Tyrone Club Football and Hurling

Started by Gabriel_Hurl, November 09, 2006, 10:54:03 PM

BeraghBadger

Loughmacrory celebrating like they have won the thing meanwhile Trillick keeping it all on the down low and they will be looking revenge for last years loss. Loughmacrory simply don't have the defenders to stop all of Trillicks attacking power. Trillick will be happy with Loughmacrory in final as I believe Carrickmore would of been a bigger challenge for them

ManFromMoygashel

Quote from: BeraghBadger on October 18, 2025, 07:50:00 AMLoughmacrory celebrating like they have won the thing meanwhile Trillick keeping it all on the down low and they will be looking revenge for last years loss. Loughmacrory simply don't have the defenders to stop all of Trillicks attacking power. Trillick will be happy with Loughmacrory in final as I believe Carrickmore would of been a bigger challenge for them

If i remember correctly Beragh celebrated like they won the league after beating Loughmacory in 2019. It was the last game of the league and the points meant nothing to Beragh, but they still went for it. Derby wins are worth celebrating.

No team fears or sees carrickmore as "the bigger challenge" at the top end of the table except Loughmacory and thats just because of the derby/history factor. Thats what made this semi final draw so dramatic.

Trillick would not have cared which team won last night! They'll fancy themselves against either.

Tyrone95

Like many posters on here it's been painful to see some of the school children post nonsense on here this last while.. however I'll make this my last post for a while.. fair play to our neighbours on last nights win.. they clearly where well prepared as Im sure our lads where.. just on the night we were missing some key players in key positions up the spine of our team which hurt us and at that stage of the championship you are running that risk..

No supporter went home last night blaming anyone.. just a tough pill to swallow but I'm sure we can take something from that game going forward and we seem to have built a tight nit panel this year and given some young lads game time which may not have happened if we had the full deck/injury free - young Mattie Mccallan and Fred Loughran to name 2 who have been exceptional all year..

Long road back for any club beat in championship but I would strongly disagree that Carmen are done or are an average team. The wounds are fresh but we'll be back - you just have to wait your turn. No doubt about that

Truthsayer

Would agree on the adolescent content of some posts here. Slagging off teams who lost like schoolyard soccer fans and one above using a whole soccer analogy comparing a local club GAA team to Man United... ffs!
Was there last night and was hugely exciting game from two sets of players gave their all. I'm guessing the 13 year olds here have no idea the commitment needed to be a senior club player.
As for blaming the ref. He did well and I didn't hear one Carrickmore supporter on about the ref afterwards.
Loughmacrory deserved it and of course they celebrated reaching their first O'Neill Cup final.
Pure childishness here lately.

Goals_Will_Come

Great game to watch from a neutral POV. Serious bottle by McCullagh to step up with two pointer after being well marked all game and missing the penalty - great sign of a player being able to step up again when it was needed. McElholm likewise stepped up with a great two pointer despite being well marked throughout. Lough have a good spread of scorers which gives them a chance against Trillick. Although not his most influential performance last night he still got two good points - Cathal Donaghy has to be on for player of the championship this year.
Carrickmore showed that traditional never say die spirit but just wasn't enough. To come so close without Fullerton (and a right few others) will leave them with a load of what ifs to ponder over the winter.
The better team over the two games won in the end but Loughmacrory will need to shore up the defence and stop giving up those goal chances against Trillick - the Garritys could have a field day.

It will be another O'Neill Cup for the West anyway.

Augherstar

Quote from: Tyrone95 on October 18, 2025, 08:54:10 AMLike many posters on here it's been painful to see some of the school children post nonsense on here this last while.. however I'll make this my last post for a while.. fair play to our neighbours on last nights win.. they clearly where well prepared as Im sure our lads where.. just on the night we were missing some key players in key positions up the spine of our team which hurt us and at that stage of the championship you are running that risk..

No supporter went home last night blaming anyone.. just a tough pill to swallow but I'm sure we can take something from that game going forward and we seem to have built a tight nit panel this year and given some young lads game time which may not have happened if we had the full deck/injury free - young Mattie Mccallan and Fred Loughran to name 2 who have been exceptional all year..

