The OFFICIAL Liverpool FC thread - RIP Diogo

Started by Gabriel_Hurl, February 05, 2009, 03:47:16 PM

Quote from: laoislad on May 16, 2011, 12:13:54 PM
Would it not make more sense to give it to the team finishing 2nd in the fair play leaderboard?

That's the way BBC cover the story, but they also link it to the PL fair play table that's two weeks out of date so..

Quote from: Norf Tyrone on May 16, 2011, 12:11:50 PM
Quote from: deiseach on May 16, 2011, 11:16:20 AM
Didn't see that coming. Oh well. A rake of Saturday kickoffs will make getting to matches next season a whole lot easier

Don't speak too soon.

England have topped the fair play league and get an extra place in Europe. Spurs currently top the fair play league, but if they finish 5th they'll not need it. So it'll go to the team coming 6th. That team starts in the opening qualifying round. In June!

According to SKY!

Are you sure because according to them earlier Fulham were no 1 candidates to win the fair play option. I would be happy to be in Europe as it would have its benefits for playing youngsters but I can also see the benefit of being able to focus on domestic competition. It is a win win situation in some ways as no matter what it will be beneficial.

Lads as regards the United fans on here, leave them at it. I recall being at school giving Man U fans serious grief over going 27 years without a title. Then again I was only 15 at the time :P. The other thing too lads is in real terms it has taken them 47 years to get ahead of Liverpool and I doubt it will take us as long to catch up again :D

Didn't see that coming. Oh well. A rake of Saturday kickoffs will make getting to matches next season a whole lot easier

Don't speak too soon.

England have topped the fair play league and get an extra place in Europe. Spurs currently top the fair play league, but if they finish 5th they'll not need it. So it'll go to the team coming 6th. That team starts in the opening qualifying round. In June!

According to SKY!

The Beeb are disputing that, the place goes to the team top of the Fair Play rankings and if they've already qualified it goes to the team next in the rankings which at the moment is Fulham. I should go on the record as saying that I'd rather Liverpool qualified for Europe than didn't qualify, even if that meant slogging through some Intertoto Cup-style qualification.

Quote from: Norf Tyrone on May 16, 2011, 12:16:40 PM
Quote from: laoislad on May 16, 2011, 12:13:54 PM
Would it not make more sense to give it to the team finishing 2nd in the fair play leaderboard?

That's the way BBC cover the story, but they also link it to the PL fair play table that's two weeks out of date so..
Just reading a twitter link to a Brit newspaper that says its between Fulham and Blackpool for that UEFA fair play spot.
Nordie Tayto is shite

mrsandman

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 16, 2011, 12:22:49 PM

Don't speak too soon.

According to SKY!

Are you sure because according to them earlier Fulham were no 1 candidates to win the fair play option. I would be happy to be in Europe as it would have its benefits for playing youngsters but I can also see the benefit of being able to focus on domestic competition. It is a win win situation in some ways as no matter what it will be beneficial.

Lads as regards the United fans on here, leave them at it. I recall being at school giving Man U fans serious grief over going 27 years without a title. Then again I was only 15 at the time :P. The other thing too lads is in real terms it has taken them 47 years to get ahead of Liverpool and I doubt it will take us as long to catch up again :D

I would seriously doubt liverpool will win the premiership within the next 15 years...and man united will probably win 4 or 5 more within that time!  No matter what magic kenny dalglish works, he still won't be able to emulate the liverpool teams of the 70s/80s, they havnt got the squad to compete with the top teams, if you take away there best 13/14 players thers not a lot more who can play at the top level!

Liverpool fans are trying to hide the hurt of there most bitter rivals overtaking them as the most successful team in domestic football by believing the hype surrounding kenny dalglish, hes no miracle worker and now that his 'honeymoon period' has elapsed, we'll get to see how good liverpools title challenge can really be. 

I agree kenny has done well since he took over, but he hasnt got enough to compete with sir alex.
Liverpools great days are behind them, there are 5 better sides in the PL man utd, man city, tottenham, arsenal & chelsea.

The simple fact is that liverpool are nowhere near a trophy this season, and itl be a long time before the can be regarded as genuine contenders by anyone but you own deluded fans!!
Constipated People Don't Give A crap.

