The Many Faces of US Politics...

Started by Tyrones own, March 20, 2009, 09:29:14 PM

Quote from: maigheo on March 11, 2025, 01:14:52 AMYou can bang on about the evil Dems all you want but there is no country on earth that a person like Donald Trump should be elected president.It always seems that you are always trying to justify your support for Trump so you are going the Fox News route by vilifying the Dems and portraying the Lying King as a man of strength.

For 77 Million people who live here who have had it with the Democrats Trump was a better option

Stephen A Smith (look him up if you don't know who he is) said that the Democrats outrageous behavior make Trump look normal

Here's a clip from him speaking just last week

https://youtu.be/zG3n2IeaTPA?si=GRjzgULwYXtZAqaT

https://youtu.be/5Pw65vbgguI?si=-nwakFiTT17mvKFd

Banks of the Bann

Quote from: whitey on March 11, 2025, 09:32:06 AM
Quote from: maigheo on March 11, 2025, 01:14:52 AMYou can bang on about the evil Dems all you want but there is no country on earth that a person like Donald Trump should be elected president.It always seems that you are always trying to justify your support for Trump so you are going the Fox News route by vilifying the Dems and portraying the Lying King as a man of strength.

For 77 Million people who live here who have had it with the Democrats Trump was a better option

Stephen A Smith (look him up if you don't know who he is) said that the Democrats outrageous behavior make Trump look normal

You haven't addressed the point made that the Republican party didn't have to choose Trump.

Quote from: Banks of the Bann on March 11, 2025, 09:14:04 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on March 11, 2025, 09:01:59 AM
Quote from: Banks of the Bann on March 11, 2025, 08:37:23 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on March 11, 2025, 08:09:11 AM
Quote from: Look-Up! on March 11, 2025, 07:50:06 AMCertainly has exposed a huge flaw in the democracy model with media influence and misinformation used as tools of war in elections.

Harris was a bad candidate and the optics of denying there was any sort of decline in Biden's ability to function were a bad look. Americans voted for an "alternative", much like we did in Eurovision when we sent Dustin the Turkey to represent us. Although a bit of a cult here, our feathered hero went down like a lead balloon with our European friends.

We'll see if sanity prevails with current administration but so far it looks like this election will have serious geopolitical repercussions and cause a monumental shift in European policy and future transatlantic relations, long long after the current agitators are pushing up daisies.   

You say that as if it's a bad thing.

The US hasn't been a force for good in the world since WW2.

Unbridled capitalism, the wars, the coups, the support for dictators and despots throughout the world for "strategic" purposes have left too many dead and people left in poverty.

The Europeans also would like to forget their own colonial history when they set themselves up as the moral superiors of the natives throughout the world. And we know how that worked out and is still playing out in certain regions.

It's never a good thing having one "super power" who maintain that "power" with military might so a bit of equilibrium for a while might be a good thing.

The US committed many of the crimes you mention during the Cold War so 'equilibrium' didn't make a difference.

Things are going to get a lot, lot worse going forward with China wanting to exert their power and Russia looking to rebuild their former empire.

How you think that is a good thing is beyond me.

There will also be a new nuclear arms race. Ukraine, Poland, South Korea to name a few will all want nuclear arms and who could blame them.

Edit: not to mention whatever else the Trump regime get up to in the next four years.

China is an interesting one as there's no doubt they are building their military capabilities, but how many Chinese Military bases are surrounding the US and who many US military bases are surrounding China?

what came first?

You think China are only building their military power as a result of US military bases in Asia-Pacific? Who told you that? John Pilger?

Is there a  US plan to invade China now?

China wants to invade Taiwan because of US military bases in the region?

That's the US slant on it alright, but ask yourself why would the US military need so many bases in South Korea, Japan and various islands in the area?

Now ask yourself if China had the same proliferation of Military bases so close to the US Mainland what would the US's response be?

The US gets this mantra of "world peacekeepers" which I'd seriously question.

China wants to invade Taiwan, they may well do, but just how many countries has China actually invaded compared to the US in the last few decades?

Quote from: johnnycool on March 11, 2025, 10:00:07 AM
Quote from: Banks of the Bann on March 11, 2025, 09:14:04 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on March 11, 2025, 09:01:59 AM
Quote from: Banks of the Bann on March 11, 2025, 08:37:23 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on March 11, 2025, 08:09:11 AM
Quote from: Look-Up! on March 11, 2025, 07:50:06 AMCertainly has exposed a huge flaw in the democracy model with media influence and misinformation used as tools of war in elections.

Harris was a bad candidate and the optics of denying there was any sort of decline in Biden's ability to function were a bad look. Americans voted for an "alternative", much like we did in Eurovision when we sent Dustin the Turkey to represent us. Although a bit of a cult here, our feathered hero went down like a lead balloon with our European friends.

We'll see if sanity prevails with current administration but so far it looks like this election will have serious geopolitical repercussions and cause a monumental shift in European policy and future transatlantic relations, long long after the current agitators are pushing up daisies.   

You say that as if it's a bad thing.

The US hasn't been a force for good in the world since WW2.

Unbridled capitalism, the wars, the coups, the support for dictators and despots throughout the world for "strategic" purposes have left too many dead and people left in poverty.

The Europeans also would like to forget their own colonial history when they set themselves up as the moral superiors of the natives throughout the world. And we know how that worked out and is still playing out in certain regions.

It's never a good thing having one "super power" who maintain that "power" with military might so a bit of equilibrium for a while might be a good thing.

The US committed many of the crimes you mention during the Cold War so 'equilibrium' didn't make a difference.

