Donegal vs Derry

Started by Atticus_Finch, July 12, 2009, 07:00:47 PM

loughshore lad

Quote from: SouthDerryGael on July 19, 2009, 01:30:51 AM
Quote from: screenexile on July 19, 2009, 01:21:17 AM
Quote from: SouthDerryGael on July 19, 2009, 12:48:21 AM
Quote from: screenexile on July 19, 2009, 12:44:41 AM
Dunno about this midfield dominance we got cleaned for break ball and that's on HBs MF and HFs. Conal dunne one of the smallest men on the pitch won more ball than he knew what to do with.

FB line cleaned but Donegal almost kicked themselves out of it as we gave them the lions share of possession.

Bottom line we do not have the quality and we had players starting the game that are not up to the required level. At least 3 who started the game and all the subs bar McAlary were out of their depth. Are the players within the county and just not playing or do they just not exist?

Well I think they're there somewhere and it's up to the management to get it sorted for next year. The players blooded this year are not up to it when it matters and it's a huge worry. Back to the drawing board!

Would you not agree there was better on the bench than what was played. I dn't think DC is good enough, never have

Better on the bench? Where? Possibly McBride could have moved on Murphy as he marked him well in the U21 Cship but that was never going to happen after last week. Having seen Paul Murphy against Tyrone and twice against Screen in the cship he wasn't going to do anything either. I like O'Boyle but he's still a bit green yet.

Agree about the Doherty thing why have him in there and not play high ball to him? Didn't make sense to me. Too many individual errors in the display. Gillis maybe pulled 4 points from above the bar yet his kickouts were wayward. Lynch got some great scores yet lost a number of important balls. Kielt also some good scores but went missing for long spells. I could go through the whole team!

Gerard O'Kane finally reaching his peak at Senior football has been the only positive for me this year, he was our best player again today!

I think Mc Bride would have done better than Sean Marty, felt a bit gutted for him being replaced b4 throw in. Lynn is a tube, I don't know why Cassidy insists on putting him on, he fluffed up numerous oppurtunities and missed the equaliser. I know I'm biased but I know Cailean can play well, how is he ever going to get experience if he isn't given match time? Some of the angles he kicks points over from are outrageous. I don't understand where the huge confidence in Mc Shane has come from, he much impress in training or something. Brian Mullan did a better job than Lynn b4 being subbed, Paul Murphy while is often hit and miss could have made a difference today.

I don't think DC even had a glame plan to day, and dare I say it but even though Derry are a better team then Monaghan  but I think a lot of DC's 'tactical ploys' v Monaghan worked by fluke as Monaghan were poor enough.  Managing Derry to the All Ireland is a far cry from managing Colone to the Tyrone title, as Tyrone club teams are relatively poor.

I think there in lies where a lot of the misplaced belief that Derry are better than they are comes from.  The club scene is in my opinion not as good as many Derry people think it is.  Across the board Tyrone club football is every bit as strong as that in Derry.  The top 5/6 teams in Tyrone could beat the top 5/6 teams in Derry on any given day and vice versa.  Also, moving down into the intermediate and junior ranks the Tyrone teams would be of a higher standard than their Derry counterparts.

whiskeysteve

Quote from: loughshore lad on July 20, 2009, 09:09:53 AM
Quote from: SouthDerryGael on July 19, 2009, 01:30:51 AM
Quote from: screenexile on July 19, 2009, 01:21:17 AM
Quote from: SouthDerryGael on July 19, 2009, 12:48:21 AM
Quote from: screenexile on July 19, 2009, 12:44:41 AM
Dunno about this midfield dominance we got cleaned for break ball and that's on HBs MF and HFs. Conal dunne one of the smallest men on the pitch won more ball than he knew what to do with.

FB line cleaned but Donegal almost kicked themselves out of it as we gave them the lions share of possession.

Bottom line we do not have the quality and we had players starting the game that are not up to the required level. At least 3 who started the game and all the subs bar McAlary were out of their depth. Are the players within the county and just not playing or do they just not exist?

Well I think they're there somewhere and it's up to the management to get it sorted for next year. The players blooded this year are not up to it when it matters and it's a huge worry. Back to the drawing board!

