AISF Aug 23rd Tyrone v Cork

Started by cadhlancian, August 02, 2009, 07:11:38 PM

I'm amazed at how wound up the neutrals are getting on this thread.

The only common ground is that Bannon is a complete muppet. Ger Canning might also get the nod in that regard.

Delighted for warriors like Miskella, Canty, O'Leary, Kelly et al. For me Kerrigan was outstanding in the 2nd half and obviously ran himself into the ground.
As I have posted earlier Tyrone are a team very hard to like, but easy to admire.

Comprehensively beaten today and to be fair to Bannon he reffed the 2nd half well...... despite not awarding the 2 red cards which were definitely deserved in the "Miskella incident"...... for the sneak elbow and subsequent punch.

Thankfully, I now have a team to root for in the AIF.

Some whinging on the BBC after the game.

Quote from: muppet on August 23, 2009, 05:25:51 PM
I'm amazed at how wound up the neutrals are getting on this thread.

The only common ground is that Bannon is a complete muppet. Ger Canning might also get the nod in that regard.
In fairness, I hate Cork with a passion, so I'm not trying to be neutral. Kerry or Meath will have my full support for the final. Even Mayo would. :P

Excellent day.  The beginning of the end for this Tyrone team and Armagh minors through to the final

Will Mulligan get a thread of his own in the same vein as Aidan OMahoney last year ?

Have to add my delight that Tyrone are out. However, unlike OMS, I will be shouting for Cork in the final. Hopefully our minors will give me a reason to be there in the flesh to witness it.

Quote from: stew on August 23, 2009, 05:06:36 PM
Is this the end of an era? heres hoping.  ;D

Well done Cork and good luck in the final, I cant see ye being stopped by anybody such is your dominance.

Tyrone were some team, 3 AI in 6 years is a brilliant return and they can hold their heads high.

I think the years of wear and tear finally caught up with Tyrone, that and the fact that Cork were far hungrier on the day.

course they'll be beaten and then spat out like they deserve, cork have no answer to orgasmic football  ;D

JMohan

Cork were very good and deserved their victory
Tyrone were modest and honorable in defeat

The only idiot was Bannon whop could have ruined it completely

Quote from: magickingdom on August 23, 2009, 05:33:22 PM
course they'll be beaten and then spat out like they deserve, cork have no answer to orgasmic football  ;D

Well thank you, MK - high praise indeed!

A nice end to a satisfactory day in our house!  I am not one of the "C'mon any Ulster" people.  I am glad that my 2 pre match tips(Kelly and Kerrigan) played a major part in it.  Cork played a very good mixed brand of football and are probably the best "natural" footballing team in the country.  They played a very brave game and attacked with great fluency when they had a full compliment. 

Alan O'Connor was unlucky, John Miskella was lucky as was Canty.  I am surprised that someone as experienced as Canty would push it so close to the wind so often today.  The Cork HF line were excellent as a unit and in O'Neill and Goulding they have two class acts.  The wides would worry me if I was counihan and Donnacha O'Connor needs to work on his placed balls. 

Tyrone will find it hard to regroup as although they are not that old they have played a lot of games.  This may be a far out suggestion but it may need Harte to step down before there is another AI in this team.  Same voice syndrome can destroy teams and it may be best that after 7 years a new voice is needed.

As a non-tyrone ulster man i was sad to see them out, though they will be back again.

Delighted for Cork...hope they push on and lift sam the year. They deserve it thus far.

Quote from: Minder on August 23, 2009, 05:30:53 PM
Will Mulligan get a thread of his own in the same vein as Aidan OMahoney last year ?

Why?

Quote from: johnpower on August 23, 2009, 05:22:05 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 23, 2009, 05:14:35 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on August 23, 2009, 05:11:37 PM
Quote from: muppet on August 23, 2009, 05:06:29 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on August 23, 2009, 05:03:49 PM
Tyrone would have won if they got fair play. Whatever about O'Connor, Canty and Miskella should have walked and Tyrone players were not awarded frees when they should have been. Cork got handy frees and were allowed to overcarry. Tyrone would have beaten Kerry in the final as I expect Cork will now do unfortunately.

I couldn't disagree more.

Do you think if they got fair play they still would have lost?

Myles - Why should it have been 15 v. 15? It should have been 13 v. 15 with Canty and Miskella getting the line. Canty's was like McMenamins a few years ago and he fouled a few times directly after that. That's the way it was.

Bannon gave Tyrone nothing- he absolutely rode them. But it wasn't a defining factor. Cork deserved it and could have won by more. To an extent thats the end of the current tyrone team. After Spillane's outburst I hope Cork knock seven shades of shite out of Kerry in the final if Kerry ebat Meath.

You bitter bitter little man

Whats bitter about that? Spillane was absolutely tasteless after the game. Kerry people seem to be more concerned about the Team of the Decade then winning an all-ireland. It was absolutely pathetic punditry.

No need for a kneejerk reaction in tyrone either. They need 5/6 new players thats all. Its not a complete rebuild job.
Cork now a serious team and will be at the top for 4/5 years. The underage success will help now and fair play to them. I'm glad Dublin are out having watched Cork today- they'd demolish us.

JMohan

I can't see how you can say Bannon rode Tyrone Indiana?

He was bad - but he did send of a man for Cork early on and was just basically sh!te all round

I wouldn't say biased though

bcarrier

Tyrone didnt get there usual quota of carry the ball at pace and fall over frees but on balance dont think ref favoured them above Cork.

First yellow fair enough - second one wrong, Extra man for 45minutes balanced out any other calls. Canty sailed closer to wind but I think Miskella swung and missed.

The key difference wasnt ref but absence of cavanagh IMO.