Noel Hunt claims goal v Italy

Started by thebandit, April 03, 2009, 09:32:44 AM

From Independent.ie

A dispute has arisen today as to who scored the Republic of Ireland's equalising goal against Italy in last night's World Cup qualifier.

The 87th minute goal in Bari rescued a vital Group Eight point for Giovanni Trapattoni's side, and has been credited to captain Robbie Keane.

But Noel Hunt later claimed he was the last man to get a touch to the ball, and confirmed this evening he has taken-up the matter officially.

Tottenham frontman Keane appeared to stab the ball past Gianluigi Buffon during last night's game, but closer examination of the footage would appear to show the Reading striker has some claim to the glory.

"I called the FAI first and then just had to make sure that they had video evidence," Waterford man Hunt told his local radio station Beat 102 103 this evening.

"They think I have grounds for an appeal so it's a matter I will go looking at."

The issue of who got the goal has been a subject of debate in papers and on the internet since full-time last night, and the Reading striker thinks he deserves acknowledgement for it.

"It would be a great start for me for my international career," Hunt said.

"You know I played a friendly there against Poland, so to come on and play some way well and contribute and score a goal against the World Champions in a World Cup qualifier is massive."

Professional footballer in "me, me, me " shocker.........

bcarrier

Clown

there wasnt much chance of us examining it after the match as RTE pundits wud rather talk shite about systems, drunken gamblers in casinos and great irish sports men like ruby walsh and brian o'driscoll than play some replays of the game

Galwaybhoy

Te be honest I couldn't make out who got it when it happened but looking at it again yesterday I thought to myself that it does look like he got it.  If I didn't know who it was awarded to and I was shown the video and asked who scored I would have said Hunt.

How much does an international goal add to a players valuation

I think that clown Keane needs a talking to.  The ponce is captain of his team and a lad scores a goal on his second appaerance and the hoor takes it off him and stands like a twat saluting the crowd as if hes Clinton.  The latest in a long line of twats playing soccor.    

gerrykeegan

On the night I was convinced it was Hunt's goal. Every time I see it I am more convinced its his. I think at best Keane kicked Hunts leg.
2007  2008 & 2009 Fantasy Golf Winner
(A legitimately held title unlike Dinny's)

Galwaybhoy

Quote from: the Deel Rover on April 03, 2009, 10:00:01 AM

Dont know but it doesn't really matter.  Fact is if you scored a goal against the world champions on your debut you wouldn't like someone else to claim it.  That is of course, if Hunt did actually score it (which I thought he did).

But in fairness, I dont think that Keane would be so bad as to claim a goal that he didn't score, he must have felt that he did get enough of a touch on the ball to score it, even if he didn't.

Quote from: Galwaybhoy on April 03, 2009, 10:06:01 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on April 03, 2009, 10:00:01 AM

Dont know but it doesn't really matter.  Fact is if you scored a goal against the world champions on your debut you wouldn't like someone else to claim it.  That is of course, if Hunt did actually score it (which I thought he did).

But in fairness, I dont think that Keane would be so bad as to claim a goal that he didn't score, he must have felt that he did get enough of a touch on the ball to score it, even if he didn't.

my comment was more tongue in cheek than anything GB and i agree with ya if Hunt thought that he scored the goal and there is video evidence he should claim it

Going back to the Bulgaria match was Hunt really fouled in the first minute in the incident that led to the Irish goal? My first reaction was that the Bulgarian defender touched the ball first - can't get a replay of it on you tube.

off the laces

who gives a f*** who scored it fact is we got a point in italy, we all still support the TEAM not Hunt or Keane.
Keeps 'er' straight

Quote from: off the laces on April 03, 2009, 10:27:48 AM
who gives a f*** who scored it fact is we got a point in italy, we all still support the TEAM not Hunt or Keane.

Exactly

The GAA

My reaction on first viewing was that it was it was hunts goal (or rather, yer man beside keane). still looks that way to me on repay.
keane really should have been big enough to give it to him.

At the time I thought it was hard to call and then Hunt was interviewed afterwards saying it was the proudest moment of his life. I thought that was a bit over the top at the time but I see what he was getting at.

Much of a muchness but if the lad scored it he deserves the plaudits and its another slap in the face for the RTE pundits who put the boot into Trap about his subs. It would mean that one got the assist and another scored it.

As someone said, RTE should have a good look at themselves for not even..well...having a good look at it!!!