Racist attacks in Belfast

Started by ludermor, June 17, 2009, 10:01:29 AM

Not a bit of a joke, with wally's like this. Particularly the 2nd one.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/8105926.stm

Sickening acts by deluded scumbags. I have a few points..

- How come the people that never want to work and prefer to laze around claiming benefits (even when jobs were plentiful) are always the loudest in their condemnation of immigrants.
- If adolf had to have won WW2 and we were living in the third reich, these scumbags would be the 1st people he'd be marching into the gas chamber.
- The Irish have a very romantic vision of their own emmigration. Lets no forget that the Irish in the US were amongst the 1st to form organised crime gangs and some were involved in the wipe-out of native peoples of America and Australia. People like to pedel the lie that we were, to a man, hard honest decent workers and then blacken the names of all the Poles, Romanians or whoever else when we hear of some of them being here for benefits alone. A minority of both Irish Immigrants and Eastern European immigrants did/do wrong. Neither one holds moral highground over the other imo.

DennistheMenace

The hypocrisy of McGuiness is also worth noting  ::)

I wonder does it register with those lads that were making the Nazi gestures the other night that their grandfathers would have been fighting against the Nazis 60 years ago..........

Quote from: nifan on June 17, 2009, 09:58:56 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on June 17, 2009, 06:34:52 PM
Quote from: nifan on June 17, 2009, 06:33:05 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on June 17, 2009, 06:20:57 PM
Quote from: nifan on June 17, 2009, 10:59:13 AM
From a report (back in 2002) about racism in belfast:

"This may be a reflection of racist attitudes but more likely it reflects the fact that housing is more readily available in Protestant working class areas than in Catholic working class areas."

The indication would be there are more minorities in the protestant areas, and therefore statistically greater chances of attack.

the combat 18 element cant be ignored either.
Hmm, care to back that up with evidence?

The report i mentioned the quote from was by the institute for conflict research.
Cant find the source material at the moment, but ive no reason to doubt it, and it would back what ive read elsewhere. Ill try and source it later if you think it sounds wrong.
Please do that.

Havent located the original report, but the quote above is a quote taken from a bbc article on the report.

Looking round saw some interesting breakdowns:

This pdf shows the breakdown of minorities across NI.
South belfast area is notably highest (due to the university), though it doesnt break down further
http://www.bbc.co.uk/northernireland/schools/11_16/citizenship/pdfs/ctz_eth_pg02_tn.pdf

And this has a lot of information on where race crimes where reported, again unsurprisingly with its relatively large% of minorities south belfast comes out on "top"
http://www.conflictresearch.org.uk/documents/racial.pdf
Sorry but quoting 2 reports which are 8 and 6 years old respectively proves nothing.  The reason I asked is West Belfast has 3,500 Filipinos living in it, Brannigans pub in the Tunnel in Portadown has been long since nicknamed 'the Portuguese embassy', there are countless examples of foreign nationals being able to integrate into Catholic communities without too much bother - admittedly there are neanderthals in both communities but to say that there are more attacks occuring in Protestant communities because there are more foreign nationalis living in them is utter rubbish.  Maybe it's because they are perceived as Catholics that they are being attacked ?

Quote from: ardmhachaabu on June 17, 2009, 10:17:16 PM

"This may be a reflection of racist attitudes but more likely it reflects the fact that housing is more readily available in Protestant working class areas than in Catholic working class areas."

The indication would be there are more minorities in the protestant areas, and therefore statistically greater chances of attack.

The report i mentioned the quote from was by the institute for conflict research.
Cant find the source material at the moment, but ive no reason to doubt it, and it would back what ive read elsewhere. Ill try and source it later if you think it sounds wrong.
Please do that.

Havent located the original report, but the quote above is a quote taken from a bbc article on the report.

South belfast area is notably highest (due to the university), though it doesnt break down further
http://www.bbc.co.uk/northernireland/schools/11_16/citizenship/pdfs/ctz_eth_pg02_tn.pdf

And this has a lot of information on where race crimes where reported, again unsurprisingly with its relatively large% of minorities south belfast comes out on "top"
Sorry but quoting 2 reports which are 8 and 6 years old respectively proves nothing.  The reason I asked is West Belfast has 3,500 Filipinos living in it, Brannigans pub in the Tunnel in Portadown has been long since nicknamed 'the Portuguese embassy', there are countless examples of foreign nationals being able to integrate into Catholic communities without too much bother - admittedly there are neanderthals in both communities but to say that there are more attacks occuring in Protestant communities because there are more foreign nationalis living in them is utter rubbish.  Maybe it's because they are perceived as Catholics that they are being attacked ?