Quote from: mrsandman on May 16, 2011, 12:40:23 PM
I would seriously doubt liverpool will win the premiership within the next 15 years...and man united will probably win 4 or 5 more within that time

You're entitled to your opinion but trying to look that far into the future is just silly

mrsandman

Quote from: deiseach on May 16, 2011, 12:49:45 PM
I would seriously doubt liverpool will win the premiership within the next 15 years...and man united will probably win 4 or 5 more within that time

You're entitled to your opinion but trying to look that far into the future is just silly

The now most successful team in Britain didnt win it for 27 years  ;)

Liverpool havnt won the premier league in the 19 seasons its been running, Man united have won 12!

They havnt won the league since the 89/90 season

Does my prediction seem so silly now?

Quote from: mrsandman on May 16, 2011, 01:07:32 PM

Liverpool havnt won the premier league in the 19 seasons its been running, Man united have won 12!

Oh now you put it that way,not silly, absolute moronic !
What age are you ?

mrsandman

Quote from: spuds on May 16, 2011, 01:09:23 PM

Oh now you put it that way,not silly, absolute moronic !
What age are you ?

Dont play the age card because you know the facts are there if you'd just take off your scouse tinted glasses, Liverpool said united would never win it 18 times, theyv'e won in 19!

Stranger things have happened  ;)

Yes. You can't even get a basic fact like the length of time Man Utd went without winning the League right

supersub

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 16, 2011, 12:22:49 PM

Don't speak too soon.

According to SKY!

I would seriously doubt liverpool will win the premiership within the next 15 years...and man united will probably win 4 or 5 more within that time!  No matter what magic kenny dalglish works, he still won't be able to emulate the liverpool teams of the 70s/80s, they havnt got the squad to compete with the top teams, if you take away there best 13/14 players thers not a lot more who can play at the top level!

Liverpool fans are trying to hide the hurt of there most bitter rivals overtaking them as the most successful team in domestic football by believing the hype surrounding kenny dalglish, hes no miracle worker and now that his 'honeymoon period' has elapsed, we'll get to see how good liverpools title challenge can really be. 

I agree kenny has done well since he took over, but he hasnt got enough to compete with sir alex.
Liverpools great days are behind them, there are 5 better sides in the PL man utd, man city, tottenham, arsenal & chelsea.

The simple fact is that liverpool are nowhere near a trophy this season, and itl be a long time before the can be regarded as genuine contenders by anyone but you own deluded fans!!

Another Liverpool obsessed Manc then. Serious issues when it comes to celebrating a historic title if you have to go to Liverpool fans and gloat/put them down as usual.

I don't think any Liverpool fans are really being bitter about utd winning it, don't think much would be said at all if UTD fans didn't laud it in liverpools faces instead of getting on celebrating with their own fans. Have no doubt it won't take Liverpool long to get back challenging.

As for Kenny and his 'magic'. He has settled the team and club and got them playing well again. 10 wins in last 13 is testament to that. No one is going to win every game and as for not winning under pressure, they beat utd an Chelsea, and it is the lesser teams where Liverpool slip up in recent seasons, like the fulhams & birminghams etc, Kenny has this element to work on too Which has prove successful in the short term.

Obviously next season is different and there will be more expectations but just because they lose a game for 5th place to Spurs at the end of the season doesn't mean they are never going to win under pressure, loads of balls. If they had won there would be another put down on the go from utd as usual, so not really worried about that at this stage. As long as Kenny keeps improving the team on the pitch and it is stable off the pitch, we have come a long way in the last year or two.

Don't know if anyone else has posted this:

You have to laugh. If the roles were reversed I'd think this was ace

supersub

I thought it was very good. That's the sort of slagging that's funny.

Quote from: deiseach on May 16, 2011, 03:41:23 PM
Don't know if anyone else has posted this:

You have to laugh. If the roles were reversed I'd think this was ace

Apparently it was only up for about 20 seconds before it fell onto the Spurs fans below. The lads unfurled it and quickly ran for their lives back out the ground. Must have gotten a ticket from a tout.