John Leahy on the Late Late

Started by Premier Emperor, October 26, 2009, 05:47:11 PM

EddieMerx

Quote from: longrunsthefox on October 28, 2009, 01:10:06 PM
so you get to decide which?  ;)

Nope, I suppose like this topic then we all have an opinion on what people are ;)

bottlethrower7

Leahy was a genius in hurling terms, and like almost all of that ilk, he was highly flawed.

I like picking Tipp lads' brains on him though because I always felt they never really got the best out of him (apart maybe in the league final of 1991 (I think it was)). In '91 he was set to be the star turn of the championship when (foolishly in my opinion) he turned out for the Tipp footballers and did his cruciate.

Though he had great days in the Tipp jersey I always felt they were fewer or maybe not as great as they might have been if things had turned out slightly differently.

And hes a shining example of someone who turned their life around - from being someone whose life was in the pits of hell, to where he is today, having fully acknowledged and (in my opinion) made amends for past discrepencies.

As regards the specific incidents being referred to here. I don't think its right to comment. Forgiveness or not would be the call of those other parties involved, not some people writing behind an assumed name on an internet forum.

Exactly BT, however, I do think calling someone a legend off the pitch when he patently had difficulties behaving himself back then is a bit of a stretch. It's great what he's doing now though, so fair play to him.

Onlooker

Quote from: bottlethrower7 on October 28, 2009, 03:53:57 PM
Leahy was a genius in hurling terms, and like almost all of that ilk, he was highly flawed.

I like picking Tipp lads' brains on him though because I always felt they never really got the best out of him (apart maybe in the league final of 1991 (I think it was)). In '91 he was set to be the star turn of the championship when (foolishly in my opinion) he turned out for the Tipp footballers and did his cruciate.

Though he had great days in the Tipp jersey I always felt they were fewer or maybe not as great as they might have been if things had turned out slightly differently.

And hes a shining example of someone who turned their life around - from being someone whose life was in the pits of hell, to where he is today, having fully acknowledged and (in my opinion) made amends for past discrepencies.

As regards the specific incidents being referred to here. I don't think its right to comment. Forgiveness or not would be the call of those other parties involved, not some people writing behind an assumed name on an internet forum.
Just for the record, it was in 1994 that John Leahy was injured playing for the Tipperary footballers in the Munster Championship.  I don't think it was a cruciate injury though.

Quote from: Onlooker on October 28, 2009, 10:11:37 PM

Just for the record, it was in 1994 that John Leahy was injured playing for the Tipperary footballers in the Munster Championship. I don't think it was a cruciate injury though.

Not sure if it was this occasion or not but I'm nearly sure he did a cruciate alright.

bottlethrower7

Just for the record, it was in 1994 that John Leahy was injured playing for the Tipperary footballers in the Munster Championship.  I don't think it was a cruciate injury though.

sorry, yep, you're right. Sure Tipp bait KK in '91 - I've tried too hard to wipe that season from memory. Tipp went out in the first round in '94 if memory serves? Memory is a haze these days though. I do remember there were 2 dual players that year, Anthony Cross being the other. And I was almost certain is was the cruciate Leahy did playing the big ball game. People were talking up Tipp - I think that league final was against Limerick also and they turned around a 14-point (or so) deficit to come back and win (in a performance inspired by Leahy).

Quote from: bottlethrower7 on October 29, 2009, 09:40:07 AM
sorry, yep, you're right. Sure Tipp bait KK in '91 - I've tried too hard to wipe that season from memory. Tipp went out in the first round in '94 if memory serves? Memory is a haze these days though. I do remember there were 2 dual players that year, Anthony Cross being the other. And I was almost certain is was the cruciate Leahy did playing the big ball game. People were talking up Tipp - I think that league final was against Limerick also and they turned around a 14-point (or so) deficit to come back and win (in a performance inspired by Leahy).
Yep, t'was '94.
Leahy won an All Star without actually in the championship.

ormondeboy3

Quote from: bottlethrower7 on October 29, 2009, 09:40:07 AM

Think we're mixing up our NHL finals lads, Leahy did put himself out of the hurling championship in '94 playing football with the county. He destoyed Galway in the NHL Final that year and got an all-star on the back of it. That was the match when he picked up a loose free from Sean Treacy (Galway full-back that day) and put it straight over the bar from way out the field. He gave Treacy the thumbs up after it.

The League Final in '92 Limerick came back from being well down to win by a point. I think it was one of the Nash's got the winning point.

Leahy was a force of nature. Didn't fully exploit his potential for various reasons, but when on his game he was untouchable and could dominate games like no other. His point against Galway in the 2000 QF where he dummied the ball over Fergal Moore and drilled it over the bar was a signature score if ever there was one.

bottlethrower7

cheers ob - league finals aren't my forte at all. I have a vague recollection at best of most.

One thing I do remember about that '92 game - it was played fairly late in the year because I can recall being at a different game and hearing the result coming through on the wireless. I can't for the life of me think what that game was but it was either a leinster hurling or football (yes, I went to football games back then) match.

My own best memory of Leahy was when he played in our club all-Ireland junior 7s competition way back (maybe 89 or 90). Seeing him, arguably at his best, up close like that, was something I'm not likely to ever forget. He won the tournament for Mullinahone practically single-handedly. And Mullinahone were still in the early stages of their transformation from a football to a hurling club. Oh how things have changed since!

Its a wonder Leahy never brought out a book. His story would be a lot more interesting than most, including some doing the rounds at the present time.

Quote from: EddieMerx on October 28, 2009, 10:58:51 AM
So if someone glasses you in the face and leaves you marked for life you would forgive them??? you are either a saint or stupid...

Happened me,
I am completely indifferent to the individual (he ran out the door and I never saw him again)
& I'm no saint so I must be stupid.