Kildare vs. Armagh Sun. March 22

Started by Oraisteach, March 15, 2009, 05:23:12 PM

Quote from: Oraisteach on March 19, 2009, 08:07:48 PM
I'd be stunned if he didn't get a rousing welcome.

Nothing against McDonnell, but in reality he and Grimley sould be at the helm.
We should organise a gaaboard led standing ovation!! Two men without whom we wouldn't have had Sam.

charlie stubbs

Quote from: Orior on March 16, 2009, 03:55:06 PM
I think McKeown is too small for county football. How would he ever fair against the Kerry ff line?

Aaron Kernan, McKeever and Duffy on the half.

Vernon and Toner in the middle, but bring on McKenna with 20 mins to go.

Half forwards Martin O'Rourke Stephen Kernan Brian Mallon.

Where is Paddy McKeever? He's an option for left full forward. Henderson's one match bubble is burst.

thought that from seeing the u21 game last night.played fb did well but cavan didnt exploit his lack of size in that area.  team i would like to see championship v tyrone  doubtful is though

hearty(sorry corn)

mallon mckeever donaghy

ak    aor  duffy

juan charles    mcgrane

mor sk toal

mallon

clarke stevy

woud like mckenna to get a chance v kildare and paul kernan in fb line.  dont think finn mo be up to it against tyrone would love be proved wrong though.  would like toal and mallon t get a good run in last few games of league 2 great talents.  i would say mcnamees early good form wont count after stinker against crokes

The GAA

Quote from: qub la la la on March 19, 2009, 07:17:44 PM
if cross players are available i'd play p kernan, p mckeown and a kernan in the defence and prob both sk and tk in the forwards. think mckenna would most likely come on to partner toner in the middle.

I fail to see why you are regarding these cross players so highly at county level yet. McKeown has potential and was solid for the u21s on wed night but expecting him to come straight into the senior team, unproven, for a debut ahead of lads who have been doing well at this level is nonsensical. aaron is provn and should come straight in. tony k hasn't been great for his club and showed no evidence of being good enough last year. he'll not be starting ahead of any regulars either i douby. steven k isn't getting on his club team yet you're going to start him in a pivotal position for armagh?

Goats Do Shave

It's possible that the only player better than Stephen is John Mac...

Stephen Kernan is a bit of conundrum. Great at runing with the ball, has coolness and poise when shooting, but needs the ball played into his lap, otherwise drifts out of the game. Cant we send him on a boxing course?

The GAA

Quote from: Goats Do Shave on March 20, 2009, 10:44:49 AM
It's possible that the only player better than Stephen is John Mac...

Cross can't fin room for him anywhere in the half forward line? he didn't play centre forward last year for armagh but was still on the tam

Kildare management have gone with an unchanged starting 15 to face the Orchard county on Sunday at St. Conleths Park. Team as follows:

1.  Shane McCormack (Allenwood)
2.  Andriu MacLochlainn (Ellistown)
3.  Kevin O'Neill (Moorefield)
4.  Hugh McGrillen (Celbridge)
5.  Mark Scanlon (Round Towers)
6.  Brian Flanagan (Johnstownbridge)
7.  Michael Conway (Nurney)
8.  Killian Brennan (Suncroft)
9.  Dermot Earley (Sarsfields)
10.Eamonn Callaghan (Naas)
11.Padraig O'Neill (St. Laurences)
12.Ronan Sweeney (Moorefield)
13.James Kavanagh (Ballymore)
14.Ken Donnelly (Ellistown)
15.John Doyle (Allenwood)

soory dont see sk as a starter, put hi on with 15 mins to go

The GAA

Are ye gonna give us a kildare insight there dinny?

Much talk of the Geezer / Grimley factor down your way?

Goats Do Shave

Kevin O'Neill is a fine footballer!

Quote from: The GAA on March 20, 2009, 10:22:49 AM
Quote from: qub la la la on March 19, 2009, 07:17:44 PM
if cross players are available i'd play p kernan, p mckeown and a kernan in the defence and prob both sk and tk in the forwards. think mckenna would most likely come on to partner toner in the middle.

I fail to see why you are regarding these cross players so highly at county level yet. McKeown has potential and was solid for the u21s on wed night but expecting him to come straight into the senior team, unproven, for a debut ahead of lads who have been doing well at this level is nonsensical. aaron is provn and should come straight in. tony k hasn't been great for his club and showed no evidence of being good enough last year. he'll not be starting ahead of any regulars either i douby. steven k isn't getting on his club team yet you're going to start him in a pivotal position for armagh?

But if he isn't proven, when will he get the chance to proove himself? Ideally the McKenna Cup but since this wasn't possible we need to have a look at some of the Cross players over the next couple of matches. While the league is important, its the championship and knowing our strongest team to play Tyrone that McDonnell needs to focus on.

The GAA

I'd suggest that the opportunities to prove oneself are severly curtailed by not making yourself available til over half way through the league. those who have been training and waiting for opportunities should be higher up the queue

QuoteAre ye gonna give us a kildare insight there dinny?

What are you looking for, it's taking a while but McGeeney and Grimley have got a nice blend of Kildare Flair and Northern Steel going we learned a lot from the draw with Cork a game we should have won but the experiencing of losing that lead showed against Monagahan when we closed the game out.  We tend to move the ball very quickly into the forwards and Kildare are using the foot pass a lot more and young Conway a converted forward is one of the main distributors in the half back line. Our defence is very tenacious and we are giving away very few frees but our biggest impovement is in the scoring we had 10 different scorers last week and Alan Smith, James Kavanagh, Pauric O'Neil and Eamon 'Leper' O'Callaghan are all helping to take the scoring burden of Johnny Doyles shoulders they're really playing with great confidence, attitude and belief and so far it's been a pleasure to watch.

Definitely something that has Geezer written all over it is that the players spent Nov and Dec training for a boxing tournament and their core strength and fitness really has come on leaps and bounds.

Anyone with half a brain in Kildare knew this was the year to judge the two boys and I think everyone realises we are on the right track but nobody is looking beyond the Biffo's no better county to turn us over.

The GAA

In some ways its a pity this game isn't in armagh as i think the two boys would get a great reception.

From the limited bits and pieces i've seen of kildare - particularly last sunday's game - kildare are playing the brand of football i'd like to see armagh playing

Quote from: The GAA on March 20, 2009, 02:31:43 PM

In some ways its a pity this game isn't in armagh as i think the two boys would get a great reception.

From the limited bits and pieces i've seen of kildare - particularly last sunday's game - kildare are playing the brand of football i'd like to see armagh playing
i would just like to see armagh playing a brand of football as we seem to have no fluency whatsoever, if we take cmck  and clarke out of the side we would be a pretty poor outfit managed by a guy who seems bereft of ideas