Kerry v Cork All Ireland Final 2009

Started by magickingdom, August 30, 2009, 04:57:07 PM

Chris agus Snoop

Quote from: Kerry Mike on September 13, 2009, 01:54:50 PM
Meat is in what county. Great contribution on your first post. Just what the board needs . Keep up the good work.

Isn't that how you spell Meath down in kerry? I didn't want to confuse any kerry posters.
Thanks for your positive encouragement, I hope my stay here will enrich this board.

comethekingdom

Part time goalkeeper and wannabe corner-back Alan Quirke has been dispatched to Dublin, today Monday September 14th by courier, ahead of Sunday's All Ireland Senior football final between Kerry who are chasing their 36th title and Quirke's Cork who will be going for just their 7th title.

Cork Manager Conor Counihan speaking at the low key sending-off at the DHL facility in Cork Airport said, "we are sending Alan to Dublin by an express, secure and traceable method in advance of Sunday's big game to familiarise himself with the surrounding of the big city and the layout of Croke Park in particular.

Counihan continued: "As you are aware Alan unfortunately went missing sometime after the start of the last All-Ireland final that Cork played in back in 2007, also against Kerry, and the only television coverage we have of him is in the pre-match parade where he gave a couple of scared looks over at the frightening Kerry players, thankfully after an extensive search on the Sunday night and Monday morning he was found in time for the return train journey to Cork that Monday afternoon, by which time my predecessor, the great Billy Morgan, had to break the sad news to him that we had lost again to Kerry, conceding 3 very soft goals and had somehow managed to make even bigger Langers of ourselves than normal, but at least he was safe and well. So we are taking no chances this time."

Quirke's location in Dublin will remain a secret but insiders in the Cork camp have hinted that he may be living in a tent in the small square at the Hill 16 end of the field until Sunday, with the hope of getting him used to staying in the vicinity of the goals which may come in handy when it matters on Sunday afternoon.

FermGael

Wanted.  Forwards to take frees.
Not fussy.  Any sort of ability will be considered

Chris agus Snoop

Speaking of goalkeepers, I wonder will Murphy have a flashback to june 5th when he jumped out of the way of pierce O'Neils powerful shot. He could have hurt his nails if he tried to catch that!

Quotepierce O'Neils

Does he play for Meat too?

3 posts and nothing contributed, jaysus you'd wonder why some people go to the bother of signing up.

QuoteVery randomly, I'm flying to Cork in the morning for a week's work in the city, and I'm excited to be down there for the build-up.  I'm not looking forward to people asking me for tickets - have already had it and I haven't even met the people I'm working with!

Despite Tyrone not being in the final, I reckon I'm in the next best place for the week before. 

If you're not familiar with Cork city Rois, head to Washington Street this weekend for the best banter. The Washington pub, better known as the 'Wash' and the Courthouse Tavern (both owned by big West Cork football men) are two cracking little pubs and will be full of west Cork and Kerry folk. Havana Browns niteclub is only across the road and although I think it's a kip myself it will be brimful of GAA heads Saturday and Sunday.

As an aside I remember a few years ago after a Munster final an impromptu game of football breaking out the length and breath of Washington Street around 7pm involving 30 or 40 lads as traffic tried to wined it's way through the action. Can't remember the final score but there was some belting going on :D :D

From the Irish Times:

Cork team named to face Kerry

Alan Quirke (Valley Rovers), Ray Carey (Clyda Rovers), Michael Shields (St. Finbarrs), Anthony Lynch (Naomh Aban), Noel O Leary (Cill na Martra), Graham Canty (Bantry Blues) – Captain, John Miskella (Ballincollig), Alan O Connor (St. Colums), Nicholas Murphy (Carrigaline), Paul Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers), Pearse O Neill (Aghada), Paddy Kelly (Ballincollig), Daniel Goulding (Eire Og), Colm O Neill (Ballyclough), Donnacha O Connor (Ballydesmond)

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on September 15, 2009, 09:10:23 PM
From the Irish Times:

Cork team named to face Kerry

Alan Quirke (Valley Rovers), Ray Carey (Clyda Rovers), Michael Shields (St. Finbarrs), Anthony Lynch (Naomh Aban), Noel O Leary (Cill na Martra), Graham Canty (Bantry Blues) – Captain, John Miskella (Ballincollig), Alan O Connor (St. Colums), Nicholas Murphy (Carrigaline), Paul Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers), Pearse O Neill (Aghada), Paddy Kelly (Ballincollig), Daniel Goulding (Eire Og), Colm O Neill (Ballyclough), Donnacha O Connor (Ballydesmond)

Good luck lads  :P

Carey is an injury doubt and may not start.

Will Donaghy play a part and will Walsh start?

Hoping Cork win as the last thing Ireland needs right now is another effin all Ireland win by Kerry.
If the formbook throughout the year holds true Cork should win but that doesnt always happen and Kerry are always capable of bursting bubbles.
Still no one (not even Mayowestros  :D) has lost more All Ireland Finals than Kerry so Cork have that to give them a bit of confidence.
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.