The OFFICIAL Liverpool FC thread - Salah says goodbye

Started by Gabriel_Hurl, February 05, 2009, 03:47:16 PM

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on October 29, 2012, 09:09:40 AM
We wuz robbed!!!!  Seriously though while Everton may have dominated possession over the 90 minutes I thought Liverpool played the better football, albeit not often enough. A lot of Evertons chances were from hoofs into Side Show Bob followed by Jellyfish and Miraculous running off the loose balls. They were physically more dominating and the likes of the big Belgian and Distin are big hoors. When we got the ball down and played we looked good in patches though MF was outmuscled. Saurez is a t**ker but he's our t**ker and it really would have been serious icing on the cake if the goal had been allowed. Time for video refs a la rugby for contenious goals.

Anyway, 6 points off top 4 with the worst Liverpool team in 25 years, doesn't say much for the team in 4th!

Everton could feel they were robbed just the same. As you say they domunated the game and to be fair Saurez should have been sent off. The young lad with the fuzzy hair was luck not to get a second yellow as well..

i take it you mean sterling? it would have been a very very harsh second yellow and the first one was a nothing challenge with the referee swayed by the crowd.

As BCB1 said, everton had liverpool under alot of pressure, but liverpool probably created the better chances, with sterlings miss a real shocker and then the dissallowed goal

good performances from agger & skertl at the back and Allen in midfeild. though shelvey did well when he cam on also.

Quote from: blewuporstuffed on October 29, 2012, 08:42:40 AM
i'm not sure what to make of suarez 'tackle' on distin. any other player you would probably give the benefit of the doubt and just say he accidentally trod on him while chasing him down, becuase its suarez, its hard not to think that he meant to do it straight away.

if karma really applied in football then the appocolyse is surely comeing for fergie and united very soon

I'd say the last day of last year's season would balance a lot of good luck for United!

Quote from: johnneycool on October 29, 2012, 09:08:45 AM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on October 29, 2012, 08:42:40 AM
i'm not sure what to make of suarez 'tackle' on distin. any other player you would probably give the benefit of the doubt and just say he accidentally trod on him while chasing him down, becuase its suarez, its hard not to think that he meant to do it straight away.

if karma really applied in football then the appocolyse is surely comeing for fergie and united very soon

It looked if he changed his natural stride pattern to get the stamp in on Distin, the Mirelles one was late and on the top of the foot, at least a booking every day of the week.

Well if we are to follow the Man U fans mantra then it was only right Suarez got away with the stamp because Huth I think it was got away with an even more malicious stamp on him a few weeks ago.
Nordie Tayto is shite

Quote from: johnneycool on October 29, 2012, 08:26:08 AM
Quote from: Gazzler on October 28, 2012, 11:12:50 PM
Quote from: SHEEDY on October 28, 2012, 07:43:38 PM
Quote from: Minder on October 28, 2012, 07:21:58 PM
Quote from: SHEEDY on October 28, 2012, 06:44:41 PM
Quote from: laoislad on October 28, 2012, 06:18:52 PM
Suarez clearly offside  ::)

the horrible p***k should never have been on the pitch. foul on miralles in the 1st half and dreadful tackle on distin near the end. miralles going off cost us the win.  that has to be the worst liverpool team in living memory. suarez is a t**t but is a real handful.

what is all this talk about brendas new liverpool. everton 57% possession. pass pass pass. all yous did was lump it forward.

if you look closely at the replay you will see his teeth are offside.  ;D

If you think that is the worst Liverpool team in "living memory" you must be a teenager.
what decade did liverpool have a worse team? 60's?cant remember that far back. 70's?can remember that side.great team. 80's? one of the best sides in europe. 90's? 2000's?

suarez. hateful p***k but still a class act.
gerrard. great player but past his best.
sterling.good prospect.
the only other player i would take is agger. the rest are pretty average.

Fellaini and Baines are the only Everton players that would make the current Liverpool first XI.

And maybe someone who can put away half chances on a pretty regular basis like Jelavich!

Under Moyes Everton have always seemed to under perform against Liverpool, but before that they used to raise their game for the Merseyside derbies, do pretty well but get beat in most other games and be fighting relegation. I think I prefer the former.

