The OFFICIAL Liverpool FC thread - RIP Diogo

Started by Gabriel_Hurl, February 05, 2009, 03:47:16 PM

Quote from: Goats Do Shave on May 21, 2009, 11:21:27 AM
Settle yourself Corn! Now you arguing over the definition of the word 'rant'!
QuoteTo speak or write in an angry or violent manner

To divert your the money question back like that, doesn't get over the fact that the reason UTD have been able to spend money is because they're a well run business. By the way - I'd love you to name the players sold that were worth their place!?

If you'd prefer the 11 - 0 scoreline we'll use that...  ;D

The article is the truth? - It's Opinion, simple as! & the article doesn't hurt, don't be silly! - I refer you to my previous scoreline statement!  ;)

So in that case you will 100% agree that Ferguson was on a rant too then?

Players that were worth their place in the squad? Cisse, Crouch, Finnan, Bellamy, Murphy, Hamann, Baros.

And yes you also seem to agree that it was hypocritical of United fans to suddenly revert back to 18-all. Consistency would have been nice. Apparently only Premierships counted, despite pissing on the seven teams who won league for United before the Premiership, it is weird that all leagues suddenly count.

Quote from: Hound on May 21, 2009, 12:06:43 PM
Quote from: corn02 on May 21, 2009, 10:25:00 AM
And while we are on media articles...

(Daily Mail)

Liverpool goalkeeper Pepe Reina last night added more fuel to the controversy over Alonso's possible departure by hailing his form as the main reason for the Merseyside club running United so close in this season's title race.

Reina said: 'Xabi is the player who always seems to have the ball at his feet. He has shown repeatedly that he can pass it five yards or 45, and every time it is just as good, just as accurate.

'This has been his best season so far for Liverpool, and that was the reason why we managed to push United so far in the title race.'

:D :DCan someone please tell me how the journalist deciphered those comments to mean he is going?
I'm sure the players don't want Xabi to go - but I don't think Benitez and Alonso's relationship has ever been the same since Xabi chose to miss an important match because his wife was due to go into labour.

Selling Xabi might be difference between having a £20m summer transfer kitty or a £40-45m one, which is presumably why Benitez might contemplate it. It is worrying seeing the speculation in the papers, I'd like to think there'd be others we could offload to raise some cash if necessary.

Agreed, but my amazement was more about how the journalist got the story from those quotes.

Quote from: Over the Bar on May 21, 2009, 10:37:22 AM
LOL

I just read Kenny Archers article.   You can actually feel the bitterness in the words as you read it.   The Irish News sports editor must have been off the day that diatribe slipped thru the net.

The bit that takes the biscuit form me is where he states that Ferguson must be congratulated for "having pipped Liverpool to the title for the first time in his career".    lol   Don't write on an empty head Kenny!  ;D

Is it his fault you a)totally misinterpreted or b) did not read the whole article?

He was on about the top two teams in England being involved in the Premiership title race for the first time since its conception. gain, not his fault if you were unable to pick up on this.

That article by Archer reminds me of the shite arguments you'd have at school when you were 14/15.  Or indeed most of the petty rantings of Liverpool/ Manchester United fans on this board.

Quote from: Rav67 on May 21, 2009, 01:55:51 PM
That article by Archer reminds me of the shite arguments you'd have at school when you were 14/15.  Or indeed most of the petty rantings of Liverpool/ Manchester United fans on this board.

f**k back off to your Celtic thread then  :)

Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on May 21, 2009, 09:45:03 AM
Quote from: corn02 on May 21, 2009, 09:36:52 AM
Quote from: AFS on May 20, 2009, 11:38:01 PM
Quote from: corn02 on May 20, 2009, 10:23:19 PM
Very good article by Kenny Archer in the Irish News ytoday, fairly balanced and really takes apart this whole Benitez bad, Ferguson good myth.

Stew, after Liverpool beat United 4-1 Ferguson threw out some false figures about Liverpool's spending, so he must be an arrogant p***k too.

When Archer writes about Liverpool its anything but balanced. It was a poor article that covered nothing that hasn't been done to death in the last 2 or 3 months and though he made several accurate points, I thought on the whole it came across as very bitter.

Why because he didn;t come out and say good old Fergie and Rafa is a ranting lunatic like the red tops?

Come on Corn, kenny Archer is about as balanced when it comes to liverpool as yourself and Laoislad.

Thats funny coming from you  :D

Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on May 21, 2009, 01:56:48 PM

Yeah!!!!!!

Quote from: The Real Laoislad on May 21, 2009, 01:58:08 PM
Very good article by Kenny Archer in the Irish News ytoday, fairly balanced and really takes apart this whole Benitez bad, Ferguson good myth.

Stew, after Liverpool beat United 4-1 Ferguson threw out some false figures about Liverpool's spending, so he must be an arrogant p***k too.

