AISF Aug 23rd Tyrone v Cork

Started by cadhlancian, August 02, 2009, 07:11:38 PM

Quote from: qz on August 06, 2009, 12:08:49 AM
Quote from: tyssam5 on August 05, 2009, 07:41:23 PM
It is important to avenge '73! Not conceding 5 goal would be a start. Was reading about that Cork team, scored 5 vs Kerry, 5 vs Tyrone and 3 vs Galway in the final, with a 19yr old JBM to the fore, they must have has one of the most prolific goal records ever?

1973 Tyrone stuffed by Cork, my first visit to Croker. Tissue paper hats & still in the short trousers, with Jimmy Barry Murphy and his George Best locks making us  all cry the whole way home.
revenge is long overdue. As long as they don't  bring Jimmy Barry Murphy this time!

Still got the programme for that one, the Tyrone jerseys in the early 70S were the best we ever saw with white socks with red tops & of course no such thing as red shorts. Bring back the old  70's kit for the semi!

I believe Trillick's Barney McAnespie had the dubious honour of marking JBM that day?

A Quinn Martin Production

Quote from: D4S on August 05, 2009, 07:39:47 PM
Lads I have a problem................This past few years unlike most people in the country I have 3 teams to follow! Up until recently I only ever had to really worry about 2 of them.  I'm a Down man married to a Tyrone woman, so I'd go to Down Ulster championship matches and the Tyrone ones with her and I'd genuinely support Tyrone unless of course they were playing Down.  Was always great this past few years after Down go out to still have a good interest as living in Tyrone you kind of can get swept up in the excitement.  Last years AI Final was unreal! 

However here lies my problem........My dad is a Cork man and I in fact was born in Cork, and I always like to see them doing well too (I've no other relations in Kerry by the way to try and jump on their bandwagon too).  As a result I'm kind of thinking, I may be drinking the Tyrone water day in day out but they say blood is thicker than water....and mine is 50% Cork blood.  The wife and in-laws will disown me if I jump on Cork's bandwagon and my dad will disown me if I don't support Cork.  What do I do???  I'm genuinely torn.....maybe I'll just see who's winning on the day and support them ;)

When it comes to the match I think it will be a titanic high scoring struggle, but I think Mickey Harte is so shrewd he'll manufacture another famous win and Tyrone will win with 3 points to spare.

Ps I'm ready for all the stick I am about to receive ;D

No need for all that agonising D4S...you're a langer!!
Antrim - One Of A Dying Breed of Genuine Dual Counties

D4S

Get away outta that ye Langer ;)!!!!!!!!!

Yep a proud cork man I shall be, and then if Tyrone win I will support them in the final....jesus it's tough havin 3 teams to follow in the championship every year!
The secret of success in life is for a man to be ready for his opportunity when it comes.

1973 eh?
The year I was born and so 36 years later and we gain revenge but sure the Langers half want us to win anyways as they say themselves we're the only wans who can beat Ciarri.

Watched a bit of the Kildare game again last night as was recording it to DVD for a mate.
The pic pens RTE have must be from at least 5 years ago.

People would say Tyrone are a much bigger team that the teams of the 90's but looking through the heights and weights there is still a lot of men under 6 foot.
Both Hub & Cavanagh are 6'1'' and 14 stone I think.

Its a long time since our two wing backs got it put up to them as well as last Sunday. Kildare's Kavanagh looks a great footballer and I'd say Cork & Kerry would have learnt a lot from how Kildare exposed this weakness. Wonder how Mickey will counteract that one.

You'd have to wonder is this the game to move one of the McMahon's to MF?
Even just to break the ball better cos on Sunday we were really struggling to get ball and I'm not sure Cork will allow so many turn overs.

Quote from: Fuzzman on August 06, 2009, 11:57:26 AM
1973 eh?
The year I was born and so 36 years later and we gain revenge but sure the Langers half want us to win anyways as they say themselves we're the only wans who can beat Ciarri.

