Kerry V Antrim

Started by magickingdom, July 19, 2009, 11:03:49 PM

seemed like a big crowd at the game today despite liam bradleys reservations. however how such a game was not on live on tv is beyond me. also it should have been in belfast or killarney - the home fixtures worked very well in the first 3 rounds so why not in round 4? if that game was in belfast in would help football there imo

Listening to Kerry radio there and the thought is, the Kingdom aren't yet ready for Tyrone
and the hope is that they draw Mayo as they play "good open football like ourselves" ::)

Last I checked intentionally fouling the man coming out of defense to stop the momentum
and let their own defense get back into position is hardly "Good open football"
I'd like to see the free stats in the middle 3rd today against Kerry.
They really are as deluded as ever down there and that's OK :D

Pity for Antrim... Galvin's goal was the killer.

Still they have came on leaps and bounds this season and are a good young team, playing division three football next year will help as well.

Could they do a Tipp?? Might check the odds when it comes out...

Midman

Hard luck to Antrim, had a great season and no shame in bowing out to Kerry. I was amazed at the number of frees hot so badly wide, was the wind that bad?  Kerry looked poor for first half but did what they had to in the last 10 minutes of the game. The longer they hang in there the more likely they are to put in a serious performance. I thing if they were drawn against Tyrone now they might catch them. Thread seems to have been hijacked by a few Tyrone lads rubbing it up Kerry, I'd wait til the end of September before starting that craic lads.  Anyway once again hard luck Antim , the two wing backs had quality games and but for a wee bit of cuteness and a bit more exeperinec could of been yours.

Seamus

Hard luck to Antrim, looked good for ye at halftime. Kerry poor overall but put together just enough passages reminiscent of old to pull through. Still very hopeful of this team clicking.

Some of the posters hijacking this thread leave a lot to be desired
"I wish I could inspire the same confidence in the truth which is so readily accorded to lies".

Quote from: Seamus on July 26, 2009, 05:05:16 PM
Hard luck to Antrim, looked good for ye at halftime. Kerry poor overall but put together just enough passages reminiscent of old to pull through. Still very hopeful of this team clicking.

Some of ye boys are fierce easy bothered....I'm sure you'll get over it Seamus

Fair dues to Darragh Ó Sé who is getting better and fitter with every game. Antrim were the 18th county he's defeated in the championship. 5 Munster, 4 Connaught, 3 Leinster, 6 Ulster. Meath and Tyrone the odd ones out.

Seamus

Quote from: Tyrones own on July 26, 2009, 06:33:48 PM
Quote from: Seamus on July 26, 2009, 05:05:16 PM

Some of ye boys are fierce easy bothered....I'm sure you'll get over it Seamus

Nothing to get over Tyrones, just thinking of the genuine Tyrone supporters who must hate to read that drivel
"I wish I could inspire the same confidence in the truth which is so readily accorded to lies".

Quote from: HowAreYeGettinOn on July 26, 2009, 04:12:48 PM
You might be right SOS. Please God! Plenty of other threads on that topic around...

Anyway, - well done to Antrim on a serious championship run. Ye got the toughest draw going seven days after playing the best team in the country and didn't disgrace yourselves.
Don't do a Fermanagh and disappear - come back again in 2010.

???
Antrims year could prob be compared with Fermanaghs breakthrough year in 04. Disappear? They've been there or thereabouts every year since.

Any way, hard luck to Antrim. In a great position with such a young team to push on and get Antrim where it should be.

Hard luck Antrim, but with that team and a bit of perseverance, success is not far away, no one will be laughing at youse from now on

Quote from: Midman on July 26, 2009, 04:45:56 PM
Hard luck to Antrim, had a great season and no shame in bowing out to Kerry. I was amazed at the number of frees hot so badly wide, was the wind that bad?  Kerry looked poor for first half but did what they had to in the last 10 minutes of the game. The longer they hang in there the more likely they are to put in a serious performance. I thing if they were drawn against Tyrone now they might catch them. Thread seems to have been hijacked by a few Tyrone lads rubbing it up Kerry, I'd wait til the end of September before starting that craic lads.  Anyway once again hard luck Antim , the two wing backs had quality games and but for a wee bit of cuteness and a bit more exeperinec could of been yours.

It was I was on the pitch afterwards and was surprised how strong it was .

Just back from Tullamore (called in to see me mammy on the way home).

I was very dissappointed after the game, and as a blow-in I still feel proud of what they did. A great bunch of players and I hope they stablise their Div 3 status and no reason why thay cant push on for Div 2. They'll probably loose McGreevy and Kevin Brady (and McKeever to Australia) but the rest of the team should be there next year?

Kerry will benefit from that game more than any other this year.

Antrim may say they were unlucky but Kerry always had the players to up their game. The Kerry subsitutions was the key difference. They came on and played imrpoved the team, whereas Antrim's subs either kept the status quo or less. If only Loughry had kept his shot on goal low.

Played well for Antrim I thought was Aodhan Gallagher. Great catching and running with the ball (I'll caveat that by saying I never get the same mom as the experts). Its a pity that Niall McK is leaving. If Antrim fed him steaks for the next ten months he would improve immensely. I know he is young, but he was being shouldered off the ball too easily. Quite often it was left to Tomas McCann to catch midfield ball and he must be the smallest man on the pitch. Fair play to him though for getting up for the ball.

Overall a clean enough match I thought - just a few badly timed tackles. I hope the Antrim kids go home start practising their kicking and catching and their dads intoduce them to their local club.

Btw, who was the Antrim player who initially sat facing the wrong way for the team photo?  :)