Tír Eoghain vs Doire NFL 2009

Started by Fear ón Srath Bán, March 22, 2009, 10:03:33 PM

Quote from: whiskeysteve on March 29, 2009, 06:17:36 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 29, 2009, 05:37:29 PM
That was a massively improved performance (from Ballybofey), and there was only going to be one winner last night. Absolutely exquisite pass from Brian Mc Guigan leading to the penalty, one of the best I've ever had the privilege of witnessing. Oh how the wine sours though  ;)
Dont agree with that. Had Brown converted that easy free to put Derry ahead the outcome could have been very different.

Perhaps that statement was coloured by the fact that I was never worried last night that Tyrone wouldn't win, despite the very shaky third quarter. Had we lost, of course, that confidence would have been totally misplaced, but I genuinely wasn't.

Although Coldrick tried his best to ruin it, it was £10 well spent, with the added highlight of the Derrytresk Trad band warming the cockles at half time. I was surprised at the crowd in terms of numbers - a decent showing despite the bitterly cold night it was. Was that an eclipse of the moon too?

There was much more to be optimistic about last night than in previous games. Cavanagh, Jordan, Harte, Mugsy, Gormley, Hughes, Mellon and Tommy all looked sharper and are gradually getting up to summer speed. Cavanagh is some act. He played in fits and spurts dictated by himself and when he decided to get involved Derry simply couldn't handle him, often resorting to dragging him down. I think his penalty incident happened when he was just sauntering/strolling back as Derry were building from defence. I remember thinking then that he's still a wee bit short in terms of fitness the way he wasn't rushing to help out the defenders. Tyrone turned the ball over and Cavanagh was brilliantly found in acres of space. He's irreplaceable.

Hub and Mellon worked hard all night but weren't really helped out when they broke the ball. Derry won probably twice as much of midfield ball but that was more to do with the work their half backs and forwards were doing. Hub's point at the end was mightily impressive. Was it 1/1 for him??

Davy Harte was majestic in the first half and knocked over two points from distance when the rest of the side especially McCullagh, Colm Cav, Mugsy, Mellon and Sean were playing hot potato with the ball on the half forward line without threatening. To be fair they had little to target as Cassidy I thought was a little static and always had SML glued to his back. Cassidy and Colm Cav started as a two man FF line but were rarely utilised. I'm still undecided about Colm. He seems a bit awkward at times but doesn't lack confidence or ability. He's probably more of an impact sub.

I thought O'Neill had a great game in the HB line, playing more in Jordan's role with the Model at CHB. He fits in well to the system and didn't look like a newcomer. The two corner backs were solid if not excellent. Gormley had his hands full and probably came out evens. Paddy Bradley is still an excellent footballer and his anticipation of the long ball on top of him was a delight to watch. He rarely lost a ball aimed at him from Bradley or Muldoon. Kielt had his moments but was receiving a bit of a hard time from the Derry crowd. Eoin Bradley was just Eoin. He can win a ball and hold onto possession but often tries to beat his man when a simply delivery would leave a better placed teammate in the clear. I don't think he'll change.

McCullagh seems to be a horses for courses man. Against a tight-marking defence he struggles to find his range and although he shows for every ball he can lose possession by taking a wee bit too much out of it which can be a bit demoralising for the team. On one occasion in the first half he was sent clear by Mellon I think but took 1-2 solos two many and was caught. He's still capable of destroying certain defences but not the Kerry/Derry of this world.

With O'Neill, McGinley, Dooher, Ricey, Justin Mc and Joe (who came on) still to start Mickey has some dilemma on his hands. Who partners McGinley hasn't been answered. He has moved Cassidy away from there with the old hands of Hub/Holmes/Mellon alternating. Joe McMahon is another option. Another is Justin if Mickey's sufficiently happy with O'Neill and Gormley at HB and FB. Mugsy's still tearing around the middle third with a new lease of life but won a couple of crucial balls closer in late on - something that Cassidy wasn't offering.

All-in-all many positives although still nowhere near championship level. As for Derry, I was disappointed. I can't see what Brolly's been waxing about lately. It looked like the same old Derry to me.

aroundincircles

hi oneill who won minors today the hill and derrylaughan do you know

aroundincircles

feck that by how much do you know

whiskeysteve

Quote from: ONeill on March 29, 2009, 08:35:45 PM
It looked like the same old Derry to me.

Still lack that ruthless, inbred, 'go for his balls' mentality
Somewhere, somehow, someone's going to pay: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pPhISgw3I2w

SidelineKick

Thought it wasn't an overly bad game on Saturday night, wasn't overly worried about the win but going into the last 2 mins level and a free to win it I must say I'm disappointed at not coming away with the win.  Being safe is good enough for me though at this stage.

