Late Late Show - GAA Special

Started by stephenite, January 08, 2009, 02:16:54 AM

I'm with Ziggy tho, the bit at the start where Pat tries to joke with Bertie about how some people mightn't be able to afford to pay into Croker next year. Bertie's laugh was a nervous one at least. But wtf would Kenny the highest earner in RTE know about how people are struggling? I felt like f**king the remote at the tv at that stage
What the f**k? Let me get this right, Pat Kenny and Bertie Aherne felt it appropriate to joke that people mightn't be able to afford to go to Croke park?  Is it just me who's blood boils at the thought of that?

I would have turned over at that stage.

An old 20 pence piece.
A book of log tables.
A tax disc with 01-03 on it.
A spikey thing.
Something soft about the size of my thumb with hair on it.

These are the things I found last night when I went to hide behind the sofa when the brush came on. 

I got the impression from Dunphy that Giles is a big gaa fan. Should have brought him on as a guest to.

Two Hands FFS

Disappointed. Started off ok but just went down hill after that. At least Bertie talked about going to matches....Brush was trying to talk for about 10 minutes on Singing the fields of Athenry at Croker. He was emabarrasing,a disgrace that he was on.

Was Christy Ring mentioned?? Only one mention of Hurling in the Mid 90's( & the that was Pat Spillane would you believe).....no mention of Clare or Ger Loughnane, Offalys victories, Liam Griffin should have been on. They should have got somebody younger like Joe Canning or Tommy Walsh(Kerry) to talk about it means to the younger generation.

Alot of faults....you could go on for ages

No Sean Og O'hAilpin despite all the mention he got on RTE.ie

They should been talking to players and managers, grass roots folk,  and showing clips. Who gives a shite what Brush, Eileen Dunne, Des Cahill, Eamon Dunphy or any of these clowns think. Or they might have got a few other current sport stars who have GAA roots like P. Harrington, a few of them rugby lads play a bit too. ALso perhaps some 'New' Irish lads who're playing with clubs or are just in some way involved in the GAA.

Would agree with the Galway man that this show was a big Dublin V Kerry love in. If the GAA is meant to appeal to all parishes throughout all Ireland why not talk to a Westmeath man about winning the All Ireland minor title or their recent Leinster title or a Leitrim man about their 94 Connacht title win & subsequent semi final in Croke Park, instead of Dublin, Dublin, Dublin. I mean kenny is a Dub, as is Brush, Eileen Dunne, bertie & Dunphy. The show simply did not represent people outside the pale, Kerry & Kilkenny adequately.

Quote from: thejuice on January 10, 2009, 11:53:08 AM
No Sean Og O'hAilpin despite all the mention he got on RTE.ie

They should been talking to players and managers, grass roots folk,  and showing clips. Who gives a shite what Brush, Eileen Dunne, Des Cahill, Eamon Dunphy or any of these clowns think. Or they might have got a few other current sport stars who have GAA roots like P. Harrington, a few of them rugby lads play a bit too. ALso perhaps some 'New' Irish lads who're playing with clubs or are just in some way involved in the GAA.
Sure Des tried to get Conor O'Shea involved and Pat didn't have a clue who he was and as soon as Conor mentioned Jack O'Shea Pat cut him off mid sentence to speak to Jacko when Conor was actually relaying a good story.  Pat has zero sporting knowledge (outside of soccer) and last night showed this clearly.

never kickt a ball

Quote from: gorm agus bui on January 10, 2009, 12:42:51 AM
Can some one explain to me what Brush Shiels has to do with the GAA, knows about the GAA, or indeed has to offer the GAA. What a plonker!!!
Mediocre show when it had the potential to be top class.
70s the Golden era??. Football became basketball and standard was brutal.Doesn't compare with the 60s( in its entirety) or the early 90s(91-94).
Total lack of respect given to hurling and handball.

He's from Dublin. Isn't he? Same as Dunphy, Eileen Dunne, Bertie........

I feel sorry for Henry. Imagine cutting your holiday short in Hawaii to sit listening to that sh@te.

At least he brought Deirdre along for all of us all though  ;D

Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 10, 2009, 10:10:29 AM
I'm with Ziggy tho, the bit at the start where Pat tries to joke with Bertie about how some people mightn't be able to afford to pay into Croker next year. Bertie's laugh was a nervous one at least. But wtf would Kenny the highest earner in RTE know about how people are struggling? I felt like f**king the remote at the tv at that stage
What the f**k? Let me get this right, Pat Kenny and Bertie Aherne felt it appropriate to joke that people mightn't be able to afford to go to Croke park?  Is it just me who's blood boils at the thought of that?

I wouldn't associate Bertie too much with it. Bertie was on about how when he was young he'd be lifted over the turnstiles in Croker and Kenny, trying to slag Bertie about the state he left the country in, says 'the way things are people mightn't be able to afford to pay in there next year' and then started laughing. Bertie laughed nervously and looked at Pat as if to say 'what the f**k are you playing at ya plonker'. It was crass from Kenny but what would you expect

There seemed to be very little hurling featured so i didnt persevere with it too long, in fairness it was a pile of sh*te.

I wouldn't associate Bertie with Kenny's 'terrific' sense of humour either. What could he do? He laughed nervously, but looked liked he wanted to lamp him one for being such an insensitive p***k.

yeah Henry and the wife must be gutted with cutting the holidays short for that pile of bollocks.

All in all I'd say there was good craic and stories in the pub after with all the legends there, now that would be something I'd have liked to have seen!

I'm not a big fan of Des Cahill but he should have anchored the show. As I thought mostly cringeworthy stuff with little or no mention of hurling. Pat really is brutal and as for Brush don't get me started. Didn't think Heffo looked well at all

Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on January 10, 2009, 12:12:55 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 10, 2009, 10:10:29 AM

I wouldn't associate Bertie too much with it. Bertie was on about how when he was young he'd be lifted over the turnstiles in Croker and Kenny, trying to slag Bertie about the state he left the country in, says 'the way things are people mightn't be able to afford to pay in there next year' and then started laughing. Bertie laughed nervously and looked at Pat as if to say 'what the f**k are you playing at ya plonker'. It was crass from Kenny but what would you expect
Ah ok fair enough but the sooner someone decks that p***k Kenny the better. Who does he think he is? He's quite possibility the worst presenter in the history of tv and he's lucky RTE are as shite as him or he'd be the one struggling to pay the mortgage.