?
62 (87.3%)
?
9 (12.7%)

Total Members Voted: 71

wallyman

Quote from: Evil Genius on January 04, 2010, 10:48:29 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on January 04, 2010, 08:56:53 PM
Can't for the life of me see why Fortune's goal was disallowed. Shocking decision.

Nor can I see how Kyle "There could be uproar and I'd have to consider my international career [if I signed for Celtic]" Lafferty hasn't been lifted by the Glasgow Polis. Shocking tackle. Hope Evil Genius is proud.

I personally hope Walter Smith (someone I actually admire for being an "old school" manager) chews his bollox off, in order to get him back on track, otherwise a potentially outstanding NI No.9 will fail to fulfil that potential.

:D :D :D :D :D

For the record, I don't understand why Fortune's effort was disallowed, either, other than that referees habitually seem to "play safe" these days, by ruling out any effort where the striker is within two yards of a flailing goalie.

I like when we agree. It means there's a possibility you'd survive in the real world.

I personally hope Walter Smith (someone I actually admire for being an "old school" manager) chews his bollox off, in order to get him back on track, otherwise a potentially outstanding NI No.9 will fail to fulfil that potential.

Feck, twice in one post. You're doomed, man.

Quote from: saffron sam2 on January 04, 2010, 11:18:09 PM
For the record, I don't understand why Fortune's effort was disallowed, either, other than that referees habitually seem to "play safe" these days, by ruling out any effort where the striker is within two yards of a flailing goalie.

I like when we agree. It means there's a possibility you'd survive in the real world.
I suspect I may have managed to "survive" in this world rather longer than you have to date, but thanks anyway for the reassurance... ;)

Quote from: saffron sam2 on January 04, 2010, 11:18:09 PM

Feck, twice in one post. You're doomed, man.
I've read this a couple of times and I'm still not sure what you mean.  ???

P.S. I'm still waiting for you to explain why you think I might be "proud" of Lafferty's shocker of a tackle in an Old Firm game... ::)

lfdown2

could we not turn this thread in to this tit for tat shite?!?

Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 04, 2010, 09:49:58 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 04, 2010, 09:23:32 AM
I am not making any case for Strachan, though you have to admit he did win three titles and gave us some great European occasions.

It is my view that Celtic are in a worse place now than this time last year and I don't see any signs that Mowbray is the man to turn things around.
strachan was also responsible for gifting away two titles and while a couple of great years and last 16 in CL were fantastic - the alternative seasons where Celtic were a joke and beaten out the gate even the achievements up.

Martin O'Neill lost at least one if not two league titles in last day fiascos. 

Comparing O'Neill (who had Larsson and comparatively vast sums of money to spend) with Strachan and Mowbray is unfair, although he is without doubt the most astute manager of the three,

Meanwhile it looks like we're bringing in the superstar aka Dave Kitson ::)

:D :D You had me up to this point. Good post, this aside, though.

Quote from: bennydorano on January 05, 2010, 06:44:48 PM
I am not making any case for Strachan, though you have to admit he did win three titles and gave us some great European occasions.

It is my view that Celtic are in a worse place now than this time last year and I don't see any signs that Mowbray is the man to turn things around.
strachan was also responsible for gifting away two titles and while a couple of great years and last 16 in CL were fantastic - the alternative seasons where Celtic were a joke and beaten out the gate even the achievements up.

one with an aging team, no money to spend and distracted by a wife diagnosed with Cancer - but apart from that yes .

but which of those managers would you prefer to have !

Myles Na G.

Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 06, 2010, 10:31:26 AM

one with an aging team, no money to spend and distracted by a wife diagnosed with Cancer - but apart from that yes .

Yeah, 'cos he got Lennon, Sutton, Hartson and Thompson for free.  :o :o

the colonel

Seems like Celtic are going to make their first signing- McCauley from Derry. We have been keeping them afloat!
the difference between success and failure is energy

Quote from: Myles Na G. on January 06, 2010, 12:49:52 PM

wonderful knowledge of Celtic yet again - were these signed in the last year or so of MON's Celtic reign ?

Myles Na G.

Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 06, 2010, 01:44:10 PM

wonderful knowledge of Celtic yet again - were these signed in the last year or so of MON's Celtic reign ?
Nope - they were signed in the early days, thus laying the foundation for O'Neill's successful tenure at CP. Unfortunately, neither Strachan nor Mowbray were given the same cash to splash. This makes Strachan's success all the more praiseworthy, in my view.

Quote from: Myles Na G. on January 06, 2010, 03:56:21 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 06, 2010, 01:44:10 PM

Nope - they were signed in the early days, thus laying the foundation for O'Neill's successful tenure at CP. Unfortunately, neither Strachan nor Mowbray were given the same cash to splash. This makes Strachan's success all the more praiseworthy, in my view.
so we have established that MON didnt have money to spend at the end of his Celtic reign, and the money he did spend only took Celtic from the depths from where they were , to then be in a position to finally compete with rangers and euro teams etc
strachan arrived and took an aging yet higher level side and fecked it up - much the same as he is doing with boro right now...
strachan took Celtic down a bit and Mowbray is having to rebuild  and doing a decent job of it

so what you are saying  about strachan being good is just your opinion - much as the reverse opinion on him  is mine !

At least you are willing to give Strachan a bit of time at Boro Lynchboy. His cause was greatly helped by their two best players being sold (Tuncay & Huth) before he arrived

Lads I think a little perspective is called for here. Strachan is not as bad as his detractors would have you believe and the team he inherited from O'Neill was over the hill, thats why they lost the title at Fir Park on the last day of the 2004/05 season. Also in his final season, O'Neill was able to bring in the likes of Bellamy (on astromical wages) albeit on loan.

Some of the signings he made were excellent, Boruc, Nakamura, Vennegoor of Hesselink etc, yet for all that, I don't think anyone would argue he's in O'Neill's class as a manager. Nevertheless I thought he did a reasonable job in rebuilding an ageing team and providing a few priceless European nights at Parkhead.

As for Mowbray, I really can't see any signs of him ever being a trophy winning manager. He is an advocate of good football but that is no recommendation in itself. Willing to suspemd judgement on him for the rest of the season and I hope he roves me wrong.