The Late Late show

Started by T O Hare, January 30, 2009, 01:50:33 PM

Would Hayes not have been involved in Cúl camps and the like?

Quote from: Armagh18 on January 18, 2025, 12:35:30 PM
Quote from: marty34 on January 18, 2025, 10:53:30 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on January 18, 2025, 10:07:31 AM
Quote from: marty34 on January 18, 2025, 09:35:21 AMWas Jarlath asked about the 'Armagh' situation last night?
Yeah. Just said he and the Armagh cb were involved in the background, that he has his own opinions but obviously can't comment yet.

But can comment on other stuff.

Not wanting to rock the boat on is own county.

Jarlath speaking out of both sides of his mouth. He may go through the local papers and see who's done what if he's to continue on in this vein and issue statements on a daily basis.

An a-lâ carte menu.
The Armagh thing is subject to a police investigation. Until that's done I don't think he can or should comment publicly, I'm critical of Jarlath on a lot of things but his hands are tied on that one.

One thing you can't criticise him for is he'll speak his mind and do what he feels is right.

I think that's the problem though.

Is he speking his own mind or speaking as GAA President?

I think he's landed himself into a handling of his own doing with this issue. By trying to do, what he thinks, is the right thing, he's got himself into a pickle. As others have already said, where does this stop for him?

I think Jarlath should pick one topic as President, that's connected to the GAA, and run with it during his tenure.

Say for example, disclipline. Clean up attacks on officials and people appealing 2 or3 times to get players off etc. A full review. Just tidy up the process to make it easier and simpler for everyone involved.

He should do that than get involved in 'other' stuff on an ad hoc basis. I think Jarlath is well intentioned but likes the limelight.

Quote from: marty34 on January 18, 2025, 12:47:08 PM
Quote from: marty34 on January 18, 2025, 09:35:21 AMWas Jarlath asked about the 'Armagh' situation last night?
Yeah. Just said he and the Armagh cb were involved in the background, that he has his own opinions but obviously can't comment yet.

Jarlath speaking out of both sides of his mouth. He may go through the local papers and see who's done what if he's to continue on in this vein and issue statements on a daily basis.

An a-lâ carte menu.
The Armagh thing is subject to a police investigation. Until that's done I don't think he can or should comment publicly, I'm critical of Jarlath on a lot of things but his hands are tied on that one.

One thing you can't criticise him for is he'll speak his mind and do what he feels is right.

I think he's landed himself into a handling of his own doing with this issue. By trying to do, what he thinks, is the right thing, he's got himself into a pickle. As others have already said, where does this stop for him?

I think Jarlath should pick one topic as President, that's connected to the GAA, and run with it during his tenure.

Say for example, disclipline. Clean up attacks on officials and people appealing 2 or3 times to get players off etc. A full review. Just tidy up the process to make it easier and simpler for everyone involved.

He should do that than get involved in 'other' stuff on an ad hoc basis. I think Jarlath is well intentioned but likes the limelight.
Yeah agreed. Think he would be better butting out but he's his own man.

An a-lâ carte menu.

Understatement of the year.

I think if JB had been taking good advice from anyone, he would have been told to stay clear of intervening in the Naas appointment.  By doing so, he has set a precedent for himself that is going to be difficult to stop coming up time and again.  The GAA is a reflection of Irish society, all of it, the good and the bad.  By taking a stand on one issue, leaves you open to not taking a stand on every issue.  I'm sure there are many localised issues in clubs across the country, he can't police them all.

Quote from: RedHand88 on January 18, 2025, 12:45:27 PMWould Hayes not have been involved in Cúl camps and the like?

This is the issue, involvement in the GAA as a number of levels.

Should someone be allowed
- be a member of the GAA
- paint lines on the field
- play minor
- play junior/reserves
- play senior
- play intercounty
- manage/coach minor
- manage coach reserves
- manage coach club
- manage/coach intercounty
- chair a club
- be on a provincial council
- become President of the GAA

Burns made a distinction between playing and coaching on the basis that the latter is an influence on others. You could argue that Hayes is not more likely to attack another player on the field than anyone else, and that the rules of the association would deal with that. You could reasonably simultaneously argue that he should not be put in a position of influence over others.

Gallagher is a bit more complicated, the evidence is unclear but there is quite a bit of it. You could also argue that it is in the past.
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 18, 2025, 01:09:50 PM

An a-lâ carte menu.

lol. In fairness he said ge would be hands on. I prefer that to someone collecting a big pay cheque and posing for photos.

