USFC Final Antrim v Tyrone Clones 19th July

Started by milltown row, June 27, 2009, 09:09:54 PM

Quote from: hardstation on July 19, 2009, 11:32:23 PM

Not at all. You counter-act "the most juvenile post" with an "aye, but what about" post.

Is it not common practice in an argument to try to disprove what the other party claims? Ach maybe not.  

Anyway, sitting with the match on Sky+ and agree with Archie, no malice, no doubt accidental but high hands and definately not charging, not quite sure how your face can charge into someone's hand. Unfortunately for Scullion, if it had been Cavanagh he'd prob have got his shoulder.

Quote from: Minder on July 19, 2009, 11:42:13 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 19, 2009, 11:39:05 PM
What was Ricey mouthing to McKeever about, in the first half? Ref told him to stop, he continued and got a yellow. Didn't see any altercation between the two.
Im not sure McMenamin needs an "altercation" to get at the slabbering.

i'd bet it was about the oz factor

A) what does it matter :-\
B) Don't know if i've ever seen it in the rule book :-\

The Watcher Pat

One thing I didn't like about the day out was after the match....was talking to Eoin Bradley after the match in the Paragon and the ause some of the Tryone fan gave him was really uncalled for.....Good day out up to that stage!!
There is no I in team, but if you look close enough you can find ME

In respect of the Dooher incident, he did run straight at Scuulion and if Scullion had kept his hands down it would have been a free against Dooher for charging.  He lifted his hands though to push him back and caught him so it was a free straight away.  Dooher's momentum made it look worse and in fairness to him I don't think he made anything more out of it.  Definite free, definite yellow, correct decision by my old neighbour!

Fair play to Antrim for a good contest. I never envisaged them scoring 0-15 in the Ulster final and at 1-8 to 0-2 it looked fairly ominous. But those last three points in the first half spoke volumes of the metal this side is made of. I thought Baker got it completely wrong in the first half. The three man full-forward line left acres of room for Tyrone's half-back line and midfield to attack. Joe McMahon's second point was surreal. He just sauntered into wide open turf and whilst almost walking knocked it over the line. Cavanagh's goal was similar. Only when Niblock came on did he pull one of the FF line back and that space ceased to exist. After that the score read 0-13 to 0-10 in Antrim's favour!

I think some of the criticism is harsh here. Although O'Neill didn't score, he was like honey to the bee and with 2-3 Antrim defenders hanging out of him it opened up space for the likes of Mugsy to do damage. Good second half by Mulligan. I thought Penrose had a fine first half and won almost every ball that came his way. Devine's kickouts were no big deal. I thought he tried to vary it a bit and Tyrone won something like 14 from 24 kick outs whilst Antrim won 9 from 29. Good to see Sean getting back to form. Ricey had a magnificent game but was helped by Baker's ineptitude. On the down side, starting to see a wee bit of wear and tear on Tyrone's more established players. We're going to need to get to the finishing line with minimal fuss. As Donagh said, the younger lads could be crucial over the next few weeks. At times, Antrim ran at us and our more recognised players didn't have the legs to catch.

Anyway onwards and upwards. Antrim brought great colour and pre-match excitement and apart from one complete asshole amongst the Aldergrove Brigade, it was good craic.  

Am I right in saying that Tyrone could draw Kerry in the Quater Finals and then play Cork in the Semi's and if things go right play Dublin in the Final. If this happens and Tyrone lift sam it could be one of the hardest won sam's, on paper anyway.

Quote from: ONeill on July 20, 2009, 09:35:04 AM
On the down side, starting to see a wee bit of wear and tear on Tyrone's more established players. We're going to need to get to the finishing line with minimal fuss. As Donagh said, the younger lads could be crucial over the next few weeks. At times, Antrim ran at us and our more recognised players didn't have the legs to catch.

Not sure about that: I had more the feeling that some of those lads had already switched into post-match victory-secured mode. That's not to deny that Antrim were at their most dangerous when running with the ball, having ditched any inhibitions, and Kerry will have serious questions asked of a suspect defence if Antrim go right at them from the start.

Fair play to Trone. Have not been tested yet really which may be their downfall.

Mr. Nakata

Would have to agree with posters backing up Penrose and O'Neill, especially O'Neill. Anyone calling for him to be replaced need their head examined. His off loading and general menace is a joy to watch at all times, even when not pulverising the scoreboard. The pre match parade was a tremendous feast of colour and excitement and the craic in the town before and after excellent I thought. Regarding the game itself, big Joe had a colossol performance, Cavanagh surely has to stay in the middle, Dooher's distribution excellent. Block and Justin solid. Ricey does his best work at half back now and his corner back days are long gone. I'm also enjoying Hub's renaissance. I thought Devine's kicks to the middle were fine, when he tried to vary it they were shocking. Croker in a fortnight (hopefully). Can't wait.