When Archer writes about Liverpool its anything but balanced. It was a poor article that covered nothing that hasn't been done to death in the last 2 or 3 months and though he made several accurate points, I thought on the whole it came across as very bitter.

Why because he didn;t come out and say good old Fergie and Rafa is a ranting lunatic like the red tops?

Come on Corn, kenny Archer is about as balanced when it comes to liverpool as yourself and Laoislad.

I don't get paid to rationally debate the matter though do I?

Quote from: corn02 on May 21, 2009, 01:58:30 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on May 21, 2009, 01:56:48 PM

Yeah!!!!!!
A bit of unity now I see.  My work here is done.

Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on May 21, 2009, 01:59:32 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on May 21, 2009, 01:58:08 PM

I don't get paid to rationally debate the matter though do I?

Personally I thought it was very well rationed. Better than the likes of the Sun and the Mail who sit and brownnose one of the two and find one man's rant romantic and another man's revolting.

Quote from: corn02 on May 21, 2009, 02:05:51 PM

Personally I thought it was very well rationed. Better than the likes of the Sun and the Mail who sit and brownnose one of the two and find one man's rant romantic and another man's revolting.

Archer described Rafa's press conference before the Stoke match as 'Benitez's carefully-considered and calmly-delivered critique'

Are these quotes below carefully considered?

Quote"But I have seen some facts. On November 1, they played Hull and Mr Ferguson had a two-match touchline ban and a £10,000 fine after confronting Mike Dean, the referee, for improper conduct.

But a few sentences later;

Quote"During the Respect campaign - and this is a fact - Mr Ferguson was charged by the FA for improper conduct after comments made about Martin Atkinson and Keith Hackett.

"He was not punished. He is the only manager in the league that cannot be punished for these things.

So he can't be punsihed but he's serving a ban?

QuoteThere is another option - Mr Ferguson organises the fixtures in his office and sends it to us and everyone will know and cannot complain

Very carefully considered there.

"Now he is complaining about everything, that everybody is against United. But the second half of the season will see them playing at home against all the teams at the top of the table, it is a fantastic advantage.

3 years ago United played every team in the top 4 away from home in the last part of the season. Was that Ferguson setting the fixtures deliberately to disadvantage himself.

Quote"Or there is another option. That Mr Ferguson organises the fixtures in his office and sends it to us and everyone will know and cannot complain. That is simple.

Quote"All managers need to know is that only Mr Ferguson can talk about the fixtures, can talk about referees and nothing happens.

Quote"We had a meeting in Manchester with managers and FA about the Respect campaign. And I was very clear, forget the campaign because Mr Ferguson was killing the referees, killing Mr Atkinson, killing Mr Hackett.

All the abuse of referee's is big bad Alex's fault?

Clearly what Benetiz said wasn't a calm critique, it was a rambling diatribe which gave the impression of a deeply paranoid man. Now has Ferguson displayed similar traits at times over the years? Of course he has. I was embarassed to be a United supporter after the Portsmouth cup match last year. But this talk of someone organising fixtures in their office is just delusional.

Archer also says that Ferguson saying that losing 4-1 to liverpool was a travesty makes him ungracious? I just don't see where the logic is here. Of course he's going to be disappointed about a result like that. It was a blot on United's season. Saying that doesn't make him ungracious.

Maybe saying after the match that United were the better team was indeed a better example of his ungraciousness.

As for your multi-posts will I do the same with Ferguson and Sam's claims?

After Liverpool v Blackburn

"Everton are a big club, not a small one which Benitez arrogantly said,"

Arrogance is one thing. You cannot forgive contempt, which is what he showed Sam Allardyce last weekend,

When Liverpool scored their second goal he signalled as if the game was finished. I do not think Sam deserved that.

"Sam has worked so hard for the LMA (League Managers' Association) and he's had a weakened team. I just thought it showed contempt.

"In my experience no Liverpool manager has ever done that. It was beyond the pale."

Surely the paranoia you talk about TAC applies here too, or does it not because it is good old Fergie?

After Liverpool v United

"It is a hard one to take because I thought, really, we were the better team and the score does not reflect that,"

He also refused to congratulate Liverpool. Why is there such a kikc-up about Benitez being a bad loser even though he congratulated Manchester United, but Ferguson has little said. The double standards of the English media are apparent again.

Of course I don;t blame the media, they know any negative United press and they will be banned from United's press conferences.

When asked about Veron his reply was "youse are ****ing idiots@, imagine of Benitez had done this.

The Daily Mail was banned, Paul Anderson from PA was banned for "asking too many questions" according to Fergie. There is more.

United fans love to pull out this thing about Liverpool fans having a chip on their shoulder, but you lot are the most blinkered of fans going.

Even the most blinkered of fan could see the double standards in the media, but you seem unable to accept that and when someone goes against the grain you get on your high horse.

A poor effort EC but just a quick point, Mourinho knocked Utd out of the Champions League with Porto then won two titles with Chelsea in two years.