Would you not agree there was better on the bench than what was played. I dn't think DC is good enough, never have

Better on the bench? Where? Possibly McBride could have moved on Murphy as he marked him well in the U21 Cship but that was never going to happen after last week. Having seen Paul Murphy against Tyrone and twice against Screen in the cship he wasn't going to do anything either. I like O'Boyle but he's still a bit green yet.

Agree about the Doherty thing why have him in there and not play high ball to him? Didn't make sense to me. Too many individual errors in the display. Gillis maybe pulled 4 points from above the bar yet his kickouts were wayward. Lynch got some great scores yet lost a number of important balls. Kielt also some good scores but went missing for long spells. I could go through the whole team!

Gerard O'Kane finally reaching his peak at Senior football has been the only positive for me this year, he was our best player again today!

I think Mc Bride would have done better than Sean Marty, felt a bit gutted for him being replaced b4 throw in. Lynn is a tube, I don't know why Cassidy insists on putting him on, he fluffed up numerous oppurtunities and missed the equaliser. I know I'm biased but I know Cailean can play well, how is he ever going to get experience if he isn't given match time? Some of the angles he kicks points over from are outrageous. I don't understand where the huge confidence in Mc Shane has come from, he much impress in training or something. Brian Mullan did a better job than Lynn b4 being subbed, Paul Murphy while is often hit and miss could have made a difference today.

I don't think DC even had a glame plan to day, and dare I say it but even though Derry are a better team then Monaghan  but I think a lot of DC's 'tactical ploys' v Monaghan worked by fluke as Monaghan were poor enough.  Managing Derry to the All Ireland is a far cry from managing Colone to the Tyrone title, as Tyrone club teams are relatively poor.

I think there in lies where a lot of the misplaced belief that Derry are better than they are comes from.  The club scene is in my opinion not as good as many Derry people think it is.  Across the board Tyrone club football is every bit as strong as that in Derry.  The top 5/6 teams in Tyrone could beat the top 5/6 teams in Derry on any given day and vice versa.  Also, moving down into the intermediate and junior ranks the Tyrone teams would be of a higher standard than their Derry conuterparts.

And the top players from these clubs would be given more respect than in derry if the the derry thread is anything to go by.

We have a lot of big time charlies blowing up fellas cos theyre oh so good for the seemingly gladiatorial conditions of senior club football in the county.

And sure we'll disparage players from the lower ranks we have barely seen cos they havent been forged in the furnace of 'seenyer fitball'

I reckon we should develop a healthier spread from the lower clubs, at least we would avoid the feckin annual 'big club fiasco' in the camp, could also be good down the line as well
Somewhere, somehow, someone's going to pay: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pPhISgw3I2w

Knock Yer Mucker In

Loughshore thats is these boys problem. They have fooled themselves into thinking they have a stronger club scene. Our club scene is stronger because it produces more players of county standard at Mc Rory, minor, u21 and senior level. 
local expert is as sick as a dog, ate to many mc dollars

Mario

Whiskey the fact is there aren't any players from Derrys junior or intermediate clubs who would improve the team, i disagree that players from these teams don't get a chance, if they are good enough they will like the McGoldrick brothers did from your club.

whiskeysteve

Quote from: Mario on July 20, 2009, 09:29:47 AM
Whiskey the fact is there aren't any players from Derrys junior or intermediate clubs who would improve the team, i disagree that players from these teams don't get a chance, if they are good enough they will like the McGoldrick brothers did from your club.

With respect mario, stating that we dont have the players in the lower ranks for a 'fact', smacks of ignorance unless you are a keen follower of intermediate or junior football. I havent been to an intermediate game this year but im sure there could well be one or two prospects at that level.

In the past 2 years ourselves and Newbridge made the progression to senior and its not as if we magicked new players for the top table, yet they get danny mullholland on the panel and we ended the season with 3 panelists and we may well have 4 next year. This is not to say these are players who will have an impact but that is sort of my point, they are getting their shot through the exposure of senior football.

If we had a Ciaran Gourley type player in a junior or lower intermediate team he would not stick out to such a great deal that we would be crying out for his inclusion, if indeed we even knew about him, its for the management to expand their focus and develop players patiently with long term expectations in mind IMO
Somewhere, somehow, someone's going to pay: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pPhISgw3I2w

Quick question for Derry wans, if Liam Bradley decided to leave Antrim after this years AI, would you take him over Cass for next year?

