The OFFICIAL Liverpool FC thread - RIP Diogo

Started by Gabriel_Hurl, February 05, 2009, 03:47:16 PM

Minus15

Corn, Kenny Archer does not make for good reading if you are a Liverpool fan. I have never read a balanced piece from him and now if I see his column and it is anything to do with Liverpool or united I know not to read it.

To be honest, you should have more sense than to bring all this up on here again. You are playing into United supporters hands and you are displaying bitterness just like Archer himself.

Man Utd won the league this year. Hopefully they won't next year who knows. Hopefully they don't win in Rome who knows.

The best thing to do is keep quiet. Talk about Liverpool, new signings, prospects for next year or whatever but don't let yourself be drawn into these pointless arguments. We know rafa didn't rant. We know fergie hasn't proven himself to be master of mind games again. at the end of the day man utd won more points over 38 games and until liverpool win man u fans win all the arguments. You won't be able to persuade anyone amy differently.

At the end of the day lads, all I would like to see is an equal playing field.

No one will deny that Benitez had said/done stupid things, but United fans, most anyway, seem blind to the fact that one gets a rougher deal than the other. Possinly because he is not fromBritain, who knows?

We can all select quotes from the article in the IN, but if you post it in full I don;t think for one minute he says United did not deserve it. I felt it was well balanced.

Quote from: Minus15 on May 21, 2009, 03:00:10 PM
Corn, Kenny Archer does not make for good reading if you are a Liverpool fan. I have never read a balanced piece from him and now if I see his column and it is anything to do with Liverpool or united I know not to read it.

To be honest, you should have more sense than to bring all this up on here again. You are playing into United supporters hands and you are displaying bitterness just like Archer himself.

Man Utd won the league this year. Hopefully they won't next year who knows. Hopefully they don't win in Rome who knows.

The best thing to do is keep quiet. Talk about Liverpool, new signings, prospects for next year or whatever but don't let yourself be drawn into these pointless arguments. We know rafa didn't rant. We know fergie hasn't proven himself to be master of mind games again. at the end of the day man utd won more points over 38 games and until liverpool win man u fans win all the arguments. You won't be able to persuade anyone amy differently.

So if you agree with me why are you saying I am displaying bitterness?

Quote from: corn02 on May 21, 2009, 02:51:45 PM
After Liverpool v Blackburn

"Everton are a big club, not a small one which Benitez arrogantly said,"

Arrogance is one thing. You cannot forgive contempt, which is what he showed Sam Allardyce last weekend,

When Liverpool scored their second goal he signalled as if the game was finished. I do not think Sam deserved that.

"Sam has worked so hard for the LMA (League Managers' Association) and he's had a weakened team. I just thought it showed contempt.

"In my experience no Liverpool manager has ever done that. It was beyond the pale."

Surely the paranoia you talk about TAC applies here too, or does it not because it is good old Fergie?

After Liverpool v United

"It is a hard one to take because I thought, really, we were the better team and the score does not reflect that,"

He also refused to congratulate Liverpool. Why is there such a kikc-up about Benitez being a bad loser even though he congratulated Manchester United, but Ferguson has little said. The double standards of the English media are apparent again.

Of course I don;t blame the media, they know any negative United press and they will be banned from United's press conferences.

When asked about Veron his reply was "youse are ****ing idiots@, imagine of Benitez had done this.

The Daily Mail was banned, Paul Anderson from PA was banned for "asking too many questions" according to Fergie. There is more.

United fans love to pull out this thing about Liverpool fans having a chip on their shoulder, but you lot are the most blinkered of fans going.

Even the most blinkered of fan could see the double standards in the media, but you seem unable to accept that and when someone goes against the grain you get on your high horse.

