Late Late Show - GAA Special

Started by stephenite, January 08, 2009, 02:16:54 AM

I'm by no great shakes Des biggest fan either, but he was very good last night and knew a great deal more about the GAA than Kenny, FFS, Dunphy knew more!

Terrible show. Two hours i'll never see again.

Saw Doctors - predictable rubbish
Bertie - well at least he is a genuine GAA fan
Dunphy - an embarrassment, brown-nosing and playing to the crowd - should never have even been considered
Spillane - i'm nowhere near his number 1 fan, but he was actually one of the few positives last night
Eileen Dunne - at least she's a fan, but i'm sure they could have found someone more suitable
Brush Shiels - cringefest. He even said he doesn't go to the matches anymore. He's an embarrassment - i remember thinking the same when he came out before the IR in Croke Park a few years ago. His foolery during the fields of Athenry was ridiculous and so amateur

I'd like to have heard from some more players/ex-players - Peter Canavan sounded like he could have talked for a bit, Joe Brolly would have been some entertainment - i know they're both northern, they're just two who spring to mind, there are many others. Spillane was one of the few who actually worked last night.

Des Cahill was a positive i have to say. And effectively, he chaired the show when he came on.

All in all, very poor. RTÉ made no real effort to look outside of their own payoll.

Quote from: longrunsthefox on January 10, 2009, 12:48:11 AM
Eileen Dunne got it 100% with her choice of 1980 hurling final. Was there and it was incredible and Joe McDonagh singing the wests awake. the west didnt get much of  a mention tonight tho. Am I the only one thinks Sheehy's free is the most overhyped and overrated goal of all time?

I managed to watch 10 minutes of that shite before I feared for my sanity, the remote control and the TV.
It was indicative of the show that the clip did not include Joe actually singing The West Awake.

You are not alone in thinking Mikey Sheehy's goal is  "the most overhyped and overrated goal of all time".

Was there a special deal going for the "GAA suit" is some shop?

Eileen Dunne got it 100% with her choice of 1980 hurling final. Was there and it was incredible and Joe McDonagh singing the wests awake. the west didnt get much of  a mention tonight tho. Am I the only one thinks Sheehy's free is the most overhyped and overrated goal of all time?

When I saw Eileen pick this I nearly jumped for joy. Lovely I thought, I'm finally going to see Connolly's speech and McDonagh's song in full on TV - and then they just show the first line of the speech. Clems. Cahill went up in my estimation after that. Him and Spillane were the best contributors. Heffernan and Keaveney were good. Saw Docs were good. There was lots in between. Then Brush was cringe city - saying he hadn't went to a game since 1992 - what a clem. And picking his moment just to get at Sean Boylan for a laugh, what a p***k. Oliver Callan managed to offend practically everyone and amuse very few and then quimcake number one, Plank Kenny. Not a clue about the subject matter. Embarrassing the way he showed Darragh O Se the picture of Dooher lifting Sam - lucky he didn't get a box. Cut so many boys with something good to say off, and then indulged people with little idea about the GAA. I know people can have varying opinions about presenters. Some loved Gaybo, some hated him. But he had a big following. Can the same be said of Kenny? Has he any fans at all? I doubt it

Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on January 10, 2009, 01:38:38 PM

Eileen Dunne got it 100% with her choice of 1980 hurling final. Was there and it was incredible and Joe McDonagh singing the wests awake. the west didnt get much of  a mention tonight tho. Am I the only one thinks Sheehy's free is the most overhyped and overrated goal of all time?

When I saw Eileen pick this I nearly jumped for joy. Lovely I thought, I'm finally going to see Connolly's speech and McDonagh's song in full on TV - and then they just show the first line of the speech. Clems. Cahill went up in my estimation after that. Him and Spillane were the best contributors. Heffernan and Keaveney were good. Saw Docs were good. There was lots in between. Then Brush was cringe city - saying he hadn't went to a game since 1992 - what a clem. And picking his moment just to get at Sean Boylan for a laugh, what a p***k. Oliver Callan managed to offend practically everyone and amuse very few and then quimcake number one, Plank Kenny. Not a clue about the subject matter. Embarrassing the way he showed Darragh O Se the picture of Dooher lifting Sam - lucky he didn't get a box. Cut so many boys with something good to say off, and then indulged people with little idea about the GAA. I know people can have varying opinions about presenters. Some loved Gaybo, some hated him. But he had a big following. Can the same be said of Kenny? Has he any fans at all? I doubt it