Long road back for any club beat in championship but I would strongly disagree that Carmen are done or are an average team. The wounds are fresh but we'll be back - you just have to wait your turn. No doubt about that

Ridiculous statement to make when loughmacrory are missing players from both injuries and Australia

Grace Murphy

Quote from: Truthsayer on October 18, 2025, 09:03:03 AMWould agree on the adolescent content of some posts here. Slagging off teams who lost like schoolyard soccer fans and one above using a whole soccer analogy comparing a local club GAA team to Man United... ffs!
Was there last night and was hugely exciting game from two sets of players gave their all. I'm guessing the 13 year olds here have no idea the commitment needed to be a senior club player.
As for blaming the ref. He did well and I didn't hear one Carrickmore supporter on about the ref afterwards.
Loughmacrory deserved it and of course they celebrated reaching their first O'Neill Cup final.
Pure childishness here lately.

Paddy Hunter told us a few times that Carrickmore ones weren't happy with the referee. Ronan ONeill who has a good view on the game compared to Paddy seemed to allude to some of the decisions being made as questionable.

Bestchampoinireland

Think carrickmore are getting a very harsh touch here, although they lost last night they had many stand out players, Tiernan loughran playing out of his skin this year now a certain for 20s will be a big boost, Rory Donnelly back to his best, Niall Allison showing spells of his form from the year they got to the final and mc garrity showing his county standard, they have sured up there defence somewhat with three great man marking defenders across the full back line, they will no doubtedly be back, there Achilles heal seems to be a keeper, coughing up far too many primary possessions.

As for childishness on the board, I have been a long time follower but only started posting and feel like boys are cowering behind screens making shite up and it's unacceptable if you wouldn't say it to a man's face keep it to yourself, many cubs have too much time on there hands. Maybe Fintonas downfall by the talk of a lot of them. Get off this and go do a bit of training.

Glad today there's been a bit of sense talked.

As always, best champo in Ireland.

GlenMan

Quote from: BeraghBadger on October 18, 2025, 07:50:00 AMLoughmacrory celebrating like they have won the thing meanwhile Trillick keeping it all on the down low and they will be looking revenge for last years loss. Loughmacrory simply don't have the defenders to stop all of Trillicks attacking power. Trillick will be happy with Loughmacrory in final as I believe Carrickmore would of been a bigger challenge for them

To be fair, trillick players and supporters also celebrated on Sunday evening. They did not keep it down low afterwards - and nor should they.

If both teams can ground themselves again then I don't see an issue

TabClear

Quote from: GlenMan on October 18, 2025, 10:55:09 AM

To be fair, trillick players and supporters also celebrated on Sunday evening. They did not keep it down low afterwards - and nor should they.

If both teams can ground themselves again then I don't see an issue

Can't expect teams to not celebrate getting to a final, especially after a replay and winning like they did. Enjoy the moment then back to business preparing for next week.

Kick it in high

Its great to see a bit of sensible chat back in the board today. Understandably this loss will be a tough pill to swallow for Carmen, who probably never believed that Lough could knock them out of the championship. How things can change. Two brilliant games which both could've went either way. The beauty of the Tyrone championship!

As for Conroy, he certainly doesnt shy away from making big decisions. Alot of refs wouldve seen the foul and let play go on. Fair play to him, and I can give referees as much stick as the next man. Should be a cracking final and Trillick will be aware of the energy that lough will bring. Can't wait!

DaleCooper

How full strength are Trillick Vs Lough?

I'd imagine those key men missing for Lough will cost them. Its mad how young some of their guys are, anyone know average ages of panels?

The exuberance of youth might win it but you'd have to go with experience. They're in bonus territory and trillick will be expected to win.

Incredible composure after conceding goals and missing peno. Should be a tough nut to crack.

ShutterinbyDayGAAbyNight

Was gonna head to Healy tonight and watch the junior final because I had f**k all else to be at. Seen the tickets were £16. Guess I'll be doing f**k all.

Wee Roddy

Fair play to Loughmacrory and good luck in the final. Anyone who thinks Carmen are going to go away is wrong. Out of 6 underage finals available in Grade 1 they are in 5 of them.