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 20, 2009, 09:53:44 AM
On the down side, starting to see a wee bit of wear and tear on Tyrone's more established players. We're going to need to get to the finishing line with minimal fuss. As Donagh said, the younger lads could be crucial over the next few weeks. At times, Antrim ran at us and our more recognised players didn't have the legs to catch.

Not sure about that: I had more the feeling that some of those lads had already switched into post-match victory-secured mode. That's not to deny that Antrim were at their most dangerous when running with the ball, having ditched any inhibitions, and Kerry will have serious questions asked of a suspect defence if Antrim go right at them from the start.

Perhaps you're right but it was two incidents in the first half that stood out for me, although you have to give the opposition credit at times. The first was when McCann received the ball short of the half way line and steamed past 2-3 Tyrone men, with Hub having to bring him down eventually. The other was something of a rarity - a potentially crucial Jordan error. He was performing a perfunctory fistpass and it was closed down, collected and shot taken (wide) by the same Antrim player. I've never seen Jordan do that. But that's nit-picking. 1-18 in an Ulster final is not to be sniffed at, nor is the spread of scorers when you consider that 2 of the named full forward line didn't score!

Quote from: hardstation on July 19, 2009, 11:15:27 PM
The times they are a changing. A page of the programme dedicated to PSNI recruitment.

What's a "Programme Analyst"?

Quote from: ONeill on July 20, 2009, 10:07:54 AM
Perhaps you're right but it was two incidents in the first half that stood out for me, although you have to give the opposition credit at times. The first was when McCann received the ball short of the half way line and steamed past 2-3 Tyrone men, with Hub having to bring him down eventually. The other was something of a rarity - a potentially crucial Jordan error. He was performing a perfunctory fistpass and it was closed down, collected and shot taken (wide) by the same Antrim player. I've never seen Jordan do that.

Perhaps the Meath semi-final of 2007 is indelibly seared into my consciousness, but that's the only game I need to remember to reassure myself that rumours of untreatable rust or rigor mortis setting in might just be a tad premature: if there's was ever a game to signal the 'irreversible' decline of this particular Tyrone team then that was it.

Having said that, the quarter-finals are where we are most vulnerable, especially as Ulster Champions, so something like a high profile draw such as the Dublin draw of '08 would be the tonic to lock us into white heat Championship mode, where there'll be no room for the rather lackadaisical errors of yesterday.

The Watcher Pat

Fair play to Antrim for a good contest. I never envisaged them scoring 0-15 in the Ulster final and at 1-8 to 0-2 it looked fairly ominous. But those last three points in the first half spoke volumes of the metal this side is made of. I thought Baker got it completely wrong in the first half. The three man full-forward line left acres of room for Tyrone's half-back line and midfield to attack. Joe McMahon's second point was surreal. He just sauntered into wide open turf and whilst almost walking knocked it over the line. Cavanagh's goal was similar. Only when Niblock came on did he pull one of the FF line back and that space ceased to exist. After that the score read 0-13 to 0-10 in Antrim's favour!

I think some of the criticism is harsh here. Although O'Neill didn't score, he was like honey to the bee and with 2-3 Antrim defenders hanging out of him it opened up space for the likes of Mugsy to do damage. Good second half by Mulligan. I thought Penrose had a fine first half and won almost every ball that came his way. Devine's kickouts were no big deal. I thought he tried to vary it a bit and Tyrone won something like 14 from 24 kick outs whilst Antrim won 9 from 29. Good to see Sean getting back to form. Ricey had a magnificent game but was helped by Baker's ineptitude. On the down side, starting to see a wee bit of wear and tear on Tyrone's more established players. We're going to need to get to the finishing line with minimal fuss. As Donagh said, the younger lads could be crucial over the next few weeks. At times, Antrim ran at us and our more recognised players didn't have the legs to catch.

Anyway onwards and upwards. Antrim brought great colour and pre-match excitement and apart from one complete asshole amongst the Aldergrove Brigade, it was good craic.  

Long haired boy by any chance?
There is no I in team, but if you look close enough you can find ME

Quote from: The Watcher Pat on July 20, 2009, 10:51:22 AM

Long haired boy by any chance?

Short brownish hair with a small Antrim flag on a stick if its the same boy I'm thinking about.