AISF Aug 23rd Tyrone v Cork

Started by cadhlancian, August 02, 2009, 07:11:38 PM

Quote from: timmykelleher on August 25, 2009, 11:06:12 AM
This is heading back to the "peaking" discussion again.

Yep, into that mire again. I'm not surprised you don't agree, and I'm not of that particular belief myself.

Apparently our lads were drugged; the confusion lifts  :D

Any craic

You might have something in the 'drugged' bit. It looked like it and Mickey says there was more than Cavanagh laid low - Big Joe and Philly Jordan and Colm Cav were all under the weather. He also wants Dooher to stay on - fair play to Gaelic Life for putting up video interview with Mickey yesterday - http://www.nwipp-newspapers.com/GL/gl_homepage.php

Final Whistle

Quote from: DuffleKing on August 25, 2009, 11:02:54 AM
Quote from: tyroneman on August 25, 2009, 10:15:47 AM
Tony, tony, tony im sure philly jordan and his da can compare notes on cork bathed in the glow of the 3 senior county all ireland medals on the mantlepiece. Just like geezer, mcgrane, marsden...oops

The number of all ireland medals you have is not a gauge oof your quality as a player

maybe when you add his three all stars, numerous compromise call ups to go alongside his AI medals proves his quality???

Quote from: Any craic on August 25, 2009, 11:35:02 AM
You might have something in the 'drugged' bit. It looked like it and Mickey says there was more than Cavanagh laid low - Big Joe and Philly Jordan and Colm Cav were all under the weather. He also wants Dooher to stay on - fair play to Gaelic Life for putting up video interview with Mickey yesterday - http://www.nwipp-newspapers.com/GL/gl_homepage.php

The 3 Moy men? The feckin Blackwater has been contaminated. Charlie Vernon is courting Cavanagh's sister. I saw him in the upper cusack laughing at the Tyrone bus when it was parking.

Final Whistle

Quote from: ONeill on August 25, 2009, 11:42:24 AM
Quote from: Any craic on August 25, 2009, 11:35:02 AM

The 3 Moy men? The feckin Blackwater has been contaminated. Charlie Vernon is courting Cavanagh's sister. I saw him in the upper cusack laughing at the Tyrone bus when it was parking.

Cavanagh courting Vernon's Sister although I heard Charlie Vernon and Colm Cav caught in bed together.

QuoteNo confusion really. Currently ulster is very average in terms of standard. Has definitely slipped a bit. The standard overall in the country is very even with the exception of 2 teams. Kerry and Cork are a fair bit ahead of the rest of the country at the minute. next are the likes of tyrone. After that anybody could meath anybody. Meath would have to beat kerry to give themselves a place at the top table.

I wouldn't agree with the statement regarding Kerry and Cork being far ahead of the rest.  Kerry have been pretty poor all year apart from the last game.  Cork tanked them in the Munster Semi aswell. 

Appropriate you'd use the McDonalds tagline I suppose :D

Final Whistle

Quote from: T Fearon on August 25, 2009, 12:41:14 PM
Did Cavanagh's injury or stomach bug or whatever the fcuk it was last Sunday,signal the first recorded instance of Tyrone "puking" even before the ball was thrown in :D

Doot doot doot doot dooo...I'm lovin' it ;D

More obsessed with Food or Your More Illustrious Red Hand Neighbours???

The panel news just went from bad to worse last week,  we should have got er called off with suspected swine flue.   I wouldnt have started Joey and Jordan, as they hadnt a breath. 

Big Art not impressed with this end of an era talk, in today's Irish Times:

Mc Rory rubbishes demise of Tyrone

Seán Moran talks to a former Tyrone manager who says it's too early to call time on the deposed All-Ireland champions

DESPITE SUNDAY'S comprehensive defeat by Cork, it's too early to call time on deposed All-Ireland champions Tyrone. That's the view of former manager Art McRory, who led the county to its first All-Ireland finals in 1986 and '95.

Reflecting on the disappointment of the weekend's semi-final, he accepted it as a "setback" but believes some of the reactions have been hasty.

"I have heard all sorts of theories about this. Even Colm O'Rourke on the Sunday Game pronounced the end of Tyrone. In my view that's arrant nonsense. No doubt Brian Dooher needs to retire and for his own sake I hope he does because he's pushed his body too far in recent times. He's had no football this year until the championship and didn't start until the Ulster final.

"That would leave us with a wee bit of thinking to do because Dooher would be a huge loss. He's the heartbeat of the whole operation and I would hope that Mickey would keep him about in a managerial capacity."

The player himself says he won't rush into any decision about his future as a Tyrone player. Sunday marked the end of a 14th season for the 34-year-old double All-Ireland-winning captain.

But there's no talk of retirement, and the Clan na nGael man will take time to decide whether he will commit to the cause once again in 2010.

"I'll not worry about that yet. That's well down the line yet," he said. Although there aren't any players apart from Dooher and Collie Holmes at an age when retirement is an obvious option some players may struggle to maintain the intensity that's demanded at the top of the game.

McRory is also concerned about the recurrent injury problems of former Footballer of the Year Stephen O'Neill.

"I think Stevie O'Neill is still on a wing and a prayer. He's very subdued and carrying an injury. It's a major problem, that tendon below the knee cap. Owen Hargreaves at Manchester United has it and can't shake it even with constant supervision and the best medical care."

He doesn't believe, however, that burnout might be a difficulty. The team and panel was for the most part very young when they came together for the first All-Ireland in 2003 but might not the winning of three titles and the attrition of their high-tempo game have had an effect?

"That's a theory but I'm not sure I subscribe to it. Physical fitness isn't too hard to maintain. A player like Ryan McMenamin is a natural athlete and won't have a problem with his individual programmes. Conor Gormley might struggle a bit more but lifestyle and commitment is so important in all of this and his is absolutely impeccable.

"They looked tired in comparison to Cork but the mental effect of Seán Cavanagh's illness and Cork's whirlwind start knocked the stuffing out of them."

McRory is none the less anxious to give credit to the performance by Conor Counihan's Munster champions. Having cut a swathe through the championship including a dazzling replay victory over Kerry in the Munster semi-final, Cork maintained their progress by taking a first heavyweight scalp in the defeat of the All-Ireland champions.

"I was hugely impressed by Cork. They have the makings of a team virtually as good as Mick O'Dwyer's Kerry. They've players like John Hayes, Fintan Goold and Michael Cussen to bring in as subs, which means it's a fierce strong panel.

"I think now that they'll be mentally ready for Kerry if they end up playing them in the final."

As regards Tyrone he believes they'll be back even if reconstituting the challenge may take a little time. "It's a setback but there are enough young players coming through. We may have to strike out in a slightly different direction but we'll still be the best team in Ulster even if for the next year or two we're not up to the very top level, which I think will be Cork."

Didn't see much wrong with SON on Sunday- Art must have missed the game.

Quote from: INDIANA on August 25, 2009, 01:42:28 PM

True enough Indiana, he did well with the scraps he managed to pick up.

Quote from: INDIANA on August 25, 2009, 01:42:28 PM

One of Tyrone players who did turn up on Sunday.

The ref was a joke Tony, everyone is saying that. However I do not think he had a bearing on the result. On the day, Cork were the better team and I hold my hat off to team. Congratulations and I wish them all the very best in the Final.

I was chatting to Cork men at the game and even they said that the ref was terrible. Not only regarding the sending off, but for his obvious dislike towards Tyrone.

redhugh

I don't think that anyone in Tyrone is blaming the ref for our defeat- where in the article does it say that? I think the point being made is simply that Bannon was poor to say the least.