Am not a Dublin supporter by any stretch of the imagination, but that goal sickens me to the core. Was not a free to begin with & it says a lot about us Irish when we applaud a man scoring a goal from a free with the goalkeeper off his line in such circumstances. Unsporting & comparable to shooting ducks in a barrel. If I was Paddy Cullen I would have burried that c*nt Mikey Sheehy long ago. Any retard with wellyboots on would have scored that. Best gaa moment for me was years later when Darby gave those Kerry boys a taste of their own medicine.

Do you keep your ducks in a barrel?

That was a cringe-fest.

From the Artane Boys marching around Croke Park playing the N17, and Pat clapping along in studio.

The lack of hurling, the failure to even mention the likes of Micheal O Hehir.

Who was sitting in a Production meeting and thought - we must have Brush Shields - what the hell is he? Not a comedian. Not a musician. It was beyhond belief that he was there.

Oliver Callan is just not funny - a poor mans Mario Rosenstock. RTE think they are on to a winner there but then again they think they are on to a winner with Keeping Up Appearances.

I'm no Des Cahill fan but he was clearly there to try and pull the plank through the football talk.

Dara O'Se should have clocked him. Brian Dooher should have used a tissue. Mickey Harte would have been a perfect man for a panel. Peter Quinn had interesting things to say. The panels should have been made up of GAA people.

The more you see what RTE can do the more you just wonder.

And then Tommy Fleming - how does that man earn a living seeing. Even on the X Factor he would be torn to shreds.

neilthemac

worst show ever. worst presenter ever

should have beemed it live from the function rooms in Croker

had a bit more craic on it - features on the museum, scor, handball among others

Can anyone explain to me why the Reverend Darcy gets involved ins hows like these.
He seems to be where the action is all the time.
He was on the panel at the Joe Dolan Tribute show lately. Again in the front row last night.
Will never forget whenever Tyrone came back to Dungannon in 95 after the Dublin defeat in the AIF, Darcy got off the team bus. WHY???

gorm agus bui

Just a wee reminder lads that the show will be on again on Monday night!!!

never kickt a ball

Quote from: stephenite on January 08, 2009, 02:16:54 AM
Apparently there will be a late late show GAA Special for the 125 celebrations, if any kind soul with the appropriate technology would be willing to record this and post a DVD I'd be eternally grateful and pay for any p&p

Wouldn't bother if I was you Stephenite.

Stephenite, if it was a choice between watching that or being strapped to a chair  (with your eyelids propped open by a piece of dried Roscommon turd) and forced to watch a recording of Mayo v Kerry AIF (with subliminal images of Pat Spillane grinning), you'd be a fool to select the former.

Quote from: Main Street on January 10, 2009, 05:22:41 PM
Stephenite, if it was a choice between watching that or being strapped to a chair  (with your eyelids propped open by a piece of dried Roscommon turd) and forced to watch a recording of Mayo v Kerry AIF (with subliminal images of Pat Spillane grinning), you'd be a fool to select the former.

>:( :( :o :D  Ah now that's pushing it just a tad.

Steaming pile of shite. Any chance we can send a partition into the Irish Government publicly disowning Brush Shields as being Irish? I could never understand this country's fascination with this guy. A guy of no talent in any capacity, yet he's on every farewell programme on RTE. Maybe its the only wage he gets.
Pat the plank is good on the radio, but I 'd love to meet whoever it was in RTE that thought he had a career in tv. Absolutely diabolical is the not the word for his presenting.

Those criticising RTE.....would you have expected anything else from them?  Seriously, the level of creative output from RTE is shockingly poor.  The lethargy  in the organisation starts at the top and works its way down.  Cathal Goan and co. have alot of questions to answer if last night is the best RTE can produce to mark the GAA and it's contribution to Irish society!  

Poor interviewer, poor interviewees, poor entertainment.....I echo the remarks about Brush Shields...WTF!