Ulster Semifinal- Derry v Tyrone 21/6/09 Casement Park

Started by Oakleafer93, May 31, 2009, 03:36:17 PM

Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on June 22, 2009, 07:33:17 PM
Could have swore this was the Tyrone/Derry thread and not the Monaghan/Derry thread

Quote from: Oakleafer93 on June 22, 2009, 07:42:34 PM
So, it has now been 29 days, 5 hours and 38 minutes since the Derry v Monaghan game and them Monaghan hures are still running around with chips on their shoulders.

You both must have missed this:

Quote from: Maguire01 on June 22, 2009, 07:25:29 PM
I wasn't comparing yesterday to Derry v Monaghan - i was commenting on the game in its own right. It wasn't a dirty game overall, but to say that there wasn't a nasty/dirty stroke is a bit disingenuous...

It was 2 Derry posters bringing the comparison back to the other game. My comments were only in relation to yesterday's game.

whiskeysteve

Somewhere, somehow, someone's going to pay: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pPhISgw3I2w

qub la la la

derry were there own worst enemy. pulling a man back and allowing tyrone to play someone in front of the full back line was a big mistake. i think paddy bradley only touched the ball once in the 2nd half. a thing i cant stand is handpassing backward in the half back line, absolutly brutal. derry played at a pedestrian pace. if they were going to persist in allowing tyrone to have the extra man back the ball must be delivered at pace to the full forward line. derry couldnt even break a tackle. gives us in armagh hope, think we gave them a better game, and there wasnt a belt thrown in it either, handbags at the end were stupid, def no sending off.

tyronefan

Quote from: JMohan on June 22, 2009, 07:14:43 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on June 22, 2009, 06:51:52 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 22, 2009, 06:47:56 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on June 22, 2009, 06:00:41 PM
Monaghan expected to beat derry, thats the difference, they didnt expect derry to stand up and play them at their own game. 
Eh? When?

1st round  ??? Are you being serious?

I think JMohan means in comparison it was nowhere near the Monagh game, there wasn't alot to talk about in terms of cynical behaviour.
Exactly ... Derry tried to play Tyrone at football.
I don't think they did it the right way or with the right plan ... but they certainly didn't try and stop them from playing football by pulling jerseys and kicking and insulting their girlfriends/mothers etc.

yeah right  O kane pulled Cavanaghs jersey every time he went for a ball

all derry done was try to stop tyrone from playing football, maybe if they did try to play a bit of football they might of made a game of it

Quote from: SidelineKick on June 22, 2009, 05:12:43 PM
Bingo do you ever get tired listening to yourself? Since when do you defend Monobrow. Anthing to get a dig at the Derry crowd.

We beat you, fuckin get over it. We used YOUR tactics to do it. My respect for Monaghan dropped dramatically that day. A hard team? hard to listen to thats about it.  Cynical f**ks.

;D  ;D  ;D

WTF!! I'm long over it, 20 mins after game it was an afterthought. Its the shite and gloating since that would drive you mad. To listen to Derry you'd swear there was never a bad egg in the county. Derry - the great unwashed and wronged county. You's spent about 2 pages of the this thread calling Ricey a disgrace and a tr**p for cheering in an oppents face!! What about the day Brolly ran the sideline in Celtic Park after scoring a goal and was blowing kisses to the crowd until he got half way and one of the Downeys grabbed him and put him back down the field. The **** could have caused a riot. I've also seen one of their club sides start a row in a Ulster club match to get back into a game. It worked too, more c***ts.

I lost all respect for Derry that day and I seen worst since. So please do f**k off.

Archie Mitchell

Quote from: hardstation on June 22, 2009, 09:39:36 PM
McMeniman is a hateful bollix but in fairness he is a good footballer.

Barry McGoldrick is a hateful bollix.

Seems to be involved a lot when he has no need to be there.

whiskeysteve

Quote from: hardstation on June 22, 2009, 09:39:36 PM
McMeniman is a hateful bollix but in fairness he is a good footballer.

Barry McGoldrick is a hateful bollix.

thats about the 3rd time youve given off about him. What he do yesterday?
Somewhere, somehow, someone's going to pay: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pPhISgw3I2w

whiskeysteve

You have a bad run in with his cousins hardstation?

when it comes down to football, he takes the frees from the left, takes the frees outta defence and links more ball out of the derry defence than any other player. Like most fellas yesterday he didnt have a stormer but to - f**k just split a bloody glass of water everywhere. i blame u u hoor - anyway to say he aint involved in the football is a farce. fair enough he mouths a bit but he doesnt do anything wild bad

jodyb

Quote from: bingobus on June 22, 2009, 09:20:56 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on June 22, 2009, 05:12:43 PM
Bingo do you ever get tired listening to yourself? Since when do you defend Monobrow. Anthing to get a dig at the Derry crowd.

