Tyrone Club Football and Hurling

Started by Gabriel_Hurl, November 09, 2006, 10:54:03 PM

KIDDO 4

Former Tyrone star Seamus Donaghey  who played in the ulster seniorfinal success in 1973, has died in New York.

Quote from: KIDDO 4 on February 05, 2010, 01:59:12 PM
Former Tyrone star Seamus Donaghey  who played in the ulster seniorfinal success in 1973, has died in New York.

RIP

I remember him alright. He used to come home from the States to play for Dromore in late 70s and of course from 1973 Tyrone team. Class player. Very sad news.
God rest him.

RedBolts

Quote from: ziggysego on February 05, 2010, 01:23:08 PM
Quote from: RedBolts on February 05, 2010, 01:02:41 PM
Good decision from McCullagh. He wasn't gonna sit around warming Harte's bench for another year while the likes of Colm Cavanagh and Martin Penrose took preference. Harte never seemed to give him a fair crack depsite his performances in 2008. What was his gripe?

Mickey seems to have talked him into staying with Tyrone. Must have a real gripe with him indeed  :D

Well he must have alright. Why else would he refuse to play him? And the same goes for Shaun O'Neill - he hasn't got the chance his talent seems to deserve.

Wee Roddy

McCullagh, while certainly i very skillfull footballer, would be classed as slightly lacking in the balls department about our part of the world. He has a great temperament, as shown by his peno in last years county final, but can he really win his own ball in dangerous positions?? His action against Paul Hughes in 2004 county final will live with me longer than his performances for Tyrone in 2008 I tell you.

Quote from: Wee Roddy on February 05, 2010, 02:55:59 PM
McCullagh, while certainly i very skillfull footballer, would be classed as slightly lacking in the balls department about our part of the world. He has a great temperament, as shown by his peno in last years county final, but can he really win his own ball in dangerous positions?? His action against Paul Hughes in 2004 county final will live with me longer than his performances for Tyrone in 2008 I tell you.

Did that ever get resolved ?

Were cops brought in at that time ?

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 05, 2010, 01:12:53 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on February 04, 2010, 08:17:16 PM
Fair play to Colly. Great athlete with loads of skill and made a great contribution to Tyrone when giving up a successful soccer career to win an AI in 05 and to become an important player on the 08 winning side.

Personally I'm not disappointed. He is fantastic as Captain for Dromore and led in great style, winning Dromore's second ever Championship. If this means he can concentrate on his job of leading Dromore to B2B championships then it's good news.

You're one selfish b*stard Zap!  :D

Zap is dead right. Club before county for me any day of the week. ;)

Tommo2

Enlighten us as to what is alleged to have happened. Surely there were no misdemeanours in that encounter as it was virtually over after 15 mins.

usa07

ally
Mc Cullagh lacking in balls you must be having a laugh?? The amounted of players/hachet men especially from carmen who try to verbally an physically abuse him an he is still one of the best if not the best forwards in the county!!! An in 2004 he hit hughes before hughes hit him in my opinion he was dead right to do so, then he had to get the RUC involved :o

oakleafgael

Jesus Roddy, let he who is without sin cast the first stone. If memory serves me corrrectly he was rightly sent off for punching Hughes. He wont be the first or the last to let frustration get the better of them and lash out.

You don't get to county standard lacking balls. He looks after himself would be more apt.

Quote from: ONeill on February 05, 2010, 03:48:39 PM

You don't get to county standard lacking balls. He looks after himself would be more apt.

Balls indeed...

A sonnet for the bard O'Neill

THE BALL POEM by John Berryman

What is the boy now, who has lost his ball,
What, what is he to do? I saw it go
Merrily bouncing, down the street, and then
Merrily over—there it is in the water!
No use to say 'O there are other balls':
An ultimate shaking grief fixes the boy
As he stands rigid, trembling, staring down
All his young days into the harbour where
His ball went. I would not intrude on him,
A dime, another ball, is worthless. Now
He senses first responsibility
In a world of possessions. People will take balls,
Balls will be lost always, little boy,
And no one buys a ball back. Money is external.
He is learning, well behind his desperate eyes,
The epistemology of loss, how to stand up
Knowing what every man must one day know
And most know many days, how to stand up
And gradually light returns to the street
A whistle blows, the ball is out of sight,
Soon part of me will explore the deep and dark
Floor of the harbour . . I am everywhere,
I suffer and move, my mind and my heart move
With all that move me, under the water
Or whistling, I am not a little boy.

wheres he takin er from

Quote from: EC Unique on February 05, 2010, 03:14:31 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 05, 2010, 01:12:53 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on February 04, 2010, 08:17:16 PM
Fair play to Colly. Great athlete with loads of skill and made a great contribution to Tyrone when giving up a successful soccer career to win an AI in 05 and to become an important player on the 08 winning side.

Personally I'm not disappointed. He is fantastic as Captain for Dromore and led in great style, winning Dromore's second ever Championship. If this means he can concentrate on his job of leading Dromore to B2B championships then it's good news.

I'm also with you on this one boys

You're one selfish b*stard Zap!  :D

Zap is dead right. Club before county for me any day of the week. ;)
First on the field and last to leave

Don't mind FOSB lads. He's been out to get me since I said the Sigersons should be comogie competiton ;)