The reason, in my opiinion, is that the Fillipinos are well received is they are a hard working crowd and are not standing begging on street corners.

Quote from: Minder on June 17, 2009, 10:28:06 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on June 17, 2009, 10:17:16 PM

Please do that.

The reason, in my opiinion, is that the Fillipinos are well received is they are a hard working crowd and are not standing begging on street corners.
Or playing awful music in the street?

CiKe

This started off with reasonable condemnation and a recognition from a few that Ireland has a very strong undercurrent of racism. Not to be getting on the high horse or anything but the last few pages have in my opinion amply demonstrated that undercurrent from a few members - can you spell stereotyping lads?

Quote from: CiKe on June 17, 2009, 10:48:08 PM
This started off with reasonable condemnation and a recognition from a few that Ireland has a very strong undercurrent of racism. Not to be getting on the high horse or anything but the last few pages have in my opinion amply demonstrated that undercurrent from a few members - can you spell stereotyping lads?

Have you got the courage of your convictions to spell out who it is that's stereotyping ?

Yes I Would

Quote from: Fionntamhnach on June 17, 2009, 11:10:31 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on June 17, 2009, 02:08:50 PM
'equalise alert'

there are nationalist areas as bad as the protestant ones - eg ballymena wasnt it where those bebo links were from that were posted on here round halloween time?

theres a few more spring to mind also, but rather than have tyronies and a few other fellas go mad and turn this thread into a row I'll not post where.

I think the north seems to be racist, with a bit of it in the south also - but the gov imo are to blame for its uneven dole/benefit mess.

Also all Irish going to america got work, if they didnt they came home as there were no benefit/dole being dished out to people.
The green card system sorted out their problems, so you cant equate these poor folk in to the paddys that went stateside.

Paddys in England you can though.

Poor romanians, if they are roma - then they are hated by the romanians too !

About three years ago, there was an incident in a Tyrone village that would be safe to say is predominantly republican/nationalist, where a Lithuanian man was assaulted in the street by locals and taken to hospital. His crime? Daring to chat up a local girl in a pub.

So he was attacked for chattin up the wrong girl, or was it because he was Lithuanian??
I know a guy from Newry who once got an unmerciful kicking outside Laceys one night for touching up another blokes Sheila!!

CiKe

It was the two posts prior to my own so that would be you and Minder. They may well have been flippant jokes but all too often that is used as an excuse by people to defend their comments. If it was said as a joke then perhaps clears you of any allegations of stereotyping or racism but not of bad taste in my opinion.

Quote from: CiKe on June 17, 2009, 11:27:58 PM
It was the two posts prior to my own so that would be you and Minder. They may well have been flippant jokes but all too often that is used as an excuse by people to defend their comments. If it was said as a joke then perhaps clears you of any allegations of stereotyping or racism but not of bad taste in my opinion.
Mine was a flippant joke and let me just say this, you know nothing about me so you shouldn't jump to conclusions so quickly.  There are people on here who can confirm I am the furthest thing from being a racist.  You really need to lighten up incidentally, you will die of a heart attack getting on like that.

As for Minder, he can speak for himself I'm sure

Chrisowc

Quote from: Bogball XV on June 17, 2009, 09:23:11 PM
Quote from: Minder on June 17, 2009, 09:14:02 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on June 17, 2009, 09:12:20 PM
Am I right in thinking that these people are Roma?

You are.
thought so, they're always treated well down south you know, them prods in belfast is a disgrace.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/0718/roma.html

QuoteA family of Roma who are encamped at the M50 roundabout in Ballymun have been subjected to racist attacks and slurs.

Sara Russell, the Roma co-ordinator with Pavee Point, told a news conference in Dublin this morning that eggs had been thrown and abuse shouted at the Rostas family late at night.

She also said that health officials in Ballymun had written about their concerns of an outbreak of an infectious disease at the camp.

AdvertisementMore than 50 Roma adults and children have been living in what Pavee Point describes as horrific conditions for nearly two months.

A coalition of charity organisations has called for urgent action to address what it is describing as an humanitarian crisis.

Feckin Norn Iron fans get everywhere!
it's 'circle the wagons time again' here comes the cavalry!

Quote from: ziggysego on June 17, 2009, 10:02:19 PM
Not a bit of a joke, with wally's like this. Particularly the 2nd one.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/8105926.stm

That's what Tankie will look like in 10 years.