Donegal vs Derry

Started by Atticus_Finch, July 12, 2009, 07:00:47 PM

Quote from: SouthDerryGael on July 19, 2009, 12:58:21 AM
Quote from: Bogball XV on July 19, 2009, 12:57:04 AM
Quote from: SouthDerryGael on July 19, 2009, 12:48:21 AM
Quote from: screenexile on July 19, 2009, 12:44:41 AM
Dunno about this midfield dominance we got cleaned for break ball and that's on HBs MF and HFs. Conal dunne one of the smallest men on the pitch won more ball than he knew what to do with.

FB line cleaned but Donegal almost kicked themselves out of it as we gave them the lions share of possession.

Bottom line we do not have the quality and we had players starting the game that are not up to the required level. At least 3 who started the game and all the subs bar McAlary were out of their depth. Are the players within the county and just not playing or do they just not exist?

Well I think they're there somewhere and it's up to the management to get it sorted for next year. The players blooded this year are not up to it when it matters and it's a huge worry. Back to the drawing board!

Would you not agree there was better on the bench than what was played. I dn't think DC is good enough, never have
we have to give him a fair crack of the whip all the same, there's no point in chopping and changing managers every year, who would you suggest as a replacement?

Adrian Mc Guckin best manager in Derry.
probably was alright.

Dunno about this midfield dominance we got cleaned for break ball and that's on HBs MF and HFs. Conal dunne one of the smallest men on the pitch won more ball than he knew what to do with.

FB line cleaned but Donegal almost kicked themselves out of it as we gave them the lions share of possession.

Bottom line we do not have the quality and we had players starting the game that are not up to the required level. At least 3 who started the game and all the subs bar McAlary were out of their depth. Are the players within the county and just not playing or do they just not exist?

Well I think they're there somewhere and it's up to the management to get it sorted for next year. The players blooded this year are not up to it when it matters and it's a huge worry. Back to the drawing board!

Would you not agree there was better on the bench than what was played. I dn't think DC is good enough, never have

Better on the bench? Where? Possibly McBride could have moved on Murphy as he marked him well in the U21 Cship but that was never going to happen after last week. Having seen Paul Murphy against Tyrone and twice against Screen in the cship he wasn't going to do anything either. I like O'Boyle but he's still a bit green yet.

Agree about the Doherty thing why have him in there and not play high ball to him? Didn't make sense to me. Too many individual errors in the display. Gillis maybe pulled 4 points from above the bar yet his kickouts were wayward. Lynch got some great scores yet lost a number of important balls. Kielt also some good scores but went missing for long spells. I could go through the whole team!

Gerard O'Kane finally reaching his peak at Senior football has been the only positive for me this year, he was our best player again today!

Yesssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss........................!

Rub it up ye, youse Derry bottlers.

Better team won on the night, sure we even did our usual wide show and ye couldn't take advantage!  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Come on the Saffron's tomorrow.

southderryman

so so so disappointed

not surprised, but really really disappointed

first of, some valid points by southderrygael, okleafer and screenexile

trevor hill, you talk nothing but fcukin shite

really dont know where to begin

i voiced my concerns about mccloy on here all week and once again he was destroyed, ffs its takes cas 70 mins last week and 30 mins today to catch on he's too slow, pure crazy. mc bride was hauled off after 15mins last week yet mccloy until just before half time today, why?? because of reputation?

lockhart got roasted again, mcbride had an excellent game on murphy in the under21's yet didnt see any gametime today

gerard o kane, lynch and skinner..............felll really sorry for these 3 men, gave their all while the rest clearly did not

cant believe how poor doc was, 85mins before he made a meaningful contribution

patsy battled hard but was always up against it

kielt did ok i suppose

mcguigan had an impact when he came on

cass has constantly went on about the "panel", the "squad" and "building for the championship".........then why the fcuk was gavin mcshane not played in any derry games  until the tyrone game and is deemed good enough to come on today. nothing against the lad, but it smacks of complete panic. and it showed when he was taken off again.

i'd agree the ref was very sore on us, but thats not an excuse, we were rubbish.

colm mcfadden was our best player and kept us in it. donegal should have won in normal time, although had the ref played the time he indiacated i felt we had the momemtum and would have won.

but we wouldnt have deserved it. donegal should have won by far more. good luck to them for the rest of the year. we were terrible. im fed up with this derry team. constantly letting you down. leaving ballybofey tonight was the lowest i've felt in a hell of a long time, and i reallt doubt i'll be back to watch derry anywhere. really really hurt and let down  :( :(

southderryman

Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 19, 2009, 02:14:18 AM
Yesssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss........................!

Rub it up ye, youse Derry bottlers.

Better team won on the night, sure we even did our usual wide show and ye couldn't take advantage!  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Come on the Saffron's tomorrow.

i had previously wished donegal all the best. but if you're gonna be a complete w*nker about it and not accept victory with any degree of graciousness or humility the fcuk ye's

oakleafgael

Quote from: tyrone86 on July 19, 2009, 03:48:06 AM
Quote from: Oakleafer1993 on July 19, 2009, 12:17:27 AM
The referee was a total bullocks - gave nothing to Derry.

Fair play to donegal where up for it and took the game to Derry - who where always on the back foot until the end.

McCloy was taken to the cleaners - the full back line was our achilles heel tonight. Gerald o'Kane was brilliant. Doherty had a very poor game.The second goal was a real sucker punch - believe we could have went on and win the game in extra time if it had not occurred.

