Started by Doogie Browser, March 25, 2009, 10:35:58 PM

Quote from: corn02 on March 26, 2009, 10:20:13 AM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on March 26, 2009, 10:17:19 AM
Quote from: bingobus on March 26, 2009, 10:14:24 AM
Quote from: full back on March 26, 2009, 10:13:18 AM
Quote from: corn02 on March 26, 2009, 10:08:51 AM
"I will always remain convinced that those Liverpool fans who died were killed by Liverpool people."
Brian Clough.

Without wanting to start WW3 in here, that is a fact (even if it may be uncomfortable for certain people)

Lads don't hijack this thread with that discussion.
Exactly, this is a Brian Clough appreciation thread.
'I wouldn't say I was the best manager in the country but I am in the top one'

Soory a Brian Clough what?

The thread title says Brian Clough, it says nothing about having to appreciate him.

A gobshite of the highest order and I am amazed at the amount of people bought by the media's love of his cocky attitude.
dont know if you had the pleasure to see his TV interviews at the end of /when he retired from football - on TV.
he was the man I would pay a tv license to watch.
His passion about playing free flowing skilful soccer was obv in these interviews and his arrogance was there to tease and amuse people.
If you had witnessed these (God knows what years they were) you might have changed with your attitude.

RIP Cloughie, thankfully england never gave you the chance!

Quote from: lynchbhoy on March 26, 2009, 10:27:46 AM
"I will always remain convinced that those Liverpool fans who died were killed by Liverpool people."
Brian Clough.

Without wanting to start WW3 in here, that is a fact (even if it may be uncomfortable for certain people)

The thread title says Brian Clough, it says nothing about having to appreciate him.

A gobshite of the highest order and I am amazed at the amount of people bought by the media's love of his cocky attitude.
dont know if you had the pleasure to see his TV interviews at the end of /when he retired from football - on TV.
His passion about playing free flowing skilful soccer was obv in these interviews and his arrogance was there to tease and amuse people.
If you had witnessed these (God knows what years they were) you might have changed with your attitude.

I am not for one second saying he wasn't a great manager and that he didn;t advocate a great brand.

But I just don;t like the man, act or not, he was a pompus twat in my eyes.

Quote from: lynchbhoy on March 26, 2009, 10:27:46 AM
Brian Clough.

Exactly what my Dad used to say LB, def would have made a success of England in that time (late 70's early to mid 80's)

The GAA

Really enjoyed that documentary. everyone contributed brilliantly - particularly McQueen and Giles.

The wife was a very impressive, dignfied woman and was clearly hurt badly by his portrayal in the book. Johnny is bitter about the book too obviously.

Although not explicitly said, its obvious that nigel and ol big ed had a strained relationship for a long time.

i'm not sure i'd appreciate him as my manager but he can obviously get the best out of certain characters and his record with derby and forest is simply unmatchable.

Quote from: Minder on March 26, 2009, 10:23:42 AM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on March 26, 2009, 10:19:52 AM
Quote from: Minder on March 26, 2009, 10:15:32 AM
Quote from: anportmorforjfc on March 26, 2009, 10:13:55 AM

He reminds me of a current day Premier League manager

I wonder who that is?  ::)

Joe Kinnear

EDIT- If any of you have any interest in Clough, "Provided you dont kiss me" by Duncan Hamilton is essential reading.
Didn't read that, read his autobiog about 10 years ago though and it was brilliant.  the man was a walking quote machine.
'Clough i've had enough'
Ah Doogie you will have to get it, Hamilton was a journalist with "The Nottingham Evening Post" (i think) and covered Forest games for years. He got to know Clough well, "warts and all" is how they describe these kinds of books i believe......
Only £4.94 on Amazon so think I will make a purchase today.

Did you see the state of the pitch, for the first leg European Cup semi final between Forest and Cologne at the City Ground? A complete quagmire.

Could you imagine a big game nowadays being played on a pitch like that or ponces like Ronaldo ploughing skillfully through the muck? No, me neither

Quote from: T Fearon on March 26, 2009, 10:50:01 AM
Did you see the state of the pitch, for the first leg European Cup semi final between Forest and Cologne at the City Ground? A complete quagmire.

Could you imagine a big game nowadays being played on a pitch like that or ponces like Ronaldo ploughing skillfully through the muck? No, me neither

Was that the 3-3 game?
You are right though, ponces like Ronaldo or Mc Geady wouldnt be able to plough skillfully through that.

Mickey Linden

Anyone know if this show will be repeated lads?

The documentary also showed once again that John Robertson was one of the best players in the world at that time.  Set up the winner in 1979 EC and scored winner himself in 1980, not many players can claim that in their careers.  A very under-rated player by all accounts at that time because of his nationality and the fact he played for Forest.

glens abu

Quote from: Minder on March 26, 2009, 10:11:06 AM
Quote from: glens abu on March 26, 2009, 09:50:23 AM
Quote from: corn02 on March 26, 2009, 09:14:09 AM
Am I alone in hating the man?

why do you hate him and even though you hate him do you not think he was a great manager and a one off.

He was a great manager, still don't like him though.

This quote did't sit well with me..

Brian Clough.

Also I think he was an arrogant gobshite of the highest order and a bully.

He reminds me of a current day Premier League manager

yeah Rafa and him both very single minded and stubborn also very good European managers but still think Clough was a better manager as Rafa still hasnt won the league but only time will tell,also you have to look at the clubs Clough had his success with.

Because of the money in the game now, feats that Clough achieved will never be matched.
Think it was Forest he took, from close to the bottom of the old 2nd division to Europen champions in about 4 yeras :o

Superb manager

Clough was a genius, and completely mad.  What he said about Hillsborough was unforgivable but if my memory serves me right he was going through a very difficult time on top of everything else. It does not take away from his genius though and what he did with average players, blended in with serious world class players was unreal.  I don't recall much about his early Forest teams but his team built around Pearce, Clough Og and Des Walker played some lovely stuff.  Of all the English players Pearce was always one of my favourites.  But he also took some average players and got them to do the right thing, the likes of Woan, Crosby, Colin Cooper etc.

Also his ability to wind Fergie up was very satisfying :P  The green jumper may be gone, but he left an indelible imprint on my early days watching soccer.

Quote from: full back on March 26, 2009, 11:15:23 AM
Because of the money in the game now, feats that Clough achieved will never be matched.
Think it was Forest he took, from close to the bottom of the old 2nd division to Europen champions in about 4 yeras :o
Superb manager
and took english league and europe by storm - impressive given their lowly funding and how dominant liverpool were in europe/england at that time.

corn - you are obv smarting from that comment clough made about liverpool fans killing liverpool fans. while I dont really see why, thats fair enough - its your opinion. Plenty of people said same and they were liverpool fans. It depends on the context and I cant see that clough was being malicious in any way.

still think that anyone who could see old clough interviews would warm to the guy.

I meant to say, of all current managers I reckon Wenger is the closest to him.

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on March 26, 2009, 11:22:49 AM
I meant to say, of all current managers I reckon Wenger is the closest to him.
Really?  I would have maybe said O'Neill but maybe that is too obvious a connection and explains why I have made that link.