US Open: 18-21 June

Started by anportmorforjfc, June 12, 2009, 10:48:34 PM

Unless Glover does a Jean Van De Velde then he has it in the bag...........

Glover is the man, he took a very professional approach to 18 and as soon as he grabbed the iron from the bag I knew it was his. Mickelson and Duval threatened and fair play to them for that but Hefty to me choked away another major, he was right there with two guys with zero experience in a major dogfight and he threw shots away left, right and center over the last few holes.

Well done Mr Glover, a worthy US Open Champion.

what a day, spent the last 5 hours on the recliner hoping for a playoff and 6 more hours ;D glover held his nerve but i was shouting for phil and dd. why cant every monday be like this!

gerrykeegan

my boss collects 1260 on duval i get jack shit
2007  2008 & 2009 Fantasy Golf Winner
(A legitimately held title unlike Dinny's)

Quote from: magickingdom on June 22, 2009, 06:57:07 PM
what a day, spent the last 5 hours on the recliner hoping for a playoff and 6 more hours ;D glover held his nerve but i was shouting for phil and dd. why cant every monday be like this!

Too right  :D

D4S

I know a fella who had £15 each way on Glover at a cool 250/1 he wins around 4700
The secret of success in life is for a man to be ready for his opportunity when it comes.

Quote from: stew on June 22, 2009, 06:50:36 PM
Glover is the man, he took a very professional approach to 18 and as soon as he grabbed the iron from the bag I knew it was his. Mickelson and Duval threatened and fair play to them for that but Hefty to me choked away another major, he was right there with two guys with zero experience in a major dogfight and he threw shots away left, right and center over the last few holes.

Stew I agree with everything you just said- great to see Duval back with the big guys, the US commentary was very good this year, I used to pull in the BBC so I wouldnt have to listen to them, but that was brilliant. 

Cracking days viewing that made a painful Monday go a lot quicker
Normally I wouldnt be supporting Lefty at all, but I found myself rooting for him today as what he has been through recently

Quote from: heganboy on June 22, 2009, 08:17:32 PM
Quote from: stew on June 22, 2009, 06:50:36 PM

Stew I agree with everything you just said- great to see Duval back with the big guys, the US commentary was very good this year, I used to pull in the BBC so I wouldnt have to listen to them, but that was brilliant. 

Agreed hegan, the only time they really mentioned el tigre was when they said that he must be kicking himself for not being there at the death because they reckoned he would have got the job done which mickelson failed to do. You cant really argue with that. I thought the coverage excellent, they stayed on point and I liked the two shot swing theories and the talk of pressure. Glover quietly went about his business and his caddy was the makings of him, he kept him loose and never put a foot wrong the entire final round, tremendous stuff and Glover is now an immortal, when you think that the great Sam Snead never won the open it tells you just how hard it is to win.

Quote from: stew on June 22, 2009, 09:10:52 PM
when you think that the great Sam Snead never won the open it tells you just how hard it is to win.

poor sam 4 runners ups and never made it

Quote from: D4S on June 22, 2009, 08:05:10 PM
I know a fella who had £15 each way on Glover at a cool 250/1 he wins around 4700

A guy on news talk gave a tip on glover  Last thursday, not a gambler but  I got him at 175/1 , worst hing is i cant remember the guys name , some american golf journalist any one else hear it?  he was on with lawerence donegan

Rossie11

Heard him. He had Cabrera in last major too...
John Duggan on today fm tipped glover to lead after day 1 but not outright!!
Would say he is fairly sick..

Quote from: corn02 on June 22, 2009, 05:48:27 PM
Why the love for Duval, is it due to where he fell to and the chance of getting back to the top order?

I thought we would all be Lefty fans in here.

Easy to say now but I have been a big Duval fan since about 98/99 when he went on that hot streak of tournament wins, great to see him back.  First golf bet I put on was for him to win the open in 2001, as I was going over to it.