Tyrone v Kerry NFL Round 2

Started by Kerry Mike, February 01, 2009, 04:11:25 PM

"Here - are you related to that malcontent Mike Sheehey off the GAABOARD"?

Peter Canavan got away with pushing the linesman, twice.
It's funny the tyronies are talking about pushing the ref (it wasnt even a push anyway).

Ach now Pints... we really didn't begrudge ye the Ulster in '05, sure we caught
ye later in the long grass for the big one  ;D in hind sight it was no harm... knowing how much
an Ulster championship meant to Armagh ;)

Redhandfan

Excuse my ignorance here, but did something happen in Omagh last Sunday that I missed?  I was sitting in the stand for the whole of the Tyrone v Kerry match and saw nothing out of the ordinary....well, certainly nothing to warrant such mass hysteria from so-called followers of gaelic games.  The world has gone crazy alright when a little flick from Ryan McMenamin and a bit of pushing and shoving among players and mentors at the final whistle makes front page news and huge outcrys on GAA Discussion Boards.  I know Tyrone v Kerry was a high profile game last weekend but, for crying out loud, that does not mean we should turn every little minor incident from that match into a national scandal.

We often complain when our good friends at BBC and UTV go over the top with their coverage of every little melee that takes place at an inter-county match.  Yet, members of this Board get all hysterical over one or two wee incidents last Sunday that would barely raise an eyebrow at a club match.  People here should think of some of the rows and incidents that have taken place at club and some county games down through the years, and then compare it to what went on at Healy Park. For feck sake, there wasn't a serious foul stroke or so much as a punch thrown at Omagh on Sunday.  No one got hurt or was in any serious danger.  So, I suggest that people here stop getting all hot and bothered over stupid little things and get back to discussing football.

Jeez, we were shite in the first half but got our act together rightly in the second.  Here's hoping Conor Gormley gets back to full fitness very soon.....we need him back to tighten up the oul defence a bit.

Quote from: cadhlancian on February 15, 2009, 07:39:59 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on February 15, 2009, 04:46:57 PM
Quote from: cadhlancian on February 15, 2009, 04:40:47 PM
on another note,,,,,fairly new on here, after using hogan stand( didn't know about GAABOARD) but since I've changed over :-[ its been great.........great site , great posters , ( intelligence does matter) and some great links and photos. Thank you fellow gaels and posters  ;)
Where are ye in California?
americas finest city........san diego ;D

About The Field much..... ;)

Just got done watching a download of that game with Radio Kerry's English commentary. Weeshie (where do they get the names for these lads down there) Fogarty and some other fella. Now in fairness they were good enough and much better craic than any TV commentators, you would have to laugh at the level of bias, but I suppose it is called Radio Kerry.

Anyway after lambasting the referee incessantly for not yellow carding more Tyronemen (i.e. almost every tackle was meritorious of a yellow), the lads then got worried when the ref called Galvin aside after the ballgate incident and having obviously no clue whatever about what happened, Weehsie pronounced the black book, 'good sensible refereeing'. Who are we to argue with a man of his knowledge? I would hate to listen to that lad in a game he was loosing by 10 points!

On to the game, J O'C seems to have made some good moves already. M O'Se was brilliant at CHB, you always had the notion that he was wasted in the FB line. Big question for him is where to play Donaghy when he comes back. The two big men up front together didn't look great in the '08 final and surely Darran O'Sullivan can now make  a case to cement a long-over due starting place? Tyrone looked amateur in the full-back line, both goals were a joke. Walsh will trouble any marker, but he can't be left one-on-one when he lands with the ball, he's too strong, another man needs to be covering the full-back, which might work OK because at this stage Walsh doesn't seem to be able to offload the ball as skilfully as Donaghy. (not that he needs to sometimes, but if he could finish a goal chance he might have unlimited potential)

Tyrone tightened up quite well for the first 20 minutes of the 2nd half, but Harte's 1st half goal chance would have wanted to go in to leave Tyrone with any chance of a comeback, they never got a sniff of a goal in the 2nd half. Some posters were saying Kerry were tiring and another few minutes might have led to a different result, I wouldn't agree with that at all there was 5 in it at the end of 70 mins and Tyrone were happy enough to shoot a couple of points to take the bad look of the score board. Bad days for all in MF and HF lines (expect McGinley), obviously FB line will need to looked at itself.

Big test to come in the Galway game, another team with forwards that can do damage, so hopefully we can lift it for that game.

Well the question still needs to be asked as to why McMenamin chose to grab Galvin by the nuts, it was a strange action that begs a lot of questions..........it could have interesting consequences for him.
Its quite ironic that the arch trash talker has just given every county player and club player he comes up against the perfect  windup material to whisper in his ear at appropriate times. Lets see how well our monobrowed friend is able to take it. Its almost karmic really.

hang on...just off the press. His actions can be explained..apparently there was a wasp flying around that he was trying to grope.

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on February 18, 2009, 07:26:22 PM
Well the question still needs to be asked as to why McMenamin chose to grab Galvin by the nuts, it was a strange action that begs a lot of questions..........it could have interesting consequences for him.
Its quite ironic that the arch trash talker has just given every county player and club player he comes up against the perfect  windup material to whisper in his ear at appropriate times. Lets see how well our monobrowed friend is able to take it. Its almost karmic really.

Yea, I'd say he's really nervous about that alright.

There's 47 pages on this thread, which is some amount of talk for a league game in February.  I have to laugh at the posts here saying that McMenamin needs to learn from this, or change his ways etc etc.  There's a couple of certainties in life, one of them being that the sun always rises in the morning. The other is that McMenamin will never change his ways on a football pitch. He is what he is. We've seen his antics since 2002.  It doesn't make him a better footballer, just an annoying wee bollix who, given half a chance, will get under the skin of opposing players. Some players get ruffled by it, others are able to ignore him.  It's up to referees to deal with the Ryan McMenamin's of this world (i.e. the tubes who start the trouble) but they never seem to. It's usually the ones on the receiving end who retaliate and get booked or sent off. If McMenamin plays to 40 he'll still be at this.

QuoteYea, I'd say he's really nervous about that alright

He should be. There's no place for that kind of molestation in the game.

Good to see ye allowed back with us Mikey...5 days doesn't be long going in :)

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on February 18, 2009, 07:26:22 PM

Goodluck with that.

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on February 19, 2009, 01:36:23 AM

is that like a Playstation?

Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on February 19, 2009, 02:03:11 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on February 19, 2009, 01:36:23 AM

is that like a Playstation?

It is hard to play on a field full of mole stations. The ball hops everywhere. I never heard that term before I always though it was 'mole hill' as in ' making a mountain out of a mole hill'.