Late Late Show - GAA Special

Started by stephenite, January 08, 2009, 02:16:54 AM

Not a bad effort - too much emphasis on Dublin and Kerry - the show got a bit disjointed at times - as Reillers says not enough hurling - I thought Oliver from nob nation was brilliant.

An Laoch

Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on January 10, 2009, 12:24:06 AM
Was shocked to see that clown Dunphy coming out as 1 of the 1st guests. Didnt realise he had any interest in the gaa but he did give it plenty of praise.

He's a rent-a-quote insincere guff merchant. He could spin the same shite if there was an Irish cricket or tiddlywinks love-in tomorrow.

Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on January 10, 2009, 12:10:13 AM
It wasnt great but to be fair there would have been people on here complaining about it no matter what it was like. Not sure exactly what you's were expecting from a 2 hour late late show.

Would agree with you.
The worst part though was that tool from nob nation he was brutal

Did anyone cop that impersonator saying, 'Sean Cavanagh, is that Ryan Mcmenamin in your pocket or are you just glad to see me?" i thought that was hilarious tho not really sure what he meant. Suprisinly I though Eammonn Dunphy spoke well and really undersatnds what the GAA is about. Yip, Peter Quinn was interupted when he went to say that many in south did not appreciate the situation in the north. Also Des Cahill was on satge to point out who was in the crowd for Pat who hadn't  a clue.  It was a poor show top heavy with Dubs-Kerry.       

Quote from: longrunsthefox on January 10, 2009, 12:35:19 AM
Did anyone cop that impersonator saying, 'Sean Cavanagh, is that Ryan Mcmenamin in your pocket or are you just glad to see me?" i thought that was hilarious tho not really sure what he meant. Suprisinly I though Eammonn Dunphy spoke well and really undersatnds what the GAA is about. Yip, Peter Quinn was interupted when he went to say that many in south did not appreciate the situation in the north. Also Des Cahill was on satge to point out who was in the crowd for Pat who hadn't  a clue.  It was a poor show top heavy with Dubs-Kerry.       

Don't be so paranoid  ::) all through the show many of the guests were cut across as they were speaking,I actually commented on it to my GF about it as I found it annoying,it wasn't just when Peter Quinn was talking

Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 10, 2009, 12:40:16 AM

Don't be so paranoid  ::) all through the show many of the guests were cut across as they were speaking,I actually commented on it to my GF about it as I found it annoying,it wasn't just when Peter Quinn was talking

You are that it was happening the whole, for Pat hasn't a clue how to chair a show. In this case, it was a matter of getting the conversation away from the Troubles as quickly as possible.

Fair play to Des for saying that his favourite moments were seeing teams from the north like Derry, Armagh and Tyrone all win Sam for the first time.

I don't think Dunphy was insincere. He spoke of players in 50s with dublin and going to Parnell Park and Croke Park with his Dad... seemed genuine. Eileen Dunne got it 100% with her choice of 1980 hurling final. Was there and it was incredible and Joe McDonagh singing the wests awake. the west didnt get much of  a mention tonight tho. Am I the only one thinks Sheehy's free is the most overhyped and overrated goal of all time?

Quote from: ziggysego on January 10, 2009, 12:45:46 AM

You are that it was happening the whole, for Pat hasn't a clue how to chair a show. In this case, it was a matter of getting the conversation away from the Troubles as quickly as possible.

Fair play to Des for saying that his favourite moments were seeing teams from the north like Derry, Armagh and Tyrone all win Sam for the first time.

I think ye are just being paranoid about it to be honest..
Fecking Nordies always need to have a chip on their shoulders about something... :P

Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 10, 2009, 12:48:14 AM
Fecking Nordies always need to have a chip on their shoulders about something... :P

Still carrying that grudge from when you left us with the English....  ;)

An Laoch

That's not quite what he said though was it. He was just trying to finish on an upnote after they shut up Peter Quinn - one of the very few people who had something worthwhile to say.

Quote from: An Laoch on January 10, 2009, 12:53:16 AM

That's not quite what he said though was it. He was just trying to finish on an upnote after they shut up Peter Quinn - one of the very few people who had something worthwhile to say.
Peter forgot about the general atmosphere of back-slappery so they tried to rush him on. What he was going on to say was, it's alright talking about dublin and kerry in the 70's but they didn't have a war to fight ;)

gorm agus bui

Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 10, 2009, 12:48:14 AM

Spoken like a true West Brit!!

I remember the day after the Omagh bomb there was a big hurling game-All Ireland semi- in Croke park on the Sunday on 23rd of August. Not entirely sure who it was but two southern teams. The crowd were dancing and cheering while the north was in despair. It might has well have been Iraq as far as crowd in Croke park was concerned. Des Fahy wrote an article the next vday about it and how the ALL IRELAND game would have been called off if the atrcity had been in say Cork. In the press box he asked other reporters from the south if they felt unconmfortable with it and they shrugged their shoulders...so Real laois Lad maybe Peter Quinn did have a valid point!