football heartland.

That's not entirely true, north Cork has plenty of football teams and the city is seeing a revival in football with the Barr's, Douglas, Nemo and Bishopstown all doing well recently. And sure Aghada is in the east of the county so it's quite spread out in fairness. I don't think it is a lack of interest in Cork, in fact it's quite the opposite, my mates there tell me the nervous energy in the county is palpable. I think they really believe they can win this time but are slow to express it and many of them would almost prefer to go somewhere they wouldn't hear about the game and only reemerge if they've won.

I can't understand why the neutral isn't embracing this game more though, this could be a real humdinger. Cork are an outstanding team and Kerry are better than they were last year so we should get a belter of a game. There is the chance that the familiarity of the two teams could lead to a niggly, dirty game but I don't think that will happen because neither team will feel a game like that would suit them. Surely posters have some view on the game, you'd get as many posts on a soccer or rugby discussion board.

I  see a cork win by 5 or 6 points

then again I thought they could win the same fixture in 2007 !

Quote from: Zulu on September 18, 2009, 04:25:38 PM
QuoteSome lack of interest alright. But you have to remember Cork only has west cork as a football heartland.

That's not entirely true, north Cork has plenty of football teams and the city is seeing a revival in football with the Barr's, Douglas, Nemo and Bishopstown all doing well recently. And sure Aghada is in the east of the county so it's quite spread out in fairness. I don't think it is a lack of interest in Cork, in fact it's quite the opposite, my mates there tell me the nervous energy in the county is palpable. I think they really believe they can win this time but are slow to express it and many of them would almost prefer to go somewhere they wouldn't hear about the game and only reemerge if they've won.

I can't understand why the neutral isn't embracing this game more though, this could be a real humdinger. Cork are an outstanding team and Kerry are better than they were last year so we should get a belter of a game. There is the chance that the familiarity of the two teams could lead to a niggly, dirty game but I don't think that will happen because neither team will feel a game like that would suit them. Surely posters have some view on the game, you'd get as many posts on a soccer or rugby discussion board.

Have to say I lived there for 5/6 years and never really saw any football heartland outside west cork. Obviously things change over time. I always found football in Cork strange. It was a bit like golf- everybody played it but they weren't that bothered whether they won or lost at it outside places like catlehaven and clonakilty. But challenge a Cork man on hurling and it was clear what game was number one. I still think a good dual player in cork will choose hurling at the minute but an all-ireland win on sunday could arrest the slide.

You won't find too many Dublin football people rooting for Cork and vice versa. We hate the sight of each other. Most Dublin people will be shouting for Kerry on Sunday. I woiuld imagine in most other counties Cork will enjoy the neutrals support just to see a change at the top- which wouldn't be a bad thing.

At work today in Langerland and not one of the near 300 people there had a Cork jersey , total lack of pride in their county and many of these were the ones marching on Patricks Street a few months with unwavering supports for their hurlers, langers the whole lot of them, they talk the talk but little more. The 10 or so Kerry lads on the other hand were all style in our Green & Gold finery.

I was walking down Patrick St this afternoon in my Kerry Jersey and 2 young lads told me to f**k off back to Kerry. You have to feel sorry for them really they dont get out much.

The time for talking is over, time for shitting or getting off the pot, am out the gap now and on the way to BAC to get a good run at the weekend.

Ciarraí Abu....   

Dúchas

You say tradition counts for naught when two teams take the field,
I fear you are mistaken, lad, but the years will make you yield,
And when your hair's as grey as mine, and time has made you old,
Then you'll invoke the truth I spoke of the Kingdom's green and gold.

You cannot box or bottle it, nor grasp it in your hand,
But pride of race and love of place inspire a love of land
Time honoured is our birthright, we'll never break the mould,
It's deep within the soul of us, who wear the green and gold.

Grey lakes and mountains soaring high, Mount Brandon's holy hill,
The little church at Gallerus, our language living still,
The Skellig Rock, stout football stock, they can't be bought or sold,
For our county's fame, we play the game in the Kingdom's green and gold.

And when the battle's fiercest and the fortunes ebb and flow,
We're still alive, we can survive, we never will let go,
For the spirit of our fathers and of stories yet untold,
Will lead us on to victory, in the Kingdom's green and gold.

We savour Kerry victories, we salute a gallant foe
And when we lose, there's no excuse, we pick up our bags and go,
So raise your glass each lad and lass to our warriors brave and bold,
Who again aspire to the Sam Maguire in the Kingdom's green and gold.

Quote from: Kerry Mike on September 18, 2009, 06:50:27 PM
Dúchas

You say tradition counts for naught when two teams take the field,
I fear you are mistaken, lad, but the years will make you yield,
And when your hair's as grey as mine, and time has made you old,
Then you'll invoke the truth I spoke of the Kingdom's green and gold.

You cannot box or bottle it, nor grasp it in your hand,
But pride of race and love of place inspire a love of land
Time honoured is our birthright, we'll never break the mould,
It's deep within the soul of us, who wear the green and gold.

Grey lakes and mountains soaring high, Mount Brandon's holy hill,
The little church at Gallerus, our language living still,
The Skellig Rock, stout football stock, they can't be bought or sold,
For our county's fame, we play the game in the Kingdom's green and gold.

And when the battle's fiercest and the fortunes ebb and flow,
We're still alive, we can survive, we never will let go,
For the spirit of our fathers and of stories yet untold,
Will lead us on to victory, in the Kingdom's green and gold.

We savour Kerry victories, we salute a gallant foe
And when we lose, there's no excuse
, we pick up our bags and go,
So raise your glass each lad and lass to our warriors brave and bold,
Who again aspire to the Sam Maguire in the Kingdom's green and gold.

:P