Suarez, has a bit of t**ker in him, the stamp on Distin was a cheap shot as was the Mirelles stamp and was almost a bit of karma that his goal was disallowed, probably shouldn't have been on the park at that stage if the ref was doing his job properly. Still a good player though, one the kopites will love, and every other clubs supporters hate.
A great player and one who would be loved by fans at what ever club he played for.
United, Everton and all would love him to play for their club despite the insults they hurl at him.
Every club has had them. United loved the likes Keane who was the biggest tr**p of them all and they even turn a blind eye to what Rooney and Giggs get up to.Chelsea fans will always love Terry.
Sure Everton fans loved Big Dunc despite what he was like!
The reason the fans love these type of players is because of what great players they all were and they are all players who what to win at all costs,it also helps that every other club hates them!

I must ad I never hated Giggs,always thought he was a wonderful player and I would have rode Imogen Thomas too!
Rooney is a pig though.
Nordie Tayto is shite

Now I know the linesman didn't flag for this but was Coates not climbing all over the Everton defender?  It looked like a foul to me.

Quote from: AQMP on October 29, 2012, 11:18:14 AM
Now I know the linesman didn't flag for this but was Coates not climbing all over the Everton defender?  It looked like a foul to me.

I think it must be the poor lighting at Goodison as the linesmen the night Newcastle were there also had difficulty with the offside decisions, but at least that was at night!!

To use a footballing term, it'll even out over the season!!

Quote from: johnneycool on October 29, 2012, 12:35:53 PM

I think it must be the poor lighting at Goodison as the linesmen the night Newcastle were there also had difficulty with the offside decisions, but at least that was at night!!

Who is compiling the statistical analysis of this?

Quote from: EC Unique on October 29, 2012, 09:27:13 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on October 29, 2012, 09:09:40 AM
We wuz robbed!!!!  Seriously though while Everton may have dominated possession over the 90 minutes I thought Liverpool played the better football, albeit not often enough. A lot of Evertons chances were from hoofs into Side Show Bob followed by Jellyfish and Miraculous running off the loose balls. They were physically more dominating and the likes of the big Belgian and Distin are big hoors. When we got the ball down and played we looked good in patches though MF was outmuscled. Saurez is a t**ker but he's our t**ker and it really would have been serious icing on the cake if the goal had been allowed. Time for video refs a la rugby for contenious goals.

Anyway, 6 points off top 4 with the worst Liverpool team in 25 years, doesn't say much for the team in 4th!

Everton could feel they were robbed just the same. As you say they domunated the game

They didn't really dominate the game. They had a great spell the 20 minutes before half-time when they were well on top alright but Liverpool were fairly comfortable in the second half and obviously scored twice early on. Everton had a bit more possession alright but even in the second half the two best chances were both Liverpool's with Sterling having a one on one with the keeper and then Suarez's goal wrongly ruled offside.

Having said that the game was definitely going away from Liverpool until Rodgers made some tactical changes at half-time.

Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 29, 2012, 01:09:24 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on October 29, 2012, 12:35:53 PM

Who is compiling the statistical analysis of this?

Sam Allardyce has a mathematic model for it. He reckons if he hadn't been sacked by Newcastle, they'd have won the premiership with 12 point to spare.

supersub

Completely irrelevant. He was up a height but no more all over him. Given for offside which was incorrect. Liverpool should have won but they didn't. Not worried in slightest as its a hell of a start playing Utd, City, Arsenal and the derby in opening games. Actually looking forward to rest of the season.

Quote from: supersub on October 30, 2012, 03:25:21 PM

Completely irrelevant. He was up a height but no more all over him. Given for offside which was incorrect. Liverpool should have won but they didn't. Not worried in slightest as its a hell of a start playing Utd, City, Arsenal and the derby in opening games. Actually looking forward to rest of the season.

Yeah sure only Newcastle and Chelsea up next  :)
Nordie Tayto is shite

Quote from: supersub on October 30, 2012, 03:25:21 PM

It's the lesser teams Liverpool struggle against.

the worrying thing at the minute is that with Suarez is only one booking away from a suspension and borini out injured , the squad looks paper thin, particularly in attacking options.
already 3 teenages (sterling, suso & wisdom ) have played  regularly and shelvey who is only 20, has played alot.
as good as these young lads have been, they cant be expected to play every week in a 50+ game season

Rodgers will be hoping he can get till January were at least one attacking playe has to be brought in.

There's renewed noise about Drogba. Have any of our more connected contributers heard anything?