The OFFICIAL Liverpool FC thread - Salah says goodbye

Started by Gabriel_Hurl, February 05, 2009, 03:47:16 PM

Quote from: Bingo on January 07, 2013, 02:27:37 PM
A more recent example was Crouch V Man City for stoke. A few mentions on the analysis but barely a whimper of it.

Also, the ref has barely been mentioned for missing it or rather seeing it but not giving it as handball.

According to BR Marriner saw the handball but believed it wasn't deliberate so allowed it, that should be the end of the story in my view.

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on January 07, 2013, 02:32:44 PM
As for the progress made under BR,  I personally am happy enough at what I see.  It is clear that the last few years have left the club in a very difficult situation bit on and off the field.  The new owners were seen by many as being the saviours but it is taking them time to come to grips with the different dynamics of the game and the politics surrounding it.  I actually think they have a good grasp now though sometimes Ayre pisses me off.  I agree with Bingo that BR was shafted a bit about Carroll but that is a lesson learned and I like the way they have gone about getting business done early in the transfer window this time round. 

On the field things are steadily improving and I believe Sturridge will be a very good purchase.  If they can get Tom Ince in as well this window fr around the £5-6m mark I would be happy.  The fact that Henderson and DOwning are showing a bit of form has been an extra bonus.  The reality is that 6th in the league this year is the best they are likely to get.  About 62 is the average points for that position and that is achieveable.  41 out of 51 available but they need to get some consistency.  What I want to see more than anything is continued gradual improvement with stability in the club.

I agree with all that, especially the last line. Young teams are going to be inconsistent, goes with the territory. As long as BR sticks to his guns, and the players improve as they get more comfortable and experienced, then that's a sustainable approach. People sneering at Liverpool for being in 8th-10th or 12th without looking at what's going on are as bad as Liverpool fans who expect to win the title every year. It's going to be at least another season :D

Quote from: AZOffaly on January 07, 2013, 02:01:34 PM
Why, what did he say? I was watching it and didn't really hear anything outrageous, other than maybe he's not a Liverpool fan and was always going to be critical of such a goal. Did he say anything other than the usual 'Suarez will again be in the headlines' shite that Sky routinely come out with as well? He, and Waddle, were very complimentary of Liverpool's play in the first half in fairness.

He said "that was the work of a cheat". Said with some venom as well.

And then insinuating that he was rubbing it in by kissing his hand afterwards when he does the same celebration after every goal.

Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on January 07, 2013, 01:33:09 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 07, 2013, 10:06:35 AM
Probably instinctive alright, but certainly should have been disallowed. My first thought was that he missed a great PR opportunity for himself. If he had told the ref it was handball he'd have become a fair play icon in one fell swoop. Pity really.

Not very many have done that though. Robbie Fowler once told the ref he wasn't fouled after David Seaman was adjudged to have fouled him in the box for a penalty. Robbie still stuck the penalty into the net though. His sportsmanship only went so far once scoring goals was concerned.

No he didn't. Fowler hit a very weak penalty which Seaman saved. Unfortunately for him, he only parried it and McAteer stuck away the rebound.

take_yer_points

As for the progress made under BR,  I personally am happy enough at what I see.  It is clear that the last few years have left the club in a very difficult situation bit on and off the field.  The new owners were seen by many as being the saviours but it is taking them time to come to grips with the different dynamics of the game and the politics surrounding it.  I actually think they have a good grasp now though sometimes Ayre pisses me off.  I agree with Bingo that BR was shafted a bit about Carroll but that is a lesson learned and I like the way they have gone about getting business done early in the transfer window this time round. 

On the field things are steadily improving and I believe Sturridge will be a very good purchase.  If they can get Tom Ince in as well this window fr around the £5-6m mark I would be happy.  The fact that Henderson and DOwning are showing a bit of form has been an extra bonus.  The reality is that 6th in the league this year is the best they are likely to get.  About 62 is the average points for that position and that is achieveable.  41 out of 51 available but they need to get some consistency.  What I want to see more than anything is continued gradual improvement with stability in the club.

You had me wondering there - 41 out of 51 would very nearly be table topping form (2.41 points per game) - only Man U have performed better this season on 2.48 points per game.

Liverpool are actually already on 31 points so would only need another 31 points to reach the 62 you've mentioned. That equates to 1.82 points per game - about the same standard as Spurs were at for the first 21 games (1.84 points per game). Liverpool's form for the first 21 games has been 1.48 points per game.

Quote from: AZOffaly on January 07, 2013, 02:37:20 PM
I agree with all that, especially the last line. Young teams are going to be inconsistent, goes with the territory. As long as BR sticks to his guns, and the players improve as they get more comfortable and experienced, then that's a sustainable approach. People sneering at Liverpool for being in 8th-10th or 12th without looking at what's going on are as bad as Liverpool fans who expect to win the title every year. It's going to be at least another season :D

Next season is our year.

