Brian Clough

Started by Doogie Browser, March 25, 2009, 10:35:58 PM

My point was not libel and I hope you would have noticed that, but rather that you have judged someone (which is your right) who you have seen on TV many times yet on the other hand will not make comment on a man who plays a sport we all have in common and know inside out and would be considered more your peer than Clough.  I think we are in a better position to make a judgement on a local GAA player than an english soccer manager as we will have had more first hand instances (stories from local press, clubmates who have played with them at college etc) of their behaviour. 
You don't like Clough fair enough, I thought he was a terrific chap altogether who was a bit of an enigmatic character and brightened up the game.

Quote from: Doogie Browser on March 26, 2009, 04:40:40 PM
My point was not libel and I hope you would have noticed that, but rather that you have judged someone (which is your right) who you have seen on TV many times yet on the other hand will not make comment on a man who plays a sport we all have in common and know inside out and would be considered more your peer than Clough.  I think we are in a better position to make a judgement on a local GAA player than an english soccer manager as we will have had more first hand instances (stories from local press, clubmates who have played with them at college etc) of their behaviour. 
You don't like Clough fair enough, I thought he was a terrific chap altogether who was a bit of an enigmatic character and brightened up the game.

Yes, opinions. I did not like him, you did, nothing wrong with that.

But on your first point, I know absolutely nothing about CJ McGourty yet I know plenty more on Brian Clough. I would imagine this is the case for the majority who have posted over the two threads.

new devil

anywere online i can watch this?

new devil

Quote from: Minder on March 26, 2009, 01:49:51 PM
Quote from: ExiledGael on March 26, 2009, 01:42:41 PM
What did he want him to do with Barry? O'Neill is the only manager I'd like to see following Ferguson at United.
Was interesting last night when O'Neill was asked did he see Clough in himself managing nowadays and he replied 'sometimes I hope not'.

Would love to see O'Neill at United, preferably a ten year contract.

Who would  you not like to see at united minder?

thewingedlady

There's a story about Clough that always sticks in my mind. A good friend of mine's da was the secretary of Derry City FC when Clough brought Forest over for a friendly at the Brandywell. When the game was over, Clough walked over to where a couple of the Derry City officials were standing and made it clear that Brian Clough doesn't take his Forest team for anywhere for less than two grand. They were shocked by this because there had never ben an agreement to that effect, but they spent the next hour scampering about trying to get this two grand and, needless to say, he took it and walked out.

Thought it was a bit lousy of him to be honest. I know a lot of famous people make wee appearances here and there and give a wink and say "You'll look after me won't ye?" but I thought that was a bit much.

Not doubting your source winged lady but 2 grand back in the late 70's would have been big big bucks.

As the game was over, he should have looked in him in the eye and said " young man, on yer bike"

Quote from: thewingedlady on March 26, 2009, 08:17:01 PM
There's a story about Clough that always sticks in my mind. A good friend of mine's da was the secretary of Derry City FC when Clough brought Forest over for a friendly at the Brandywell. When the game was over, Clough walked over to where a couple of the Derry City officials were standing and made it clear that Brian Clough doesn't take his Forest team for anywhere for less than two grand. They were shocked by this because there had never ben an agreement to that effect, but they spent the next hour scampering about trying to get this two grand and, needless to say, he took it and walked out.

Thought it was a bit lousy of him to be honest. I know a lot of famous people make wee appearances here and there and give a wink and say "You'll look after me won't ye?" but I thought that was a bit much.
Regardless of the merits of that story (I don't doubt Cloughie liked a backhander) I recall Forest getting great praise in the local press for bringing a full squad to Derry at the time, a time when half of England thought they would get shot or bombed if they ventured into the 6 counties.  Was one of the first Div 1 teams to come to the Brandywell, Utd, Spurs, Man City all followed in later years.

slow corner back

On the subject of cloughie and money there was a famous quote from Terry Venables ( recorded I think) on the transfer of Teddy Sheringham from Forest to Spurs that ( Cloughie likes a bung ). I think it came out in the Alan Sugar v Terry Venables court case although I could be wrong on that.

Quote from: slow corner back on March 26, 2009, 10:10:44 PM
On the subject of cloughie and money there was a famous quote from Terry Venables ( recorded I think) on the transfer of Teddy Sheringham from Forest to Spurs that ( Cloughie likes a bung ). I think it came out in the Alan Sugar v Terry Venables court case although I could be wrong on that.

Pot and kettle if ever there was a case of it.

El Tel is as crooked as they come FFS, a real dodgy cockney, again I couldn't help but like him!!

Quote from: Doogie Browser on March 26, 2009, 10:10:04 PM
Quote from: thewingedlady on March 26, 2009, 08:17:01 PM

Regardless of the merits of that story (I don't doubt Cloughie liked a backhander) I recall Forest getting great praise in the local press for bringing a full squad to Derry at the time, a time when half of England thought they would get shot or bombed if they ventured into the 6 counties.  Was one of the first Div 1 teams to come to the Brandywell, Utd, Spurs, Man City all followed in later years.

I would say that this was mid 80s and at a time when Derry City were generating decent turn stile money. I vaguely remember Cloughie going on English TV after the game and praising Derry City's ability to host the game, and the warmth of the reception he and Forst received. At the time it would not have been the image that the English people had of the town.

Clough was a genius. His genius imo was the way he set his teams out to play, getting the very best out of underperformers (Robertson) and players a bit past their best (Clarke, Lloyd), spotting unknown talent (Birtles), and attracting top names (Shilton, Francis).  I don't know how much the arrogance thing was real or tongue in cheek most of the time. He came across as a bit mad, an eccentric but absolutely enthralling. The time he clipped a few Forest fans who had invaded the pitch suggests that there was something a bit off centre about the man to be fair.  But most of those who played under him seemed a bit in awe of the man and would have done anything for him.  I don't think his success with 2 provincial clubs - Derby and Forest, will ever be matched. Christsake, the man won leagues and European cups with those clubs! The story was the he never got over his own career being cut short and he carried a bit of bitterness about the way he was left on the scrapheap at that time into his managerial career.

I loved the clip with him on stage presenting an award to Trevor Francis, and telling him to take his hands out of his pockets - Francis, the millionaire signing, looked like a wee school boy.  There was another line i heard him use once - him and the wife were having a late night chat about something that he'd said or done that day and she says something along the lines to him, 'Jesus, what did you do that for?' Clough replies 'You can call me Brian when we're in bed love'.  

"If God had intend football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky."

Always loved that quote. Looking forward to the film.

"Clough" the ItV documentary is being repeated on ITV4 now

7pm to 8pm

Is there anywhere in Belfast showing the Damned United? Had a look through the listings a couple of weeks ago but couldn't find anywhere.