I haven't read past this post to see if any Derry supporter has refuted it, but as a total neutral, this is a spin comical Ali couldn't have put on it

The ref had a fine game imo up until the very last kick of the game when there was an very obvious free in not given to Derry which would have drawn the game.

JMohan

Quote from: longrunsthefox on July 18, 2009, 10:26:35 PM
Quote from: J70 on July 18, 2009, 10:24:26 PM
Some of you lads take the pundits a wee bit too seriously, whether its McHugh or Brolly or Spillane.
I don't think anyone takes McHugh too seriously
He's like a we bitter Darby O'Gill extra

JMohan

Quote from: oakleafgael on July 18, 2009, 11:05:43 PM
Quote from: 020304 Tir Eoghain on July 18, 2009, 11:02:58 PM
Quote from: tonesfirstandlast on July 18, 2009, 10:59:20 PM
Derry have missed Enda this year. Surely there some players from Ballinderry who are better than some of them boys on the panel tonight. Them boys have been used to winning.

AND James Conway. Think it was a big mistake by Cassidy to play judge, jury & executioner a few weeks back. With the Ballinderry lads FULLY on board,
Derry might have been looking forward to tomorrow nights draw, and possibly another crack at Tyrone,

The Ballinderry issue is a red herring imo. McGuckin is suspended or he would have played, Muldoon is injured or he would have played, McCusker is injured or he would have played, Conway would have been a sub as our problems arent at midfield. Of the rest of the Ballinderry players Devlin would be county standard but is injured. Most of the rest of them have been tried at one time or other.

You might be right looking at it in those terms - but the signal it gave wasn't the best.
I agree with that comment - I don't think it was wise of Cassidy to play judge, jury & executioner.

JMohan

Quote from: 020304 Tir Eoghain on July 18, 2009, 11:12:44 PM
I bow to your superior local knowledge oakleaf, but surely the whole Conway/Kielt/Ballinderry affair wasnt good for team morale throughout. I think it
was evident in the Tyrone game. OK against Monaghan, Derry looked fantastic at times, but perhaps the PLAYERS felt they had a point to prove last
Saturday & the PLAYERS took it upon themselves to prove it. I'm just not convinced about Cassidy & his man management skills.
Agreed.

It also makes you question if Monaghan were any good at all?

JMohan

Quote from: screenexile on July 19, 2009, 01:21:17 AM

Better on the bench? Where? Possibly McBride could have moved on Murphy as he marked him well in the U21 Cship but that was never going to happen after last week. Having seen Paul Murphy against Tyrone and twice against Screen in the cship he wasn't going to do anything either. I like O'Boyle but he's still a bit green yet.

Agree about the Doherty thing why have him in there and not play high ball to him? Didn't make sense to me. Too many individual errors in the display. Gillis maybe pulled 4 points from above the bar yet his kickouts were wayward. Lynch got some great scores yet lost a number of important balls. Kielt also some good scores but went missing for long spells. I could go through the whole team!

Gerard O'Kane finally reaching his peak at Senior football has been the only positive for me this year, he was our best player again today!
I would give him an All Star nomination based on his performances this year - Against Monaghan and Tyrone

Call it a red herring or whatever but the Ballinderry / James Conway issue was bound to have a detrimental effect on the squad.

JMohan

Quote from: orangeman on July 19, 2009, 09:57:42 AM
Call it a red herring or whatever but the Ballinderry / James Conway issue was bound to have a detrimental effect on the squad.

Agree

Personally I actually think that was the start of the end of Cassidy as manager of Derry.
In my opinion he may get next year out of it but I don't see anything that convinces me he's going anywhere at all.

glens73

Quote from: JMohan on July 19, 2009, 10:40:25 AM
Quote from: orangeman on July 19, 2009, 09:57:42 AM

Agree

Personally I actually think that was the start of the end of Cassidy as manager of Derry.
In my opinion he may get next year out of it but I don't see anything that convinces me he's going anywhere at all.

He needs a chance.

Harte wouldn't have done any better, the players aren't there and the club scene is deemed more important then the county team, has been for years.

Lady GAA GAA

Derry can now concentrate on their club championship. Donegal squad wont sober until sometime after Christmas, at which point they will realise that after beating Derry they got beat by Antrim again. Two spineless teams, add nothing to the Championship apart from a few nice scores and a lot of rumors.

Orangeman would you ever take your tongue out of Conway's hole? Out of that extraordinary post count of yours, I'd say 80% is pure shite, while the other 20% is harping on about the most cowardly man in the country being hard done by.

Oakleafer1993

Quote from: oakleafgael on July 19, 2009, 09:08:10 AM
Quote from: tyrone86 on July 19, 2009, 03:48:06 AM
Quote from: Oakleafer1993 on July 19, 2009, 12:17:27 AM
The referee was a total bullocks - gave nothing to Derry.

Fair play to donegal where up for it and took the game to Derry - who where always on the back foot until the end.

McCloy was taken to the cleaners - the full back line was our achilles heel tonight. Gerald o'Kane was brilliant. Doherty had a very poor game.The second goal was a real sucker punch - believe we could have went on and win the game in extra time if it had not occurred.

I haven't read past this post to see if any Derry supporter has refuted it, but as a total neutral, this is a spin comical Ali couldn't have put on it

The ref had a fine game imo up until the very last kick of the game when there was an very obvious free in not given to Derry which would have drawn the game.

where you listening on the radio?...... ref gave us nothing all night - skinner - PB where constantly being pushed on the back. Donegal where constantly clipping low on the legs. Sean Marty completed a clean tackle and was penalised.