Kerry 0-14 Sligo 1-10 - Heartache for Sligo

Started by SLIGONIAN, July 12, 2009, 06:54:28 PM

baoithe

Quote from: catchandkick on July 16, 2009, 09:11:15 PM
Quote from: Frank Casey on July 16, 2009, 08:57:37 PM
Kerry team to play Sligo 
Thursday, 16 July 2009 
(1) Diarmuid Murphy (Dingle) (2) Marc Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht) (3)  Tommy Griffin (Dingle) (4) Tom O’Sullivan (Rathmore)  (5) Tomás Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht)  (6) Mike McCarthy (Kilcummin) (7) Aidan O’Mahony (Rathmore)  (8) Darragh Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht)  (9) Seamus Scanlon (Currow) (10) Paul Galvin (Finuge)  (11) Declan O’Sullivan (Piarsaigh Na Dromada)  (12) Donnacha Walsh (Cromane) (Captain)  (13) Colm Cooper (Dr. Crokes)(14) Tommy Walsh (Kerins O'Rahilly) (15) Seán O’Sullivan (Cromane)
Subs: 16) Ger Reidy (Castleisland Desmonds)  (17) Darran O'Sullivan (Glenbeigh/Glencar) (18) Aidan O’Shea (Glenbeigh/Glencar) (19) Padraig Reidy (Scartaglin) (20)  Micheal Quirke (Kerins O'Rahillys)   (21) Killian Young (Renard)   (22) Bryan Sheehan (St. Mary's) (23) David Moran (Kerins O’Rahilly’s)  (24) Daniel  Bohan (Austin Stacks)  (25) Paul O’Connor (Kenmare)  (26) Barry John Walsh Barra (Kerins O’Rahillys)  (27) Kieran Quirke (Duagh)  (28)  Maurice Corridan (Finuge)  (29) Ronán Ó Flatharta  (An Ghaeltact)  (30) Anthony Maher (Duagh)  (31) Tadhg Kennelly (Listowel Emmetts)

Bainsteoir: Jack O’Connor (Piarsaigh Na Dromada)   
Traenálaí: Alan O’Sullivan (Kerins O’Rahilly’s)
Roghnóirí: Ger O’Keeffe (Austin Stacks) Eamon Fitzmaurice (Finuge) 

Strong team, surprised that Young is dropped, he hasnt done too much wrong in my book, but I suppose its a sign of competition for places that he is dropped. McCarthy must be playing decent stuff in training, dont think Jack would play him if he wasnt. Thought Darren O'S or Barry John Walsh would get a shot with Donaghy out. All in all a strong team and I think we'll win reasonably well

Must admit I think ye will too.

In my humble opinion based on the performances the last day those 15 lads deserve to start. We will need to use subs at crucial times and need to do this wisely. We have our limitations but if Kerry are below par we could make them pay. I think Galvin is a huge plus for them but Johnny D could be the right antidote for him. Maguire will have a big job too but I'd feel he could possibly do well on Walsh. If we avoid a goal or two in the first half and can stay in contact until midway through the second half it will be very interesting. Its a big ask to win it though when you compare the relative experience of both sides.

I don't think Tommy Griffin will spend a lot of time at the edge of his own square.

Bold move bringing back in Mike McCarthy after being out for 3 years and playing him in a position that he never filled for Kerry but its good to see him back though he quit to soon , a tough man marker will see him around the edge of the square if needed, and can swap with Marc and Griffin and O'Mahony in the central roles.

Hopefully the game on the bench will have re-ignited O'Mahony hunger. Its tough on Killian Young and Aidan O'Shea to lose out as well as Padraig Reidy but they are good option from the subs.

Midfield has to shape up big time this week the 2nd half collaspe against Longford cant be allowed to happen without prompt changes ,Scanlon's lack of football and Darragh's years will need to be watch and changed if we dont start winning ball there. O'Se though seeems to be getting fitter as the summer goes on.

Good to see Galvin's return too but any sign of a yellow card and he needs to be subbed for the good of the team , we need him at his terrier best to win breaking ball, Which we lacked against  Longford.

Hopefully Declan too has recovered from his knock but if he is not fit he should not play, at his best on the forty and running at backs , wins his share of ball in the middle too. Donnach Walsh did well the last day one of a few to come out of the game with any praise , but needs more of the same.