Things are going to get a lot, lot worse going forward with China wanting to exert their power and Russia looking to rebuild their former empire.

How you think that is a good thing is beyond me.

There will also be a new nuclear arms race. Ukraine, Poland, South Korea to name a few will all want nuclear arms and who could blame them.

Edit: not to mention whatever else the Trump regime get up to in the next four years.

China is an interesting one as there's no doubt they are building their military capabilities, but how many Chinese Military bases are surrounding the US and who many US military bases are surrounding China?

what came first?

You think China are only building their military power as a result of US military bases in Asia-Pacific? Who told you that? John Pilger?

Is there a  US plan to invade China now?

China wants to invade Taiwan because of US military bases in the region?

That's the US slant on it alright, but ask yourself why would the US military need so many bases in South Korea, Japan and various islands in the area?

Now ask yourself if China had the same proliferation of Military bases so close to the US Mainland what would the US's response be?

The US gets this mantra of "world peacekeepers" which I'd seriously question.

China wants to invade Taiwan, they may well do, but just how many countries has China actually invaded compared to the US in the last few decades?

China were focused on turning their country into the world's dominant superpower, meanwhile the US is largely a poverty stricken wasteland where only the elite have prospered.  Excellent point ref. US bases in Asia Pacific, imagine Chinese bases littered around the Caribbean and Golf of Mexico.

A yoke like Trump wouldn't be voted onto a Residents Association in Ireland or most of Europe (excl Hungary and possibly Slovakia).
Europeans are mainly grown-up adults with developed front lobes.

Yanks on the other hand..   
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Quote from: Rossfan on March 11, 2025, 10:32:43 AMA yoke like Trump wouldn't be voted onto a Residents Association in Ireland or most of Europe (excl Hungary and possibly Slovakia).

Lol- and you end up with a clown like Varadkar who got elected Taoiseach having received a grand total of 8000 FPV in 2020

Great system alright

Quote from: Banks of the Bann on March 11, 2025, 09:47:16 AM
Quote from: whitey on March 11, 2025, 09:32:06 AM

You haven't addressed the point made that the Republican party didn't have to choose Trump.

They didn't have to and they shouldn't have

He's a disgrace

After January 6th he should have been banned from ever running again

And if the Democrats had put any type of a competent candidate up he'd have been defeated in an historic landslide and we'd never have heard of him again

But they didn't. They put up an unelectable clown clown who picked an even bigger clown as her running mate

So yes-be mad as hell at the Republicans for selecting him in the primary. But the election is decided by the swing voters in the swing states and THEY thought he was a better option than Harris

Quote from: whitey on March 11, 2025, 10:47:36 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on March 11, 2025, 10:32:43 AMA yoke like Trump wouldn't be voted onto a Residents Association in Ireland or most of Europe (excl Hungary and possibly Slovakia).

Lol- and you end up with a clown like Varadkar who got elected Taoiseach having received a grand total of 8000 FPV in 2020

Great system alright
While I didn't love Varadkar, I think your clutching at straws there trying to compare him to Trump. The voting system is the voting system. Trump is a scourge on this planet.

Quote from: trueblue1234 on March 11, 2025, 11:00:50 AM

Great system alright
While I didn't love Varadkar, I think your clutching at straws there trying to compare him to Trump. The voting system is the voting system. Trump is a scourge on this planet.

I'm not clutching at anything

As much as people in Ireland hate Trump-the reality is that 77,000,000 people (who live here) went into a polling booth and actually voted for him

They had a binary choice-Trump or Harris-and 77,000,000 of them choose Trump

77 million chumps voted for Trump, tells you all ya need to know
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: whitey on March 11, 2025, 11:07:04 AM

Great system alright

As much as people in Ireland hate Trump-the reality is that 77,000,000 people (who live here) went into a polling booth and actually voted for him

We know this. That's what us Irish people find so completely crazy. It's a mess of a country at the minute.

Quote from: trueblue1234 on March 11, 2025, 11:14:07 AM
Quote from: whitey on March 11, 2025, 11:07:04 AM

Great system alright

We know this. That's what us Irish people find so completely crazy. It's a mess of a country at the minute.

The point I'm making (which most of you are missing) is that's it's nowhere near as crazy as you all think when the alternative is even worse

Stephen A Smith on Bill Maher said that the Democrats are so extreme they actually make Trump look normal

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 11, 2025, 11:10:50 AM77 million chumps voted for Trump, tells you all ya need to know

When the alternative was even worse it's a very sad situation

I think what you're missing whitey is that swing voters clearly include a lot of fairly non-political, uninformed people. Whether that's uninformed about what Trump was promising, or uninformed about the real world implications of what he was promising, I guess will vary from person to person.

If you want to make an argument on the merits that they were in fact correct and that Trump and the upheaval he is currently delivering on are an empirically better option than what Harris was promising and would have brought knock yourself out.

Quote from: J70 on March 11, 2025, 11:45:57 AMI think what you're missing whitey is that swing voters clearly include a lot of fairly non-political, uninformed people. Whether that's uninformed about what Trump was promising, or uninformed about the real world implications of what he was promising, I guess will vary from person to person.

If you want to make an argument on the merits that they were in fact correct and that Trump and the upheaval he is currently delivering on are an empirically better option than what Harris was promising and would have brought knock yourself out.

Ah......so the swing voters who voted for Trump were uninformed, unlike the well informed people who voted for Harris

And while the same swing voters were "well informed" when they voted for Joe in 2020, somehow became "uninformed" and then voted for Trump in 2024

Makes perfect sense