What has annoyed me about the inconsistency is that it hasn't been soley the young players. For sure they will drift in and out of games, make mistakes etc but at home to Villa we had 4 out of our first choice back 5 on the pitch - Reina, Johnson, Agger, Skrtel yet Downing was probably the best defender on the field at left back. We had Lucas in front of them, Allen and Gerard with them. Yet we where a shambles that day. Not sure of it was the mindset that was wrong as we had Rodgers talk about finishing 2nd in the lead up to the game. When the mindset isn't right before a game, its impossible to change it during the game. And thats why i worry about Rodgers on occassion, the should be the managers domain yet it was lacking that day i felt. Hopefully it doesn't happen again or rather he has learnt from what went wrong.

Its going to be a long run and we are going in the right direction alright.

Quote from: take_yer_points on January 07, 2013, 02:48:29 PM

You had me wondering there - 41 out of 51 would very nearly be table topping form (2.41 points per game) - only Man U have performed better this season on 2.48 points per game.

Liverpool are actually already on 31 points so would only need another 31 points to reach the 62 you've mentioned. That equates to 1.82 points per game - about the same standard as Spurs were at for the first 21 games (1.84 points per game). Liverpool's form for the first 21 games has been 1.48 points per game.

Pressed the wrong button, meant to say 31 points from 51!!!

Insofar as things have not got worse and they're passing the ball, I'm happy enough. Beyond that though, its too early to assess. Rodgers has to be given time. Barring disaster, you can't be changing manager every second season, otherwise you'll never build anything.

Quote from: J70 on January 07, 2013, 02:44:50 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on January 07, 2013, 01:33:09 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 07, 2013, 10:06:35 AM
Probably instinctive alright, but certainly should have been disallowed. My first thought was that he missed a great PR opportunity for himself. If he had told the ref it was handball he'd have become a fair play icon in one fell swoop. Pity really.

Not very many have done that though. Robbie Fowler once told the ref he wasn't fouled after David Seaman was adjudged to have fouled him in the box for a penalty. Robbie still stuck the penalty into the net though. His sportsmanship only went so far once scoring goals was concerned.

No he didn't. Fowler hit a very weak penalty which Seaman saved. Unfortunately for him, he only parried it and McAteer stuck away the rebound.

Yes others have said already. I knew it ended up in the net and was going to double check on youtube but it's blocked at work. Bloody IT department.

Howard Webb for Sunday  :-X

Since our 4-1 victory at OT, we've played them 4 times, Webb has been ref for 3 of those. This will make it 4 out of 5. We haven't won since the 4-1. Fergie is consistent if nothing else  ;)

Quote from: Bingo on January 07, 2013, 04:27:29 PM

Since our 4-1 victory at OT, we've played them 4 times, Webb has been ref for 3 of those. This will make it 4 out of 5. We haven't won since the 4-1. Fergie is consistent if nothing else  ;)
Not a bad sub for Rooney I suppose.... :-X

Can't believe it's Webb again. Can anyone else referee this fixture?

Quote from: ballinaman on January 07, 2013, 04:28:57 PM
Quote from: Bingo on January 07, 2013, 04:27:29 PM

Not a bad sub for Rooney I suppose.... :-X

I'd not be surprised if he made an appearance and all, Fergies jedi mind tricks and miricle recovery.

Quote from: Hound on January 07, 2013, 02:22:53 PM
Why, what did he say? I was watching it and didn't really hear anything outrageous, other than maybe he's not a Liverpool fan and was always going to be critical of such a goal. Did he say anything other than the usual 'Suarez will again be in the headlines' shite that Sky routinely come out with as well? He, and Waddle, were very complimentary of Liverpool's play in the first half in fairness.
Champion called him a cheat. From memory the quote when the replay was shown was something like "that's the work of a cheat".

I thought John Barnes comment afterwards was very funny.
"Thierry Henry did something very similar for France v Ireland in an important world cup qualifier, and nobody called Henry a cheat;D

It would be funny if it were true but there were plenty calling Henry a cheat including plenty on here.

Quote from: EC Unique on January 07, 2013, 06:00:31 PM
Quote from: Hound on January 07, 2013, 02:22:53 PM
Champion called him a cheat. From memory the quote when the replay was shown was something like "that's the work of a cheat".

I thought John Barnes comment afterwards was very funny.
"Thierry Henry did something very similar for France v Ireland in an important world cup qualifier, and nobody called Henry a cheat;D

It would be funny if it were true but there were plenty calling Henry a cheat including plenty on here.

You did not get up very early this morning EC, did you?