Boycott the GAA Board.

Started by Bud Wiser, August 10, 2009, 04:33:27 PM

QuoteNo, that's not a fact, that's an opinion.

It's a fairly solid opinion given that every other Sunday I am looking at a footballer taking a free out of his hands from twenty yards in front of a pair of goalposts and he invariably kicks it about five yards wide, when someone does get it right like Maurice Fitzgerald they talk about it for ten years for jaysus sake.  There is no comparrison between basketball and hurling and on that basis only could my opinion be wrong.  Football is over rated , a fact that was recognized very late by the marketing department of Arnots when Dublkin asked for a million euro in sponsorship.

never kickt a ball

This thread should be in the hurling section.

Quote from: Bud Wiser on August 11, 2009, 12:02:13 PM
QuoteNo, that's not a fact, that's an opinion.

It's a fairly solid opinion given that every other Sunday I am looking at a footballer taking a free out of his hands from twenty yards in front of a pair of goalposts and he invariably kicks it about five yards wide, when someone does get it right like Maurice Fitzgerald they talk about it for ten years for jaysus sake.  There is no comparrison between basketball and hurling and on that basis only could my opinion be wrong.  Football is over rated , a fact that was recognized very late by the marketing department of Arnots when Dublkin asked for a million euro in sponsorship.

Well that's proves it, football is a harder game to master, more skillful etc.  In hurling, what's skillful about picking up a ball and hitting it as hard as you can down the field? If it goes between the big posts than so be it.  Not much skill involved in taking a goal either, hit it as hard as you can in the right direction it'll generally go in.  I dont understand where the skill is. 

Aghdavoyle

Nothing makes me agitate against something mroe than someone insisting i should love it...

I think there should be a seperate forum for the GPA. It doesn't quite fit in the GAA section, the Hurling or the General section.

Quote from: Aghdavoyle on August 11, 2009, 12:13:37 PM

Nothing makes me agitate against something mroe than someone insisting i should love it...

You don't watch sky sports then?

Aghdavoyle

QuoteI dont understand where the skill is.

I never expected you would to be honest, it's fairly difficult to understand the difference between catching a ball little bigger than a snooker travelling at over 200mph than catching a big football that is passed to you in basketball fashion from about five yards.   

And another thing, I never said anyone had to love hurling, nor would I depend on the type of GAA supporter that thinks they have to love it as part of their civic duty.  What I am saying is that hurling should be given equal exposure and it is high time the GAA copped on to themselves in this regard.  Why was hurling not given equal exposure at the launch of the 125 years celebrations, but oh no, it had to be a game of basketball between Dublin and Tyrone. 

Quote from: Aghdavoyle on August 11, 2009, 02:28:31 PM

How do you know i don't?

Because if there ever was an organisation who peddled some of the greatest pile of shite as the greatest game on earth it's Sky sports and you're no fool to be taken in with all that hype.

Hurling - a puck out, fetch and point. 2 men needed to score. Up here in Tyrone we are instructed to use all 15 men for each score.

Sure did you see the shape of some of those Waterford lads? Jimmy Keaveny was the last of those in the big ball code.

Quote from: ONeill on August 11, 2009, 04:24:49 PM
Hurling - a puck out, fetch and point. 2 men needed to score. Up here in Tyrone we are instructed to use all 15 men for each score.

Sure did you see the shape of some of those Waterford lads? Jimmy Keaveny was the last of those in the big ball code.

Ahem...

Rory Woods???

I had to pull you on that one?  Can't be many top intercounty players in either code bigger than that man...

Hurling is more skillful no argument there. At the end of day ive been to plenty of Hurling matches as a neutral but f"£k me its far better watching on tv, i cant see the sliotar half the time. So id understand anyone who left early for the pub to watch or mayo fans drowning there sorrows, understandable. But derogarotty comments is shite talk. Jees we are all one Football and Hurling we are all Gaels. I grew up in North Sligo, not my fault ive never grew up with a hurley but I would never look down on it. Its a great game and every since i got to a Connacht final in tennis at u16 (didnt play the final because my teacher messed up the dates and other school wouldnt replay, rather win by default >:() id always been curious as to would i be any good at hurling as im good with my wrists. So 2 yrs ago I bought a hurley with a few sliotars and thought id get the hang of easy enough, wrong, only that a sympathetic clare lad watching me in the park as he pucked about took pity on me and gave me a 2 hr session fair play to him, great tips, about 6 months on i could puck at pace 50 yards, pick it and do most of basic skills...toughest learning curve ever and frustrating at the start so everyone should respect hurling big time. Isnt there a beauty in the directness of Hurling? I think so.

Quote from: Bud Wiser on August 11, 2009, 03:32:41 PM
QuoteI dont understand where the skill is.

I never expected you would to be honest, it's fairly difficult to understand the difference between catching a ball little bigger than a snooker travelling at over 200mph than catching a big football that is passed to you in basketball fashion from about five yards.   

And another thing, I never said anyone had to love hurling, nor would I depend on the type of GAA supporter that thinks they have to love it as part of their civic duty.  What I am saying is that hurling should be given equal exposure and it is high time the GAA copped on to themselves in this regard.  Why was hurling not given equal exposure at the launch of the 125 years celebrations, but oh no, it had to be a game of basketball between Dublin and Tyrone. 
200 mph! Have the GAA allowed teams to use cannons in a vein attempt to make Kilkenny look average?