AISF Aug 23rd Tyrone v Cork

Started by cadhlancian, August 02, 2009, 07:11:38 PM

Is this the end of an era? heres hoping.  ;D

Well done Cork and good luck in the final, I cant see ye being stopped by anybody such is your dominance.

Tyrone were some team, 3 AI in 6 years is a brilliant return and they can hold their heads high.

I think the years of wear and tear finally caught up with Tyrone, that and the fact that Cork were far hungrier on the day.

Pat Spillane enjoying twisting the knife in. ;D

Spillane was hilarious, Brolly was speechless.

Quote from: magpie seanie on August 23, 2009, 05:03:49 PM
Tyrone would have won if they got fair play. Whatever about O'Connor, Canty and Miskella should have walked and Tyrone players were not awarded frees when they should have been. Cork got handy frees and were allowed to overcarry. Tyrone would have beaten Kerry in the final as I expect Cork will now do unfortunately.

Now Seanie that is shite. Cork owned the 1st half and had a player sent off in the wrong. They were the better team in the 2nd too, although I agree Bannon gave them the benefit in a lot of chances. Cork would have won this game 15 v 15 without a doubt.

I think we have seen the birth of a new superpower of football in Cork, a young team with serious athleticism, power and skill. I think they will beat Kerry or Meath in the final. Tyrone fall short of becoming Ulsters greatest ever team (for this year)

Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on August 23, 2009, 05:07:10 PM
Pat Spillane enjoying twisting the knife in. ;D

Ya dont sugar coat it Pat, Kerry are team of the decade.... :D

Quote from: muppet on August 23, 2009, 05:06:29 PM
Tyrone would have won if they got fair play. Whatever about O'Connor, Canty and Miskella should have walked and Tyrone players were not awarded frees when they should have been. Cork got handy frees and were allowed to overcarry. Tyrone would have beaten Kerry in the final as I expect Cork will now do unfortunately.

I couldn't disagree more.

Cork showed great hunger but I'd agree with Seanie. John Bannon was a disgrace today.

Highlander3

I cant agree with that, i thought that the ref was awful and probably more Cork players should have walked, but in fairness they probably would not have played like that if O'Connor had not been send of in the 1st half, and just overall Cork were much better than Tyrone

supersub

Cork:
O'Connor 0-5
Goulding 1-1
O'Neill 0-3
P O'Neill 0-1
Kelly 0-1
O'Connor 0-1

Tyrone:
S O'Neill 0-4
Mulligan 0-2
Penrose 0-1
Hughes 0-1
Jordan 0-1
McMenimin 0-1

Quote from: pintsofguinness on August 23, 2009, 05:04:40 PM
God, the crying's started already.

What a load of bollix, they were beaten all over the park and physically they got abused, they were tired and they had a man advantage and couldnt make inroads on the defecit.

Cork did a tryone and slowed the game down, killed the clock and managed to Keep tyrone in it by shooting a bunch of wides.

Bannon should nto be allowed to ref an inter county team again, he is about as useless as Gough was. terrible referee altogether.

Ah Seanie I think that's utter nonsense. Tyrone never looked like winning. Kept running into cul de sacs. They were six or so points behind when Bannon gave them a chance. Canty should have went. Miskella maybe. Would have made very little difference because Tyrone were jaded and Cork were energetic. Tyrone normally play smart ball but they kept taking the wrong option and the man in possession very rarely had someone in support.

Spllane just embarrassed himself again with another petty jibe at tyrone. He really is an asshole.

Quote from: Highlander3 on August 23, 2009, 05:10:21 PM

I cant agree with that, i thought that the ref was awful and probably more Cork players should have walked, but in fairness they probably would not have played like that if O'Connor had not been send of in the 1st half, and just overall Cork were much better than Tyrone

Exactly.

Do you think if they got fair play they still would have lost?

Myles - Why should it have been 15 v. 15? It should have been 13 v. 15 with Canty and Miskella getting the line. Canty's was like McMenamins a few years ago and he fouled a few times directly after that. That's the way it was.

Quote from: Dinny Breen on August 23, 2009, 05:09:56 PM

Cork showed great hunger but I'd agree with Seanie. John Bannon was a disgrace today.

For god sake there were 6 points in it, Cork played half the game with 14 men. So Bannon rode Tyrone a bit in the 2nd half but there is no way they deserved to win that match. What game were you watching?