We beat you, fuckin get over it. We used YOUR tactics to do it. My respect for Monaghan dropped dramatically that day. A hard team? hard to listen to thats about it.  Cynical f**ks.

;D  ;D  ;D

WTF!! I'm long over it, 20 mins after game it was an afterthought. Its the shite and gloating since that would drive you mad. To listen to Derry you'd swear there was never a bad egg in the county. Derry - the great unwashed and wronged county. You's spent about 2 pages of the this thread calling Ricey a disgrace and a tr**p for cheering in an oppents face!! What about the day Brolly ran the sideline in Celtic Park after scoring a goal and was blowing kisses to the crowd until he got half way and one of the Downeys grabbed him and put him back down the field. The **** could have caused a riot. I've also seen one of their club sides start a row in a Ulster club match to get back into a game. It worked too, more c***ts.

I lost all respect for Derry that day and I seen worst since. So please do f**k off.
Ah get over yerself ye clown. We all accept that Joe was a bit of a bollix when he was at his kissin carryon, but thats all it was. He did it to the Derry fans, not the opposition and he did it every time he scored a goal and there was no malice or provocation intended. I'm surprised you were actually at a match to see him in person. Or was it televised????

whiskeysteve

looks like we'll just have to disagree on this one. your welcome to your opinions even if they are over the top

The game certainly didnt pass him by. If you watch it again the ball moves through him more than any other player from the back. He is the best distributer of the ball in that defence.

jodyb

Quote from: tyronefan on June 22, 2009, 08:33:42 PM
Monaghan expected to beat derry, thats the difference, they didnt expect derry to stand up and play them at their own game. 
Eh? When?

I think JMohan means in comparison it was nowhere near the Monagh game, there wasn't alot to talk about in terms of cynical behaviour.
I don't think they did it the right way or with the right plan ... but they certainly didn't try and stop them from playing football by pulling jerseys and kicking and insulting their girlfriends/mothers etc.

all derry done was try to stop tyrone from playing football, maybe if they did try to play a bit of football they might of made a game of it

O'Kane marked him hard and (reasonably)fair throughout, What are you talking about?

Archie Mitchell

Quote from: jodyb on June 22, 2009, 10:24:00 PM
Quote from: tyronefan on June 22, 2009, 08:33:42 PM
Eh? When?

O'Kane marked him hard and (reasonably)fair throughout, What are you talking about?

Check out the incident when both players got booked. O'Kane was at this carry on all throughout the game when the ball wasn't near them. When the ball was in play he was fair and marked Cavanagh well.

thebuzz

Tyrones Own I am well and truely over Tyrone beating us, so I don't see where the irony is, I never expected a win, although I didn't expect an 8 point trounching.  I wasn't even disappointed yest as I had most of the 2nd half to resign myself to the fact we were never fgoing to win.  Monaghan expected to beat derry, thats the difference, they didnt expect derry to stand up and play them at their own game.  There was nothing cynical about yesterdays game, even in the first half where it was tight.

That's the one good thing about getting beat properly at least you have the second half to come to terms with the defeat. If we had been beaten by a couple of points near the end it would have been harder to get over. Derry usually do a little bit better in the qualifiers so hopefully we'll have something like 2001 again.

southderryman

cant be bothered reading the whole thread

obviously very dissapointed. not so much in defeat ass i thought we would struggle, but the manner of defeat was the worst thing.

i'm not going to criticise the manager as i think he does a decent job wherever he goes, i just reckon we need to concentrate a bit less on stopping the opposition and a bit more on attacking. its hard to be harsh tho, and i dont to use injuries as an excuse, but missing so many players os always going to leave you up against it. maybe he decided to try and keep tyrone to a low score and try to nick it i dont know.

the simple fact is tyrone are the best team in the country and cruised through yesterdays game. had we had everyone available they would still have been able to up the tempo considerably and would probably still have won.

harte and his players have been together a long time and have come as close to perfecting a team perfromance and game-plan as you are likely to see. thats were evryone else has to aim to be, it will take time, and defeats like this can only be learned from (i hope)

with all this outfall about kevin mccloy leaving and the renewed talk of the ballinderry players walking, im unsure what will happen.

hopefully get a few players back and a favourable draw to try and get back on track.

its hard to explain such a performance tho, and will take a while to get over it.

disappointed, but realistic. hopefully salvage something from the summer, get a few lads back, and try to strike a balance between the off the cuff stuff from the last few years and the very defensive set up in this year's championship to date.

i just hope the so called supporters follow the team wherever we go the next day and dont stay at home because of one bad defeat. its hard to take i know, but the players still deserve support, the things that some people were saying yesterday leaving the ground were a disgrace. its an amatuer game and these fella's devote a lot of time and effort to play for their county, too many people forget that.