Late Late Show - GAA Special

Started by stephenite, January 08, 2009, 02:16:54 AM

I thought it a little strange when they talked about Mickey Harte with him in the picture but didnt actually talk to him.  I reasonably enjoyed the show because I like all things GAA, but it was an unashamed gloss over. I thought it was amazing bringing the entire artane band into the studio, and you still couldnt hear them for the noise pollution of the sawdoctors.   :D.  and as for the juggler / comedian / class clown - poor.  If you put on a show in your local GAA club with those ideas on entertainment you wouldnt get 50 unless its in Ardboe.   Probably The last time I watched the late late there was a tribute to the Dubliners on and I thought they had made an effort there, this was in general GAA lite.   

Quote from: rrhf on January 13, 2009, 12:28:10 PM
I thought it a little strange when they talked about Mickey Harte with him in the picture but didnt actually talk to him.  I reasonably enjoyed the show because I like all things GAA, but it was an unashamed gloss over. I thought it was amazing bringing the entire artane band into the studio, and you still couldnt hear them for the noise pollution of the sawdoctors.   :D.  and as for the juggler / comedian / class clown - poor.  If you put on a show in your local GAA club with those ideas on entertainment you wouldnt get 50 unless its in Ardboe.   Probably The last time I watched the late late there was a tribute to the Dubliners on and I thought they had made an effort there, this was in general GAA lite.   

I see you're getting a venue ready !

Blue and Navy

I think Furboot made some very pertinent points there, there is a hell of a lot more that they could have crammed into the show and it still would have come under the remit of "Light Entertainment". I know Boston College are doing a huge survey of the country looking at the whole social side of the GAA and this was never even mentioned.

And TheGAA don't be surprised about Karl O'Kane completely lifting stuff and not doing any work himself... i know from personal experience that The Star are wonderful at plagarism....p****s.

Quote from: T Fearon on January 13, 2009, 12:13:32 PM
It seems to me that people are being a tad unfair. The Late Late Show is a Friday Night Light Entertainment Show first and foremost, and its targeted audience extends way beyond the GAA community, and in the space of two and a quarter hours there was a limit to the content. In otherwords there wasn't time for an in depth analysis of 125 years (isn't TG 4 doing a 9 part series for this purpose), and like them or loathe them, the likes of Bertie, Dunphy and Brush Shiels will always attract viewers from outside the GAA's hinterland.
Yes, there's a limit to the content, but they could have swapped what they did have for something better and it wouldn't have required too much imagination. Also i doubt very much that Brush Shiels has any significant pulling power, regardless of what the subject of the show is.

Quote from: T Fearon on January 13, 2009, 12:13:32 PM
I certainly found it entertaining enough (the show's purpose), I thought the real gobshite was that Knob from Nob Nation, although you could argue any Monaghan Man is out of place in any GAA related event.
(Whilst not defending the knob nation sketch) Yes, obviously given Armagh's long and rich history in comparison to Monaghan, it would be much more deserving of places. And of course the current Director Genaral isn't from Monaghan, nor is a relatively recent GAA President, and Armagh surely don't use a Monaghan venue for their home games... oh, wait  ::)

Quote(Whilst not defending the knob nation sketch)

this was singularly unfunny in parts, but he did raise a laugh about the Cork resignation controversy and the bishop holding firm.

QuoteAlso i doubt very much that Brush Shiels has any significant pulling power, regardless of what the subject of the show is.

he must have pictures of someone...

Quoteand Armagh surely don't use a Monaghan venue for their home games... oh, wait

Armagh does play in Clones rather a lot. As so many Ulster championship games are in Clones you would think that Monaghan would try a bit harder to reach the later rounds of that competition. Perhaps now that the recession has returned the glory days of the 80's can be recaptured.

MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

I see former Meath great and now respected surgeon Gerry McEntee has vented his anger in today's Irish Times' letters page.

Never one to hold back.

'Late Late' tribute to the GAA

Madam, – I sincerely hope that the Late Late Show 's tribute last Friday to 125 years of the GAA is not a reflection of the forthcoming RTÉ series commemorating the anniversary. Firstly, on what basis were Bertie Ahern and Eamon Dunphy the principal guests? Surely it would have been more appropriate to have the current GAA president or the current or former ard striuratheoir open the show.

Secondly, no recognition at all was given to the enormous contribution of women to the association apart from a brief conversation with Deirdre Shefflin, who just happened to be sitting beside her husband Henry and also happened to have played camogie. Thirdly, the mimic "comedian" clearly was not vetted beforehand. He was not funny and he was downright offensive to the current Taoiseach, a true GAA supporter who did not deserve to be treated in such an insulting manner.

Finally one can only assume Des Cahill was sent on at the end to rescue Pat Kenny and a show that was dying on its feet. He duly did his best by pointing out some prominent GAA people in the audience whom Pat Kenny clearly did not recognise. This was a shambles of a "celebration", an embarrassment to RTÉ and Pat Kenny and an insult to the GAA at large. – Yours, etc,

GERRY McENTEE,
Eccles Street,
Dublin 7.

SidelineKick

"If you want to box, say you want to box and we'll box"

Yes, but he forgot to mention Brush!

The Meath men will not shaft the Brush as him and Sean Boylan are big mates.  Would agree with everything Gerry said though, fair play.

Seemingly there was war in The Late Late studio after the show ended when all the Fianna Failers refused to sup with Kenny and went home cos of the antics of The Knob from Knob Nation. Many expressed their feelings as well.

Des Cahill watched the start of the show from his armchair at home and got an urgent request to come in and rescue things as the producers could see that the show was going pear-shaped rapidly.

There was other rows as well over whether Sean Kelly would get his bake in (seeing as he is running for European office) as he was originally scheduled to be a main guest but if he was on, others were off.

All in all the GAA's top brass are very very unhappy with RTE.

When's the next review of the coverage of the games?????

One poster on An Fear Rua summed it up perfectly: Im glad that I was drinking rather heavily for the whole show!   :D

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 14, 2009, 11:18:39 AM

Des Cahill watched the start of the show from his armchair at home and got an urgent request to come in and rescue things as the producers could see that the show was going pear-shaped rapidly.

That can't be true surely? If it is it beggars belief. Surely the producers knew in advance that they were in trouble with this diatribe. If it is true then someone's head surely has to roll. Preferably Plank's

Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on January 14, 2009, 01:10:50 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 14, 2009, 11:18:39 AM

That can't be true surely? If it is it beggars belief. Surely the producers knew in advance that they were in trouble with this diatribe. If it is true then someone's head surely has to roll. Preferably Plank's

I think Shamrock Shore's tongue was firmly in his cheek when he typed that sniper :-\

I got the Des Cahill and the remaining stories from a person in the audience in the show that night via Shamrock Shore snr.

I am open to correction, of course, but I have no reason not to believe the story.

If I am wrong I will correct the record.

If I am right then it is a shocking indictment on the production levels on RTE's flagship light entertainment show. But to some here that will be of no surprise.

Blue and Navy

Jaysus its some mess if it is true. Surely RTE will comment on it at sum stage or have they already?