Computer Help

Started by Armagh Cúchulainns, January 11, 2009, 01:20:58 PM

general

Would anyone happen to know where to get a copy of Microsoft office/word without having to pay?

Quote from: FL/MAYO on October 07, 2014, 09:44:03 PM
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/security-essentials-download
That is already on the laptop! I was assuming it was shite as I was having bother & downloaded the AVG, having them both on the laptop would hardly have helped the performance then. I'll leave it there & see what happens

FL/MAYO

Quote from: bennydorano on October 08, 2014, 04:28:28 PM
Quote from: FL/MAYO on October 07, 2014, 09:44:03 PM
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/security-essentials-download
That is already on the laptop! I was assuming it was shite as I was having bother & downloaded the AVG, having them both on the laptop would hardly have helped the performance then. I'll leave it there & see what happens
Try Malwarebytes to see if it finds any crap already on your 
system
https://www.malwarebytes.org/

God14

Lads looking some advice here...

I have wifi in the house. Great job upstairs altogether, good speeds etc. The wireless router is located upstairs. However we have concrete slab flooring, and the result is that entire downstairs is a dead zone. Cannot get any wifi signal whatsoever downstairs. Its been like that a couple of years and I have ignored / persisted with it. But id like to sort it out now

Someone told me about wifi extenders? £20 type job from argos, but I see they have some disappointing reviews. Just wondering if anyone on here has encountered & solved the same issue??

gerrykeegan

Why is the wireless router upstairs? You should have the router where the broadband actually comes into the house, Where does your broadband actuall come in? What speeds are you getting? My sister has concrete floors and a big house. No issue with a Wifi anyhwere in the house.
I had a range expander in work, it did the trick. You put it at the end of the range you have and it pushes on the signal a bit more.

2007  2008 & 2009 Fantasy Golf Winner
(A legitimately held title unlike Dinny's)

God14

Gerry
I have a small office upstairs (which I no longer use). Broadband / Router has always been there.
Last time I did a speed check was around 8 mps

gerrykeegan

Reason I ask was I had my router upstairs. Brutal signal. Engineer said you have to position your router where the signal comes in.

I have no knowledge of these but it would seem to fit your requirements

http://www.currys.co.uk/gbuk/computing-accessories/networking/power-line-networking/bt-mini-wifi-hotspot-500-powerline-adapter-kit-triple-pack-10027620-pdt.html
2007  2008 & 2009 Fantasy Golf Winner
(A legitimately held title unlike Dinny's)

BenDover

Who is your internet provider? Sky were giving out free booster packs a while ago, I got one for up my stairs as the signal was woeful at the back of the house, improved it no end and dead easy to configure with the router

God14

Im with BT
I phoned them last night & they recommend I purchase broadband connectors? Tried to sell me a set for £30

BenDover

Sounds close to the price you'd pay for a set elsewhere but do a bit of research first before accepting what BT are selling ye!

Silly question, how do I change the appear of the GaaBoard home page?  Text looks like it is 6point on my screen.

Crumpet

Quote from: Denn Forever on October 19, 2014, 03:23:00 PM
Silly question, how do I change the appear of the GaaBoard home page?  Text looks like it is 6point on my screen.

The zoom level needs set to 100%. Is it a PC?

Yes it's a PC add other website are not affected.

Hold ctrl and hit the +sign.