Did I not explicitly say that Ferguson has shown paranoia himself. I thought the Aldardyce thing was a load of nonsense. That doesn't make Archer's article any more or less credible. I'm sure there are double standards in the media - very few in the media give a f**k about fairness - they care about making money. I don't read the English on a day to day basis so I genuinely wouldn't know what they're saying. And to be honest, I don't really care. And there's nothing wrong with Kenny Archer being biased towards Liverpool, he's a fan and a journalist and entitled to be both. It just means I'm going to take any article where he's praising Liverpool and criticising United or Ferguson with a pinch of salt. Most football fans tend to be blinkered, its a part of following sport, you want your team to do well and its human nature sometimes to convince yourself that they are in the right. I don't think United fans are any worse than others and I don't think Liverpool fans are really in the best position to jusge.

It was not really an 'effort' Minder just thought it was amusing. Yes indeed Mr Mourinho did get the better of Utd on a few occasions in the silverware department and then Fergie worked out how to get over that hurdle. And Mr Mourinho gets his P45.

Rafa is the source of great amusement to non-Liverpool fans and in particular Utd fans. This is why I am so glad to see him stay and also why this year's title is that bit sweeter. f**k it must be frustrating to be a Liverpool fan....

Quote from: corn02 on May 21, 2009, 03:01:05 PM

We can all select quotes from the article in the IN, but if you post it in full I don;t think for one minute he says United did not deserve it. I felt it was well balanced.

I never said that Archer said United didn't deserve it. I said that he was wrong in his description of what Benitez said in January and wrong in describing Ferguson as ungracious for calling the Liverpool result a travesty.

Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on May 21, 2009, 03:05:09 PM
Quote from: corn02 on May 21, 2009, 02:51:45 PM
After Liverpool v Blackburn

"Everton are a big club, not a small one which Benitez arrogantly said,"

Arrogance is one thing. You cannot forgive contempt, which is what he showed Sam Allardyce last weekend,

When Liverpool scored their second goal he signalled as if the game was finished. I do not think Sam deserved that.

"Sam has worked so hard for the LMA (League Managers' Association) and he's had a weakened team. I just thought it showed contempt.

"In my experience no Liverpool manager has ever done that. It was beyond the pale."

Surely the paranoia you talk about TAC applies here too, or does it not because it is good old Fergie?

After Liverpool v United

"It is a hard one to take because I thought, really, we were the better team and the score does not reflect that,"

He also refused to congratulate Liverpool. Why is there such a kikc-up about Benitez being a bad loser even though he congratulated Manchester United, but Ferguson has little said. The double standards of the English media are apparent again.

Of course I don;t blame the media, they know any negative United press and they will be banned from United's press conferences.

When asked about Veron his reply was "youse are ****ing idiots@, imagine of Benitez had done this.

The Daily Mail was banned, Paul Anderson from PA was banned for "asking too many questions" according to Fergie. There is more.

United fans love to pull out this thing about Liverpool fans having a chip on their shoulder, but you lot are the most blinkered of fans going.

Even the most blinkered of fan could see the double standards in the media, but you seem unable to accept that and when someone goes against the grain you get on your high horse.

Did I not explicitly say that Ferguson has shown paranoia himself. I thought the Aldardyce thing was a load of nonsense. That doesn't make Archer's article any more or less credible. I'm sure there are double standards in the media - very few in the media give a f**k about fairness - they care about making money. I don't read the English on a day to day basis so I genuinely wouldn't know what they're saying. And to be honest, I don't really care. And there's nothing wrong with Kenny Archer being biased towards Liverpool, he's a fan and a journalist and entitled to be both. It just means I'm going to take any article where he's praising Liverpool and criticising United or Ferguson with a pinch of salt. Most football fans tend to be blinkered, its a part of following sport, you want your team to do well and its human nature sometimes to convince yourself that they are in the right. I don't think United fans are any worse than others and I don't think Liverpool fans are really in the best position to jusge.

Yes TAC and that is why I said most United fans.

