Maigh Eo vs Tír Eoghain NFL 2009

Started by Fear ón Srath Bán, March 29, 2009, 07:37:02 PM

Redhandfan

It took a long time for this game to get going but, when things did liven up considerably in the second half, it made for some very interesting and enjoyable viewing.  Given the amount of wides we kicked in this match, it was pleasing to come away with some kind of result.  We hit a late scoring burst in the closing minutes of a rather dire first half to somehow put us five up at the break and, although Mayo played much better with the wind in the second half, Tyrone never looked like they would buckle at any stage.  Even when Mayo scored the goal and then went two ahead at one stage in the second half, Tyrone always looked capable of hitting back and could always find that extra gear when required....the sign of a good team.

Much will no doubt be made of the missed opportunites towards the end which could easily have earned Tyrone a victory in this game, but it was very positive nonetheless to see Tyrone finish so strongly, winning all the vital break balls in the closing stages and creating those scoring chances.  Tyrone's ability to strike back every time Mayo looked like they might press on for a win of their own in the second half was also quite pleasing.  I suppose there are those who will look on this result with some degree of suspicion, given that it guaranteed both sides Division One safety, but I never got the impression at any stage that both sets of players were content to play out a draw.  The two teams were certainly going all out for victory in the second half.

For Tyrone, substitute Sean O'Neill and Marty Penrose were the two 'fringe' players who impressed most and could have earned themselves a starting place in the championship with their performances yesterday.  Penrose, in particular, recovered from an indifferent start to the game to give a superb display - winning vital possession for his team and kicking some superb points from play.  His finishing and decision-making has been what has let him down most times at inter-county football but, yesterday, he showed he has what it takes to be really good player at this level.  I just hope he can repeat this form for the big games this summer.  Sean O'Neill, meanwhile, is a player who hardly put a foot wrong in this season's NFL and is deserving of his chance to start come championship time.

As for the more established players, it was great to see Hub and Ryan Mellon lord midfield for Tyrone in the first half yesterday - although both were less effective after the break.  Ricey, Joe McMahon and Enda McGinley slotted back into the team nicely while wing backs Davy Harte and Philly Jordan proved their attacking worth once again.  Although Conor Gormley struggled at times against Aidan O'Shea (Mayo's version of Tommy Walsh), the Tyrone full back's second half point was truly inspirational. Sean Cav and Brian McGuigan both had fairly quiet outings but both can no doubt be relied upon to produce the goods in the white heat of championship.

All in all, an enjoyable day at sunny Castlebar!  That is one impressive looking new stand at McHale Park and will be some spectacle when completed.  Twas also good to see so many from Tyrone make the long trip west on Sunday.....the players will have appreciated the large travelling support!

tyronefan

any idea why mugsy and john divine didnt start

Sean O'Neill, the new man to the set up this year looks very impressive, very comfortable on the ball, athletic, stronf, is a ball player and can take a score ( or two ).

I'd say MH is relieved to have discovered another gem.

Mr. Nakata

Another good away weekend in county Mayo. After a few beverages in different establishments we got settled in Mick Byrne's pub and were welcomed with open arms. A true gent is Mick. I also had the pleasure of chewing the cud with the board's very own FOSB. Top man. After a heavy night at the Cormac fundraiser I was sure Fear would also be in Byrne's for the pre match pints and sure enough, himself and his buddies were in before us. Of course after slagging off Hub and Penrose in the boozer, the 2 lads go out and make us eat our words. Penrose was quality and Hub played his best game in many years. The strong wind made shooting accurately very difficult indeed but I have to say I enjoyed this game immensely. Bar a poor 20 minute spell in the first half, the entertainment was top notch. That big Mayo teenager is some player. Well that's it for 6 or 7 weeks now. The championship lineout will as ever be interesting to predict.

Would anyone care to give a player by player review for the league as I couldn't get to attend any games this year so far?

Sean O'Neill certainly looked the part any time I've saw him on the telly but where can ye see him play? Is he fast enough for Corner back or can he break into that great CHB line?

Will Justy, Dooher & Stevie be fit for End of May & will Armagh's playing down of their chances be worth while?

Great weekend indeed in Castlebar, with a good solid afternoon of footballing entertainment (despite the odd flat passage) and would echo the general sentiments regarding our lads, and in particular the performances of both Penrose and Seán O'Neill (great find). Good to see the rest of them heading in the right direction too, and with six weeks to go before the Clones showdown they should be bubbling nicely. Would have been interesting to see how Justy would have handled young O'Shea, and he will be a handful for most full backs.