Watched a bit of the Kildare game again last night as was recording it to DVD for a mate.
The pic pens RTE have must be from at least 5 years ago.

People would say Tyrone are a much bigger team that the teams of the 90's but looking through the heights and weights there is still a lot of men under 6 foot.
Both Hub & Cavanagh are 6'1'' and 14 stone I think.

Its a long time since our two wing backs got it put up to them as well as last Sunday. Kildare's Kavanagh looks a great footballer and I'd say Cork & Kerry would have learnt a lot from how Kildare exposed this weakness. Wonder how Mickey will counteract that one.

You'd have to wonder is this the game to move one of the McMahon's to MF?
Even just to break the ball better cos on Sunday we were really struggling to get ball and I'm not sure Cork will allow so many turn overs.

Kerry had a good midfield last year. Hughes was very effective - same with Enda and if Enda is back, Sean can drift in there too.

I think we can shock them by playing Enda, Sean, Hub, Justin & Joey in there and play with a 2 man Full back line and 2 man FF line

They'll not know what to do and it will stop Miskella  making runs forward.

loughshore lad

Quote from: Fuzzman on August 06, 2009, 04:36:45 PM
I think we can shock them by playing Enda, Sean, Hub, Justin & Joey in there and play with a 2 man Full back line and 2 man FF line

They'll not know what to do and it will stop Miskella  making runs forward.

Justin McMahon has been very good primarily at full back and to a lesser extent at centre back where he played against Armagh.  I think he will be needed to man the centre of the defence against the big, strong and pacey Cork outfit.

In 1973 Did Cork wear the vanquished Tyrone players' jerseys in the final or is that an old pub one? 

Please someone point out one or two Cork deficiencies before I decide whether or not I want to bother going to this match.  It seems that it will be lost in the middle of the pitch or by our half backs who aren't much good at defending.

Any reason for Tyrone to be positive?  Apart from blind faith in MH of course. 

Rois, Our faith is our biggest strength.  Please go to the game.   

qz

Quote from: rrhf on August 06, 2009, 05:40:23 PM
In 1973 Did Cork wear the vanquished Tyrone players' jerseys in the final or is that an old pub one? 

Well they certainly wore white  that day with red trim as Galway were in traditional maroon. Got the program for that final in front of me! Both teams in the minors had to change as well .Tyrone in bui ( saffron) & Kildare in glas (green).

Archie Mitchell

Ziggy mentioned this in the Tyrone v Kildare thread:

Quote from: ziggysego on July 30, 2009, 04:04:01 PM
Back to the county colours query...

Tyrone met Kildare in the 1973 AI Minor Final ... and both teams (as was the pattern then) changed to their Provincial colours. Tyrone wore saffron whilst Kildare wore green. And of course Tyrone won – despite Kildress' Martin Lennon giving away a penalty!!! Conor Gormley's father, Sean, played that day at right-half back.

As an aside, for the senior game that day Cork wore a brand new Tyrone (yes, Tyrone!) strip! Cork's red and Galway's maroon obviously clashed so Cork borrowed a  fresh-from-the-factory Tyrone strip which hadn't yet had the red hand sewn on. Look at any pictures of that Final and you'll see Cork in all-white with a red trim and red tops to the socks – Tyrone's classic early 1970s strip.

A man said to me at the weekend a Tyrone win would be good for the traditional ideals of the GAA but a Cork win would be a GPA boost and a sign that player power can achieve great things.
Is this semifinal set to be a battle of ideals? 

Quote from: Rois on August 06, 2009, 05:45:57 PM
Please someone point out one or two Cork deficiencies before I decide whether or not I want to bother going to this match.  It seems that it will be lost in the middle of the pitch or by our half backs who aren't much good at defending.

Any reason for Tyrone to be positive?  Apart from blind faith in MH of course. 

Good one Rois  ;)

bcarrier