The OFFICIAL Liverpool FC thread - RIP Diogo

Started by Gabriel_Hurl, February 05, 2009, 03:47:16 PM

Another interesting stat:

Jordan Henderson, Luka Modric & Samir Nasri have all created 110 PL goalscoring chances since Aug 2009

Ah lads ye are just teeing up ross4life for a barrage of stats!

Quote from: ludermor on July 15, 2011, 09:19:27 AM

I was thinking the same myself!
Nordie Tayto is shite

Quote from: ludermor on July 15, 2011, 09:19:27 AM

The only stat he has contains the number 19

EagleLord

Stats are stats though lads, hard to argue with them. I was iffy about the deal, but having read that on football 365 i was kinda convinced. Makes sense i suppose too like, in a choice between mata and downing, a choice between a young techically gifted player yes but untested in prem, may take a while to settle into league, fast winger dribbling winger, vs a player who is experienced in the league, knows how to play in it, is consistant in his assists and cossing and will take no time to settle in...easy enough choice.

Liverpool have completed the signing of Stewart Downing from Aston Villa.
Nordie Tayto is shite

new devil

Are the players yous are signing really any better than what you's have got?

Quote from: new devil on July 15, 2011, 10:15:14 PM
Are the players yous are signing really any better than what you's have got?

Is Ashely Young and Jones any better than what United already have?
Nordie Tayto is shite

Roll on the 13th August - the banter between the mancs and the scousers is first class, comedy gold !!

new devil

Yea but united don't have to improve much.. And I'm not trying to wind you up it was a serious question!! Will Charlie Adam start in CM and in place of who?

Quote from: new devil on July 15, 2011, 10:19:46 PM
Yea but united don't have to improve much.. And I'm not trying to wind you up it was a serious question!! Will Charlie Adam start in CM and in place of who?

I know it was a serious question,I wasn't get wound up I was just asking the same to you.
As I said in a previous post for long enough Liverpool were known as a one man team  and we now have proper depth to the squad also it's  a long season and there will be injuries,suspensions,players losing form etc so it's great there is real quality to call on now.

I think Adam will prove to be a bargain and I think he will be our best buy of the summer.
Nordie Tayto is shite

Quote from: laoislad on July 15, 2011, 10:25:20 PM

I know it was a serious question,I wasn't get wound up I was just asking the same to you.
As I said in a previous post for long enough Liverpool were known as a one man team  and we now have proper depth to the squad also it's  a long season and there will be injuries,suspensions,players losing form etc so it's great there is real quality to call on now.

I think Adam will prove to be a bargain and I think he will be our best buy of the summer.

is that not a bit harsh on Gerrard, he gave Torres a decent hand at times !!

Quote from: Hoof Hearted on July 15, 2011, 10:28:46 PM
Quote from: laoislad on July 15, 2011, 10:25:20 PM

is that not a bit harsh on Gerrard, he gave Torres a decent hand at times !!

Forest could probably get Torres on the cheap now. ;)
Nordie Tayto is shite

if he aint good enough for liverpool he aint good enough for us !

Stewart Downing today spoke of his elation at completing his transfer to Liverpool and insisted the Reds were the only club he was interested in joining this summer.

The England international put pen to paper on a long-term deal with the club on Friday to tie up his switch from Aston Villa.

Now Downing can't wait to get his Liverpool career up and running and has set his sights on helping bring silverware back to Anfield.

"It's a great feeling and I'm very happy to be here," the 26-year-old told Liverpoolfc.tv. "It's been a long time coming and I've had to wait a few weeks, but I'm really pleased to be here.

"With the tradition, the manager and the players they have here, there was a big temptation to come here and once I knew of their interest, there was only one place I wanted to go."

He added: "It will be a great feeling to run out at Anfield. It's always nice to come and play here. The atmosphere is always great and the fans are brilliant.

"When I wanted to come to Liverpool, it was the first thing I thought of - playing at Anfield in front of those great fans. I'm really looking forward to it."

Downing became Liverpool's fourth major signing of a busy summer so far, following in the footsteps of Jordan Henderson, Charlie Adam and Alexander Doni.

And the winger is determined to repay Kenny Dalglish's faith in bringing him to Merseyside.

On his aims for his Reds career, Downing said: "It would be nice to win something. I'm sure that's the same objective for everyone, not just me personally.

"My aim is to be in the team, to play well and give something back because the manager has pushed the boat out to get me here, so hopefully I can give him something back."

Downing's acquisition significantly bolsters the options at Dalglish's disposal for 2011-12, with the new signing capable of operating comfortably on either flank.

He admits, however, that he'll be happy to fill in wherever the gaffer sees fit.

Downing said: "It depends on where the manager sees me playing. Last season at Aston Villa I played on the right, I can play on the left.

"Getting a few goals and a few assists for the lads up front, that's what I'm hoping for."