Tommy Walsh takes over at 14, the Gooch gets another run when I  think he needs a break to recharge his batteries and regain his form, he needs to produce the goods now. We need low ball and none of the big hoofing we saw last week.

Not too gone on Sean O'Sullivan in the corner , feel his best years are behind him and would have preferred to see Darren O'Sull or the younger Walsh getting a run out.

Good to see Kennelly return to the panel after his recent injury , but like Donaghy if he is not fit and we are winning he should not be risked.

Hard to know what to make of Sligo, they really put it up to Galway and should have won it, but its only a few years since they won out in the western province and only a few short years before that since they fecked Tyrone out on their holes, more than we have managed since. They will bring energy and will certainly have a good go and if we are as poor as we were made to be in the 2nd half last week we will be asked alot of questions.

My poor nephew in NY will have a either Kerry and Sligo Jersey on him on Sat evening, jaysus I will never be able to visit again if we are bate.

comethekingdom

Thats a right heap of changes from Longford ! O Mahoney must have really impressed in training or can it be that Jack and the boys are not fully sure yet of their best 15 ? Great to see Galvin back as long as he keeps his cool, be sure that there will be some Sligo players intent on winding him up !. We need to vary our game now - everyone is wise to the high ball in to the edge of the square. Hope Colms form for winning his own ball is improving. Any word on who the ref is for Sat?

jjjshabadoojnr

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on July 16, 2009, 08:28:47 PM
Quote from: Frank Casey on July 16, 2009, 08:08:10 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on July 16, 2009, 06:58:10 PM
[
Frank Casey 1-13 WB Yeats 2-12 ;)

Great stuff though,

Should that be yeats 19-13??????????? You hope!!!!!!

Poem is very good - not my own work though - came on a chain mail circulating amongst fellow Kindgom exiles - author unknown.

Got to be realistic  :P

Just got the Sligo team text from Club Sligo,

Greene, McGovern, McGuire, Ewing, McNamara, Donovan, J Davey, Mullen, Taylor, Breheny, Costello, Marren, Kelly, EOH, Coen...... no suprises, we cant afford any passengers against Kerry so if that the team that starts we wont win might get lucky and draw :-\. JOC is no fool, i read his book and he'll know they are. KW has been picking them all yr so not suprised there still there. Doubt theyll start in those postions, id swap mcgovern with donovan to mark cooper.

The team is probably as expected. Walsh seems to have been fairly consistent in his selections all year. I would really worry about Neil Ewing. He looked to be caught for pace a few times down in thurles even early on when fresh. He will probably have to follow sean o sullivan (who I doubt will play corner forward)I would expect Kerry to play walsh and gooch in ff line and bring osullivan out to run from deep. This could cause Ewing problems ( Harrison would be the ideal man for this role if fit ).
I would worry about our midfields ability to win primary possesion. Kerry definitely have the edge on us in the middle third when it comes to strength. Our half backs and half forwards will have to win way more breaking ball than we did in Thurles where Ohara was the only man claiming breaks. Breheny wont find it as easy to dispossess men with the ball as in tipp where he performed this brilliantly at least seven times in the first half. I think T Ose and Omahony could do damage rampaging forward as we dont have much pace in the wing forward positions. I would say most people would expect MCarthy to switch to FB and Griffin to move to CHB. Is Coen a bit naive for this game? I know he got a peach of a goal and showed good movement but he was slow to bend his back on several occasions in the second half preferring instead to try and flick it around his man soccer style which resulted in us losing possession.
For us to have any chance of winning on saturday we are going to have to eliminate all unforced errors from our game play to 100% of our potential and hope Kerry play below par. The first twenty minutes against Galway was blighted with these. Four that stood out for me in Thurles were:
1: McGuire doing excellently to win the ball back - then booting the ball up the field to two Tipp players who were free because we had funneled all our forwards bar two back into defence.
2: McNamara receiving a pass with no-one around him and letting it fall between his legs.
3 and 4: Sean Davey kicking two balls straight into the keepers hands from 30 metres when men were overlapping in better positions to kick scores. One of these resulted in a tipp score.
Ah jaysus you could just analyse the teams and tactics to death. Disappointed that no place could be found in the team for Johnny Mc. I think he would be a great man at CHF to get in a few hits. He might not last the full game but he would surely soften up his marker ( I remember a mate of Kieran McGeeney telling me after the first Armagh game in 2002 that McGeeney was never as sore coming off a pitch as he was that day) He also can take good long range scores (one from 50 metres against Westmeath in the park in 2006).