Sláinte Mr Nakata, and right back at you, and our own Abbeysider too ;) Mick Byrne is indeed a gentleman, and that is a good spot of his. He wouldn't see you stuck, and he knows well what it takes to deliver a deadly pint of the black stuff. Good to see a decent crowd at the Cormac Trust/Ballintubber gig on the Friday night, and there's a first time for everything (Philomena Begley live...well, we were on holidays!).

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 14, 2009, 09:54:15 AM
Sláinte Mr Nakata, and right back at you, and our own Abbeysider too ;) Mick Byrne is indeed a gentleman, and that is a good spot of his. He wouldn't see you stuck, and he knows well what it takes to deliver a deadly pint of the black stuff. Good to see a decent crowd at the Cormac Trust/Ballintubber gig on the Friday night, and there's a first time for everything (Philomena Begley live...well, we were on holidays!).

Fair play to Philomena, she got the crowd going anyway! I hadnt a clue who she was but sources tell me she was the queen of the ballroom dances years ago. Great to see a big crowd at the fund raiser, I think the proceeds to the Cormac Fund are reaching 17k which is fantastic.

Going back to the game, it was a good in spells, but some of the passages were very bad. I was especially disappointed with the shooting on both sides. I think that Tyrone had 18 wides and we must have had close to that. We also hit post 3 times and hit the crossbar. Any of those scores could have swayed the game perhaps, especially the first half goal chances.

For some reason, going into the game I was sure it would be a draw. Everyone predicted it and even Mickey Harte and Mid-West were making a lot of references to it. It would suit both teams was the line on everyone's lips and it transpired.

I thought Penrose was brilliant throughout the game and he gave Liam O Malley a torrid time. O Malley played Ok in spells, he got in a block down and had a couple of turnovers but Penrose eventually got on top and seemed to drag him around the park.
I said it to people beside me, that Gardiner heading up the pitch was leaving Liam O Malley totally isolated with open country in front of him because Gardiner was out of position for a lot of the game. There were stages in the game when Tyrone were bombing up that wing and nobody was leaving a hand on them. I suppose its one of the things you expect with an attacking wing back but its something I lament about here a lot.

Ball in hand, O Shea caused some panic on the edge of the square. He is able to spin off his man and drive at goal like nobody I have ever seen. He was marking Gormley, who has to be in the top 5 full backs in the county. O Shea at times swatted him aside and bombed for goal. It gives us an extra dimension and option in the full forward line. Some of the balls being kicked in was aimless enough and its something we may need to remedy. But FF suits O Shea down to the ground. He is a big fella, carrying a lot of weight so athleticism is not his game. He was getting good rest periods when the ball was not coming his way and was able to display his explosiveness when he did get possession.

Connor had a quiet enough game, although he broke two bones in his hand so hopefully he will have a speedy recovery. It quite a set back for his ans he was struggling to find form lately.

There is a lot of hype re Kyle Coney, but I think O'Shea will be a better footballer. Not the Coney is going to be no slouch mind you.

Two fantastic talents of the near future.

Quote from: Norf Tyrone on April 14, 2009, 11:47:06 AM
There is a lot of hype re Kyle Coney, but I think O'Shea will be a better footballer. Not the Coney is going to be no slouch mind you.

Two fantastic talents of the near future.

I think they are totally different. O Shea will probably live on the edge of the square and will rely on explosiveness and power and winning high balls.
Kyle is more of a runner and athlete. The last game I was him was the U21 replay in Longford. Nobody could live with him carrying the ball running at defences.

Very different and very talented.

Centre-half forward is Aidan O'Shea's best position. We might not see him there this season but its where he'll play most of his senior football for Mayo. And he may be no Usain Bolt, but he ain't carrying weight either.

Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on April 14, 2009, 01:27:05 PM
Centre-half forward is Aidan O'Shea's best position. We might not see him there this season but its where he'll play most of his senior football for Mayo. And he may be no Usain Bolt, but he ain't carrying weight either.

The weight im referring to is muscle, bulk and natural size, of which he is carrying a bit. When I saw him last year, he played in spells, and is in and out of games. I put this down to stamina because being so big and strong, and being very athletic doesnt really go hand in hand IMO.

We'll agree to disagree chief. He is, as I said, not lightning quick, but he has unbelieavable stamina for a big man.

This thread should be renamed 'Philomena fans - Outed at last'.

The rest of us should make a run for it!

Met her once at the Skylon Hotel in Dublin. She insisted she knew she, but I was having none of it!