hen party and themes...any ideas

Started by leenie, November 05, 2008, 07:07:48 PM

I felt into a Welsh Hen Party in Edinburgh three years ago. They were all dressed as dragons.

maggie

i quite like the idea of a sailor girl theme and going somewhere on a boat.
Oi-oi Captain
ship mate etc etc
Jus dunno where you could on a boat to

Jeez I've been on loads of these, helped organise a few too.

"Classy" - go for Black and Bling, everyone to wear black and lots of sparkly accessories/jewellery.  Got sooooo many comments in Barcelona at the time. 

London was a fantastic place for a hen party - Fri night in O'Neills, shopping Sat, cocktails in the Ritz in the early evening, then onto a cheesy club.

Have been to Sligo twice on a hen party, and both times were really good.  The Velvet Rooms that I think Ziggy mentioned were good but you're not allowed hen party stuff, which was grand.  Met a lovely fella down there one time.  Pity about the distance btw there and Belfast.  :-\

Westport was good fun, pubs during the day were the best part.

Belfast is actually great for a hen party, we went to McHugh's for dinner, took a carryout on the boat on the Lagan, then off to Cathedral Quarter.

Letterkenny - also good but spent my formative years there so not as much fun as it should have been.

Dublin - too expensive now.

Next year we're combining two and going to Puerto Banus but might head to the races at Down Royal for the "home" version of one.

My choice: surf wkend in Bundoran, you can stay for next to nothing, do something active, then out in the town Sat night.

Re: boat, you can go on one at Carrick on Shannon and then off into town as well, think there's a club there. 

fred the red

Quote from: Rois on November 05, 2008, 09:23:15 PM
Jeez I've been on loads of these, helped organise a few too.

"Classy" - go for Black and Bling, everyone to wear black and lots of sparkly accessories/jewellery.  Got sooooo many comments in Barcelona at the time. 

London was a fantastic place for a hen party - Fri night in O'Neills, shopping Sat, cocktails in the Ritz in the early evening, then onto a cheesy club.

Have been to Sligo twice on a hen party, and both times were really good.  The Velvet Rooms that I think Ziggy mentioned were good but you're not allowed hen party stuff, which was grand.  Met a lovely fella down there one time.  Pity about the distance btw there and Belfast.  :-\

Westport was good fun, pubs during the day were the best part.

Belfast is actually great for a hen party, we went to McHugh's for dinner, took a carryout on the boat on the Lagan, then off to Cathedral Quarter.

Letterkenny - also good but spent my formative years there so not as much fun as it should have been.

Dublin - too expensive now.

Next year we're combining two and going to Puerto Banus but might head to the races at Down Royal for the "home" version of one.

My choice: surf wkend in Bundoran, you can stay for next to nothing, do something active, then out in the town Sat night.
Re: boat, you can go on one at Carrick on Shannon and then off into town as well, think there's a club there. 

A night out in bundoran? its not that hot to be fair

DoYerJob Linesman

Quote from: ziggysego on November 05, 2008, 08:49:12 PM
I felt into a Welsh Hen Party in Edinburgh three years ago. They were all dressed as dragons.

Naughty.
17/03/02 - Semple Stadium Thurles - Heaven On Earth

Quote from: AFS on November 05, 2008, 09:47:38 PM
Surfing is a pile of shite too, unless getting hit in the face with a load of saltwater every 10 seconds is your idea of a good time  :-\

It is!  Bought my first wetsuit this year, intend to make use of it. 

i wanted to tell every one it was a mystery and then turned up at loug derg... just to see their reactions!

fred the red

Boat trip down the shannon sounds like a plan....anyone done anything like this before?

maggie

Lough Derg would be great for a hen- you wouldnt have to worry about what to wear-no high heels/make up required.
You would stay up all night and have the craic.
Plus there is a boat trip involved...............

And Leenie while you are there you could pray for a boyf,ticks all the boxes  ;)

thanks maggie
don't need the prayers  ;)

Quote from: DoYerJob Linesman on November 05, 2008, 09:52:31 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 05, 2008, 08:49:12 PM

Naughty.

Fell.... fell.

Freudian slip there me thinks

Treasurer

Done the lot - nuns, nurses, schoolgirls etc and to be honest some of the best nights were the ones where nobody bothered with themes and just had a good night out (although the nuns night was particularly good craic in fairness)

cavan4ever

Quote from: leenie on November 05, 2008, 07:07:48 PM
organizing a hen weekend

any ideas on where we should go and themes?

Where are you from?  how far u willing to travel?

Quote from: cavan4ever on November 06, 2008, 12:31:28 PM
Quote from: leenie on November 05, 2008, 07:07:48 PM
organizing a hen weekend

any ideas on where we should go and themes?

Where are you from?  how far u willing to travel?

from the north..........

will go anywhere, ireland, england or europe...  everyone going is good craic but wouldn't be into get full the whole weekend of going dressed as school girls....