Quote from: EC Unique on May 21, 2009, 03:06:08 PM
It was not really an 'effort' Minder just thought it was amusing. Yes indeed Mr Mourinho did get the better of Utd on a few occasions in the silverware department and then Fergie worked out how to get over that hurdle. And Mr Mourinho gets his P45.

Rafa is the source of great amusement to non-Liverpool fans and in particular Utd fans. This is why I am so glad to see him stay and also why this year's title is that bit sweeter. f**k it must be frustrating to be a Liverpool fan....

It's really not. Would rather no one else at the helm but him. Ferguson's rant about "the contempt" was ridiculous, a source of great amusement? Probably not as all managers do so. The fact that you called one a rant and said the other was not when they were cut from the same cloth sort of dscredits your additions to the argument to be fair.

EC you are symptomatic of far too many United fans I find. Absolutely clueless and utterly incapable of putting an argument forward without outrageous bias. Sadly typical of the johnny come lately soccer fan of the Sky generation.

Minus15

Quote from: corn02 on May 21, 2009, 03:02:02 PM

All i agree with you on is that rafa did not lose it and that fergie is not the master. I don't agree with your preoccupation with quotes and statistics and arguments over and over again. We all have our opinions but restating them again and again won't help. Whilst you may not be bitter, your need to counteract everything with more arguments makes it look like you are. You just need to let it go. Just because other people don't agree with you doesn't mean you have to convert them. Football's all about opinions but best thing to do is not let those that you don't agree with get to you.

Quote from: Minus15 on May 21, 2009, 03:13:46 PM
Quote from: corn02 on May 21, 2009, 03:02:02 PM

All i agree with you on is that rafa did not lose it and that fergie is not the master. I don't agree with your preoccupation with quotes and statistics and arguments over and over again. We all have our opinions but restating them again and again won't help. Whilst you may not be bitter, your need to counteract everything with more arguments makes it look like you are. You just need to let it go. Just because other people don't agree with you doesn't mean you have to convert them. Football's all about opinions but best thing to do is not let those that you don't agree with get to you.

This is a discussion board isn't it? The whole point of it is discussing and debating.

So what, if someone makes stupid claims on here I am not allowed to argue them back?

Opinions on a message board are not going to "get to me" nor am I trying to "convert" people, but I certainly feel I have the right to raise a point and will continue to do so if I disagree with what they say.

anportmorforjfc

Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 21, 2009, 03:13:00 PM

EC you are symptomatic of far too many United fans I find. Absolutely clueless and utterly incapable of putting an argument forward without outrageous bias. Sadly typical of the johnny come lately soccer fan of the Sky generation.

Nail on the head Galwaybayboy

Goats Do Shave

Quote from: corn02 on May 21, 2009, 01:37:43 PM
Quote from: Goats Do Shave on May 21, 2009, 11:21:27 AM
Settle yourself Corn! Now you arguing over the definition of the word 'rant'!
QuoteTo speak or write in an angry or violent manner

To divert your the money question back like that, doesn't get over the fact that the reason UTD have been able to spend money is because they're a well run business. By the way - I'd love you to name the players sold that were worth their place!?

If you'd prefer the 11 - 0 scoreline we'll use that...  ;D

The article is the truth? - It's Opinion, simple as! & the article doesn't hurt, don't be silly! - I refer you to my previous scoreline statement!  ;)

So in that case you will 100% agree that Ferguson was on a rant too then?

Players that were worth their place in the squad? Cisse, Crouch, Finnan, Bellamy, Murphy, Hamann, Baros.

And yes you also seem to agree that it was hypocritical of United fans to suddenly revert back to 18-all. Consistency would have been nice. Apparently only Premierships counted, despite pissing on the seven teams who won league for United before the Premiership, it is weird that all leagues suddenly count.

Yes Fergie is extremely capable of the odd rant! I never argued otherwise!

There's only so many average players a squad can have to be fair!

I don't think it's hypocritical of United fans to suddenly revert back to 18-all. I've always argued the difference between ancient history & recent history!  :)

& yes my da is bigger than yours!