Il stop now cause I'm starting to rave a bit.

Frank Casey

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 16, 2009, 09:02:37 PM
Would you be slightly concerned with Tommy Griffin at number 3 Frank?

FSB - Kerryman's answer here. Yes as he's not a natural full back and no as he is an honest to god trier where ever he starts.

Nothwithstanding any poetical contributions and bookies odds Saturday is a major potential banana skin.
KERRY 3:7

Mano

Form looking at how both teams lineout it really looks like an impossible task for Sligo. Kerry have brought in Galvin, O'Mahony, McCarthy - 3 experienced players. Kerry have power, strength, pace, height, skill all over the pitch whereas we have loads of pace (except in half forwards) and skill but sadly lacking in the height and power department. I would have brought a bit of power into the forwards too with 2 of McPartland/Sweeney/Davey starting. However we are going with probably the smallest full forward line i can remember playing championship football against an experienced outfit like Kerry. There can only be one result. Hopefully our defense holds up as i don't see that forward line been able to score too often

I agree with most of the points being made, you never know there could be late changes to the team.

Best of Luck to everyone involved Tomorrow.

baoithe

I can't be anything but pessimistic about this one. All we can ask of them is to compete and keep things interesting until near the end.

I think we definitely need some height and strength in at full-forward. Apart from offering a different variety of target man it will keep Griffin in around the square where he looked uncomfortable against Longford. If he follows O'Hara out around midfield it will only serve to strengthen Kerry's ball winning capabilities in that vital sector. They have ball winners everywhere around the middle third and they have the perfect linkman in Declan O'Sullivan. Almost every bit of possession in midfield that Kerry won in the first half against Longford found its way to O'Sullivan who ran at longford or picked out Donaghy. Apart from JD foraging forward, I think Galvin will ultimately prove far too strong for him. Ah sure as ye said above there's no point analysing it to death.

I think Kerry will win comfortably. I hope Sligo offer something approaching a rigorous test.

PS - Dont know if this is appropriate, but is there anywhere in particular Sligo supporters will be found watering tomorrow night?

isfeidirlinn

The maiden posting. Anyway will not be in a position to travel due to a funeral. Hard one to miss but al in perspective. I wouldnt be as fanatical as some on this but it would bliss it would be to be alive if we were to manage to beat them. Naturally i dont see it happening at all but hopefully there will be somewhat of a good show. The novelty of watching the yeats men play a championship game onthe television will be interesting.

Anyway maybe if a few call into that tree in Limerick on the way down she might work wonders. Maybe could do with giving knock a shout as well just to be sure.

Quote from: Frank Casey on July 16, 2009, 11:38:27 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 16, 2009, 09:02:37 PM
Would you be slightly concerned with Tommy Griffin at number 3 Frank?

FSB - Kerryman's answer here. Yes as he's not a natural full back and no as he is an honest to god trier where ever he starts.

Nothwithstanding any poetical contributions and bookies odds Saturday is a major potential banana skin.

1/12 as against 1/20 against longford yet at home this time

Team is along expected lines. Good to see Costello is given another chance, and not dropped in favour of Davey, who was dire despite what some seem to think. Having not commented on last Saturday, I must say that Tipp would have to ask themselves how they lost it, given they had that 9-point gap practically wiped out with over 10 minutes to go, some heroic efforts from Donovan, J Davey and O'Hara salvaged it for us in the end. It'll take that kind of effort from 1 to 15 tomorrow, just looking at the Kerry team listed makes it appear an extremely daunting task, but if their indifferent form continues, and we don't freeze on the stage, then we can give them a rattle, though I find it difficult to believe we can actually win it. Still better teams have been beaten by Kerry, so if we go out with all guns blazing, there will be no shame in defeat, hopefully it doesn't turn into another 1975. Best of luck to the lads tomorrow, they will need all of it.

Sligoper

Anywhere i can watch this on the internet? Any website streaming it etc? Stuck in the europe!
Go on the Bunnies!

Quote from: Sligoper on July 18, 2009, 12:49:09 AM
Anywhere i can watch this on the internet? Any website streaming it etc? Stuck in the europe!

Just sent you a PM with all the info.