The Many Faces of US Politics...

Started by Tyrones own, March 20, 2009, 09:29:14 PM

Quote from: trileacman on July 30, 2024, 12:44:59 AM
Quote from: whitey on July 29, 2024, 09:07:25 PM
Quote from: Look-Up! on July 29, 2024, 08:45:07 PMA lot of talk from some quarters about America not ready for a female president, but Hilary won the popular vote even though she wasn't very likeable to a lot of voters and basically called out a third of the electorate before a vote was cast with her deplorable nonsense.

If Harris doesn't act the clown and comes across as semi competent, doesn't score any own goals on the sensitive topics, I think she'll run it very close or get in. Trump did himself a lot of damage with a lot of middle grounders after the Capitol nonsense. 

Harris ran in the Democratic Primary in 2020 and veered to the extreme left

At that time she was for: defunding the police, giving free healthcare to "undocumented" migrants, abolishing private health insurance, abolishing ICE etc

She was tagged as being the most liberal Senator in the US Senate-even to the left of Bernie Sanders (who's a Socialist)

https://youtu.be/Spc_hRIGB8M?si=cHwz9Bin3NM_R5Md

She's a complete clown, but Trump and Vance are even bigger clowns
Quote from: whitey on July 29, 2024, 02:46:20 PM
Quote from: J70 on July 29, 2024, 10:41:46 AM
Quote from: whitey on July 29, 2024, 01:03:16 AMhttps://www.dailywire.com/news/senator-warren-on-making-millions-of-illegal-aliens-u-s-citizens-kamala-harris-will-get-that-done

If the Republicans have JD Vance-I present to you Elizabeth Warren

This could cost Harris the election

If Harris echoes that, then yes, she'll have a big problem. They haven't even been able to get the Dreamers over the line. I expect she'll stay well away from the citizenship stuff. She's vulnerable enough as things stand on the border without scoring an own goal like that.

(Believe it or not) I'm already so fed up of Trump I might vote for Kamala

In what way are you fed up with him?

Don't really care either way in this one but personally I feel Trump may force a settlement to the Ukrainian war, one that's politically advantageous to both the Americans and Ukrainians.

The war is at an impasse and innocent Ukrainians are being killed and victimised for no particular purpose. With war-weariness setting in its much better for them to negotiate and end to the war and build themselves up again with stronger Western ties.

I fear the Democrats would pursue an Iraq/Afghanistan/Syria/Vietnam approach as they did previously. Where they're not prepared to support the countries enough for them to win but also refuse to compromise because of political expediency at home in America. Basically they're content to see millions of non-Americans suffer through desperate civil war just so they can pretend to American voters they're on the "right side of history". A policy not strictly restricted to the Democrats but just currently I doubt their commitment to affecting any sizeable change in the Ukrainian stalemate.

Highly doubtful. Trump led an anti-Ukraine smear campaign throughout his presidency and pushed a litany of false claims about them.

Father Murphy

Innocent Ukrainians have been murdered and victimised since 2014. By Russia.

Trump could force negotiations and a settlement but it would only favour Russia. The perpetrator of this genocidal war.

Putin will then be emboldened. Your grand plans for less war will lead to more war. Watch out Moldova and the Baltics. And Ukraine again, when they have consolidated their gains and rebuilt their military.

Ukraine needs more weaponry and their hands untied. Those are the only negotiations that Russia understands. Western handwringing and panty wetting over arming Ukraine has cost Ukraine tens of thousands of lives of their soldiers and civilians.

Western politicians should hang their heads in shame.

A gaff by Trump or is he feeding the conspirisy theorists?

Harris's VP pick has sent the weirdos into another tailspin! This is glorious!

"I had 1% inflation. I had actually no inflation. Because if you look at the categories we had just about no inflation. But I had a very minor ... I I actually had a positive inflation, it was a perfect number. Because you don't want zero. I mean I'm not going to give you a whole course in economics."

Donald Trump.

Is America not heading for a recession?

"Kamala Harris. You know, it's interesting, nobody really knows her last name if you ask people 'Do you know her last name?' Nobody has any idea what it is. Harris, it's like Harris. I don't know how the hell did this happen"

Donald Trump

Quote from: Eamonnca1 on August 10, 2024, 06:12:39 AM"Kamala Harris. You know, it's interesting, nobody really knows her last name if you ask people 'Do you know her last name?' Nobody has any idea what it is. Harris, it's like Harris. I don't know how the hell did this happen"

Donald Trump

Should that not be in the WTF thread?

Vice presidents never got much press until LBJ really.  Unless he made a big gaff like spelling things wrong.

Mourne Red

https://x.com/nicksortor/status/1821962041646596216?s=46&t=zMI0pHqP8aYtYYerofczvg

Kamala just as bad.. Surely there should be some sort of IQ test needed to become president

Quote from: Mourne Red on August 10, 2024, 10:54:17 AMhttps://x.com/nicksortor/status/1821962041646596216?s=46&t=zMI0pHqP8aYtYYerofczvg

Kamala just as bad.. Surely there should be some sort of IQ test needed to become president

She is coloured, a woman, a Democrat, not Trump. So she will get load of leeway on being a bit stupid, silly and not up to the Job.

It's kind of frightening the Candidates that end up as front runners. Of course it's all a side-show distraction from what is really going on.

Look-Up!

Apparently they've agreed to a debate. Doubt there'll be much policy discussed.

Quote from: From the Bunker on August 10, 2024, 11:17:30 AM
Quote from: Mourne Red on August 10, 2024, 10:54:17 AMhttps://x.com/nicksortor/status/1821962041646596216?s=46&t=zMI0pHqP8aYtYYerofczvg

She is coloured, a woman, a Democrat, not Trump. So she will get load of leeway on being a bit stupid, silly and not up to the Job.

It's kind of frightening the Candidates that end up as front runners. Of course it's all a side-show distraction from what is really going on.

PSA

In the States, You can say shes a person of Color

Describing someone as Coloured is one step away from calling then the N word in the world we live in

Quote from: From the Bunker on August 10, 2024, 11:17:30 AM

So what's REALLY going on?