WT4E

Quote from: Armagh18 on January 18, 2025, 01:37:52 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 18, 2025, 01:09:50 PM

An a-lâ carte menu.

lol. In fairness he said ge would be hands on. I prefer that to someone collecting a big pay cheque and posing for photos.

They collect their normal pay cheque.

tiempo

Quote from: balladmaker on January 18, 2025, 01:20:33 PMI think if JB had been taking good advice from anyone, he would have been told to stay clear of intervening in the Naas appointment.  By doing so, he has set a precedent for himself that is going to be difficult to stop coming up time and again.  The GAA is a reflection of Irish society, all of it, the good and the bad.  By taking a stand on one issue, leaves you open to not taking a stand on every issue.  I'm sure there are many localised issues in clubs across the country, he can't police them all.

Well said

To infer the GAA is the most democratic organisation in Ireland he is clearly wearing rose tinted glasses

While I enjoy Joe Brolly I find his take on the GAA a bit too romantic at times

Joe and Jarlath have lived a GAA experience akin to Tom Cruise in Scientology, birthday cakes and all I would say

As far as I can tell Jarlath takes the GAA too seriously, and Rory Gallagher takes the GAA too seriously. There's a cult-like dynamic involved and they have a lot more in common than they would perhaps like to admit

Burns interview aside, how poor an effort was that from RTE in an attempt to celebrate the biggest and most impactful sporting organisation on the island.  Poor offering all round, 2 Johnnies got away with the opening number, but then to bring them out for an interview was an interview too far.  Seamus Darby trotted out as a prop and nothing more, cringeworthy Late Late Show awards, the Marty segment was a total flop from start to finish.  In the week before the All Ireland Scor Finals, surely a piece of Scor activity could have been covered (or did I fall asleep before it came on which is possible).

In summary, a poor offering from RTE, but we shouldn't be surprised at this stage.

Why were the 2 Johnnys on? Not a criticism, just don't really know them.

Quote from: ONeill on January 18, 2025, 09:06:41 PMWhy were the 2 Johnnys on? Not a criticism, just don't really know them.
Strong GAA connection with the 2 lads, decent craic, a fairly well known GAA song as the opener, they'd know Spillane as well from previous and have done the late late before, the woman who used to be on the podcast with them is or was a producer for the late late as well.

Thought they were enjoyable enough. You could tell Kielty was dying to get the craic about the catfish story with them but probably not the time or place for it.

Quote from: Armagh18 on January 18, 2025, 09:10:15 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 18, 2025, 09:06:41 PMWhy were the 2 Johnnys on? Not a criticism, just don't really know them.
Strong GAA connection with the 2 lads, decent craic, a fairly well known GAA song as the opener, they'd know Spillane as well from previous and have done the late late before, the woman who used to be on the podcast with them is or was a producer for the late late as well.

Thought they were enjoyable enough. You could tell Kielty was dying to get the craic about the catfish story with them but probably not the time or place for it.

That answers O'Neill's question.

AustinPowers

Those fellas are like  the GAA equivalent of D'unbelieavables.  I never got  that show . Maybe you  had to be from Tipperary or  round abouts to get it. Two Johnnie's, the same.  Seem decent  enough  fellas , but just not my thing

Quote from: armaghniac on January 18, 2025, 01:35:45 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on January 18, 2025, 12:45:27 PMWould Hayes not have been involved in Cúl camps and the like?

This is the issue, involvement in the GAA as a number of levels.

Should someone be allowed
- be a member of the GAA
- paint lines on the field
- play minor
- play junior/reserves
- play senior
- play intercounty
- manage/coach minor
- manage coach reserves
- manage coach club
- manage/coach intercounty
- chair a club
- be on a provincial council
- become President of the GAA

Burns made a distinction between playing and coaching on the basis that the latter is an influence on others. You could argue that Hayes is not more likely to attack another player on the field than anyone else, and that the rules of the association would deal with that. You could reasonably simultaneously argue that he should not be put in a position of influence over others.

Gallagher is a bit more complicated, the evidence is unclear but there is quite a bit of it. You could also argue that it is in the past.

I'd argue that players have a higher profile than managers, so JB's reasoning behind getting involved in one and not the other is total BS in my opinion.

As for the evidence, unclear to us yes, but not sure what you mean by "quite a bit of it". I'd have thought if there was so much evidence he'd have been charged? Social media posts can't be considered evidence.