Thought big Enda was very impressive again as were the Bradleys (unfortunately that doesnt include Paul - taken off very early in his defence).  We kicked ourselves out of it in the 2nd half, and a few wayward shots in the first aswell.  Paul Murphy looks to be coming into his own more and more with each game.  Again, Patsy did himself no harm in midfield.  One question - when will Diver ever learn?  He eyed the man (Hughes?) up when he was in the air and hot him as he was landing, making no attempt to disposses him, 30 yards out in front of the goals.  He frustrates me.

A few other observations - Coldrick was extremely whistle-happy and at times ruined the game both ways.

Tommy McGuigan - the incident happened right in front of me, Sean Marty perhaps over enthusiastic in getting the ball from him, and I know Tommy is not this type of player, but there is no place for this type of shit.  I would like to know what he got a black card for???  Again, the linesman forgot to bring his glasses, this happened directly in front of him.  I don't want a witch hunt but if the ref game him a tick, what was it for? It was a straight red.  (Barry McGoldrick did the same v Galway the previous week - gave Joyce a dead leg, in front of the linesman, very stupid and was lucky not to get a red - they need to open the eyes and mouths!)

Owen Mulligan - was impressed with his performance but thought kicking the ball at Sean Marty when he was on the ground was poor form, a man I cannot bring myself to respect.

Tyrone are learning well from Dublin and using the short kickouts to their advantage, really brings the 'keeper into the game and keeps him on his toes.  A few dodgey ones but all in all used it to good effect.

Tyrones finishing was certainly more clinical and had Derry has been as accurate could have won this game (almost) comfortably.

Entertaining night, but as Tyrone well know this result won't count for much.

On a lighter note: when Jordan was taking a free he stole about 10 yards (i think he thought it was being moved forward) and I shouted "where's he going to?!" to which a Tyronie from behind me shouted "Croke Park:D couldn't say much to that, was very witty and quick.
"If you want to box, say you want to box and we'll box"

Great game and great endeavour from the Derry men they gave us a right oul scare. On the way out I was talking to a few Derry men giving out about Coach Cassidy and his Bellaghy paroachialism causing them to lose this game.  They talked about Bellaghys Diver coming on,  Bellaghys Brown being told to take the last free kick and concluded that the kerry game shouldnt have been in Bellaghy.  I dint knowe there was so much anti Bellagh ysentiment in derry ...Is this the start of the cracks in the armoury?  As a wise old man once sung "Its a long way to the top if you wanna rock n roll."       

SidelineKick

Nah, Brown was the obvious choice to hit that free, Bradley, Bradley, Murphy, Kielt all lefties, McGoldrick had gone off injured, was just unfortunate he missed it, I'm sure he was gutted but these things happen.

I can see peoples' frustration with Diver however; I've mentioned him in my last post, he oozes passion but seriously lacks a bit of sense at times.  I certainly respect his enthusiasm and will to play and win every game for whatever team he's playing for but sometimes you have to wonder what goes through his head.  That challenge on (Hughes?) was as senseless a tackle as you will see.

As for the gripe at the Kerry match being in Bellaghy, you were probably just talking to a 'Screen man

I think you are very very unfair on Mulligan - there was a great deal of respect between the players at the end in particular Mulligan who congratulated the goalkeeper on the penalty save.    Dare I suggest these two will meet again at the senior end of the championship.  Derry has hardy bucks in defence, and with Doc in have a sound midfield and a very decent couple of players up front, and a smart manager.  They have all the ingredients to win Ulster this year and maybe have a ping at the big one.. but Tyrone are still a wee bit better.       

SidelineKick

Quote from: rrhf on March 30, 2009, 11:00:52 AM
I think you are very very unfair on Mulligan - there was a great deal of respect between the players at the end in particular Mulligan who congratulated the goalkeeper on the penalty save.    Dare I suggest these two will meet again at the senior end of the championship.  Derry has hardy bucks in defence, and with Doc in have a sound midfield and a very decent couple of players up front, and a smart manager.  They have all the ingredients to win Ulster this year and maybe have a ping at the big one.. but Tyrone are still a wee bit better.       
[/b]

:D you couldn't help yourself. 

Perhaps heat of the moment (2 days later I know) I may be a bit harsh, but he seems more intent on being the centre of attention at times (goading the Hill after scoring against the Dubs), where someone like Tommy McGuigan was just elated to score in AIF and celebrated with his team mates not AT the opposition.  Anyway I'm going off on one, I don't hate the man, or think he's a tr**p (a word being thrown about too much recently).  He's a great talent and scored a fantastic point in the 1st half, had a great view of it.  I still think kicking the ball at a man injured on the ground is very petty and can say alot about the man, the play had been stopped for about 30 seconds at that stage it wasnt spur of the moment, anyway I'm going off on another one  :D

Tyrone showed their class to not panic and they finished in the same style against Dublin.  Credit where credits due.

Since there's a big love-in going on, I might as well join in.

Derry weren't too bad.

the green man