AISF Aug 23rd Tyrone v Cork

Started by cadhlancian, August 02, 2009, 07:11:38 PM

JMohan

That's confusing too things though

Peak human performance is different from peaking for a game surely?

Quote from: tyroneman on August 24, 2009, 01:39:53 PM
See ger houlihan putting the boot in via the belfast tele. Saying Tyrone merely a good team as only great ones retain sam.

Its hardly putting the boot in, all the so called pundits down through the years reckoned that for a team to be put into the 'Great Category' they had to retain Sam, thats why it is so hard to do

But by definition a peak is the highest point, so what is meant by peaking for a game? If you tell me that a team peaked too early what do you mean? Or if you were told, as a coach, to get the team to peak for August what would that mean?

Quote from: tyroneman on August 24, 2009, 01:39:53 PM
See ger houlihan putting the boot in via the belfast tele. Saying Tyrone merely a good team as only great ones retain sam.

Don't be so sensitive, how is he putting the boot in?

JMohan

Performance is never a stable event - it varies and fluctuates - in the winter for example you're slower than the summer etc etc it's always moving etc
Peaking is preparing the footballer or whoever to be able to product their best on that day

It's got nothing to do with human limits of performance in my mind? No? 

You said this

QuotePeaking is preparing the footballer or whoever to be able to product their best on that day

and then this

QuoteIt's got nothing to do with human limits of performance

Is your 'best' not by definition the limit of your performance?

behind the wire

Cant understand how paddy kelly only got 6.5 in the rating? i thought it was a toss up between himself and canty for man of the match. shows im obviously not an expert.

Cork were superb, they did to tyrone what tyrone did to all other teams. They won the tactics battle hands down, i dont think i have ever saw davy harte and phillip jordan have such quiet games. Cork just had one of those days when everything went right, they deserved their win.

On the other hand i cant believe that some people are again starting to write tyrone off and talk about retirements etc. the only player i would expect to retire would be dooher, but seeing as its him im not sure if he would consider it.
Tyrone just didnt have a good day however it is important to appreciate what they were up against. Cork played extremely well, the best player in ireland was missing from their line up, their top defender took a bad knock early on and the ref was definitely harsh on them. perhaps had even one of these factors been in their favour the outcome might have been much different and we would still be talking about how great this tyrone team is.

bottom line is this tyrone team are an excellent outfit, they have brought gaelic football to a new level, a level that cork matched yesterday. they will be back. and fair play to micky harte, as gracious in defeat as he is in victory, a credit to his county and gaa in general.
He who laughs last thinks the slowest

How did Kerry get promoted to team of the decade without even playing?   

I'd agree with yourself and Indiana about Paddy Kelly being MOTM.

Reillers

Brilliant preformance by Cork, delighted I managed to get there in the end, delighted we're in the final now. A lot of hard work has been put in by these players and the backroom team that has gone unnoticed, but they're really shoving on this year. Yesterday the defence, the work rate and just pure passion was outstanding from Cork..something you'd expect to see from Tyrone, they revolutionized it a few years ago and were an allmighty sight.

Yesterday they ran out of steam it seems, but that's what happens when you're on the go for as long as they've been going. People are saying how it's the "end of an era" for them but I hope it's not, and I doubt it will be they've a nice group of underage lads out there and while a handful might retire from the current team I can't see anything other then a bit of freshing up needed. They've had their bit of controversy over the years, ya but they're an incredibly strong team that have had to unit in a way that no other team has and I've great respect for them for that. Like I said, team of the decade, hands down.
Tyrone though, I've nothing but respect for them, they're an excellent team, and their supporters were nothing but a pleasure and great craic. They'd nothing but good things to say to us yesterday.
A truley great team, with an oustanding manager, Mickey Harte is such a gent as well which is refreshing, and he was, as always gracious in defeat yesterday. But Tyrone, I can't speak highly enough of them, they are an outstanding team who have raised the standards of football over the years and have brought it to a new level. And talks of the end of the road for them and all that is a little bit exagerated These lads are not going anywhere. They'll be back.

It was a great preformance from Cork, hopefully, like some are saying, it wont be our AI final. Everything just seemed to go right for us, we had a wrong call that ended up in a really harsh red card, O'Connor didn't deserve to go by any stretch of the imagination, and then we were extremley fortunate that the ref didn't see the blatant red card incident either, if they did, 2 men down..while one spurred, loosing two men probably would have been devastating. They were also missing Sean Cavanagh from the start which was a massive loss.
Hopefully yesterday wasn't our day in the sun. But I don't think it will be, this year we seem to be the real deal and I can't wait for the final.
And a word on the top man, Conor Counihan, what a job he's done with these lads. Just exceptional.

JMohan

Quote from: Zulu on August 24, 2009, 02:12:41 PM
You said this

QuotePeaking is preparing the footballer or whoever to be able to product their best on that day

and then this

I'm trying to understand and explain something - you're picking holes

I meant 'produce'
Peaking is preparing the footballer or whoever to be able to produce their best on that day

What's your problem with that?

Quote from: behind the wire on August 24, 2009, 02:16:21 PM

bottom line is this tyrone team are an excellent outfit, they have brought gaelic football to a new level, a level that cork matched yesterday. they will be back. and fair play to micky harte, as gracious in defeat as he is in victory, a credit to his county and gaa in general.
Agreed

superb performance by Cork.  Amazed at the speed, fitness and skill level of such a group of big men.
Tyrone had no answers for them yesterday and were obviously not on form with notable mistakes from some key players who are normally very consistent.

Hard lines to Tyrone but fair play for getting as far as they did.  It will take a great team and a great performance to beat the Cork team that played yesterday.

Quote from: JMohan on August 24, 2009, 02:21:18 PM
Quote from: Zulu on August 24, 2009, 02:12:41 PM
You said this

and then this

I'm trying to understand and explain something - you're picking holes

I meant 'produce'
Peaking is preparing the footballer or whoever to be able to produce their best on that day

What's your problem with that?

I'm not picking holes JM and I wasn't highlighting a typo (apologise if that's how it came across) but I am trying to show that peaking is a myth and one of the ways I'm doing this is by asking people to define peaking. You can't achieve something unless you what it is and you, like everyone else, are unable to define what you mean by peaking. I mean how can a coach get 15 players and whatever subs are used to produce their best on a given day? I train teams to reach certain standards but sometimes they never reach it, i never set out to reach a 'peak' because I can't define it and I will never reach it.

JMohan

I did define it.

A team consists of 15 players with a variety of attributes.
Your job as a coach is to make sure they can perform in the top 10% - 15% of their current potential.

So lets say someone has an 'endurance level' of 10 - your job as a coach is to have them in a position to perform at a 9 or 10 on that scale.
So one thing you'd never do is a long run the morning of a game for example. 

To increase the '10' you have to overload which means they would be in periods where they are not near their 'peak' but they are improving it.

That is peaking to me.