Estimator

Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 20, 2009, 10:36:16 AM
Quick question for Derry wans, if Liam Bradley decided to leave Antrim after this years AI, would you take him over Cass for next year?

I wouldn't - Baker has done well with this Antrim side, but they beat a wasteful Donegal side who seemed to treat Antrim the way Derry treated Donegal on Saturday night - the attitude seemed to be 'all we have to do is turn up to beat them'.  Antrim also beat Cavan - who haven't produced the goods for a long time. 
Derry people have been giving out about DC's tactic, but Bradley also showed some naivety yesterday with the 3man FF line.

I would give DC at the very least another 2yrs to see what he can do.
Ulster League Champions 2009

A quick question for the Donegal posters....what do yous think of John-Joe Doherty now?
I know a lot of people didnt want him in the job but after defeating Derry are yous any happier with him?

Quote from: tbrick18 on July 20, 2009, 11:01:22 AM
A quick question for the Donegal posters....what do yous think of John-Joe Doherty now?
I know a lot of people didnt want him in the job but after defeating Derry are yous any happier with him?

Feel good factor will last at least til Saturday, but it's still way to early to tell how JJ Doc's doing.
A result against Galway and you'd be hard pressed to find a Donegal man say a bad word against him.
But the reality is that if he can bring some consistancy and DISCIPLINE to the team then he'd be doing a fantastic job.

RMDrive

Quote from: tbrick18 on July 20, 2009, 11:01:22 AM

I think the same about JJ now as I did when was first appointed. I think he's a bit naive tactically and is very much learning as he goes along. Still he deserves his chance at the helm and I've given him 100% support (which I'm sure have been very important to him  ;) ).
The most disheartening thing about be a Donegal man this year has been the lack of heart and commitment from the lads (until the weekend there at least). Whist the manager has some part to play in getting a team mentally up for a game, IMO most of it comes from the players themselves. Like most other fans, if your team gives 100% and is fairly beaten on the day then I'm going to thank the lads for the effort and be happy enough. However seeing lads out on the field with obviously no great desire to be there is extremely frustrating.
If we can keep up then intensity shown against the Derry wans then maybe the spotlight will turn more onto JJ and his managerial ability. For now I think people will settle for a bit of hunger on the field.

It's also worth remembering that a lot of the anger during JJ's appointment was as much about the poor way in which Charlie and Declan were treated as about the abilities of JJ.

wherefromreferee?

Did anybody else notice at the end of the game, when the players were heading back to the changing rooms, the Donegal Full Back was making a charge for the exit, and had to be held back by other Dun Na Ngall players and supporters.  Something had obviously happened because he was stone mad. 
In your Endo!

JMohan

How bad was/is Paddy Bradleys injury?

RMDrive

Quote from: SouthDerryGael on July 20, 2009, 03:33:55 PM
Quote from: wherefromreferee? on July 20, 2009, 02:22:53 PM
Did anybody else notice at the end of the game, when the players were heading back to the changing rooms, the Donegal Full Back was making a charge for the exit, and had to be held back by other Dun Na Ngall players and supporters.  Something had obviously happened because he was stone mad. 

Awk Neill Mc Gee is a bit of an arsehole anyway.

Your still banging that drum are you girlie? You're a sole voice of excuse-making in a dignified and sporting reaction from Derry folk.

Quote from: RMDrive on July 20, 2009, 03:38:14 PM

Your still banging that drum are you girlie? You're a sole voice of excuse-making in a dignified and sporting reaction from Derry folk.
By my count, it is a minority of Derry posters on this board who do not have a compulsive need to badmouth the opposition, whether after losing or in victory.  SDG is just at the extreme end of bad taste, from a sporting perspective..

Quote from: Main Street on July 20, 2009, 03:58:50 PM
Quote from: RMDrive on July 20, 2009, 03:38:14 PM

By my count, it is a minority of Derry posters on this board who do not have a compulsive need to badmouth the opposition, whether after losing or in victory.  SDG is just at the extreme end of bad taste, from a sporting perspective..

MS Thought most of the Derry posters I read on Sat night Sun morn were gracious enough.