armagh's next manager

Started by lawnseed, August 09, 2014, 07:10:40 PM

Quote from: Zulu on August 15, 2014, 03:39:10 PM
Anyone who develops physically in a proper way won't lose agility, in fact he will improve this aspect of play considerably. The days of inter county footballers going into the gym bench pressing and bicep curls is gone and certainly in counties like Armagh. If Jamie does undergo a strength training program it will be done properly. Johnny Doyle spent years trying to bulk up but couldn't do it. By the way, developing strength and power is not the same as bulking up.

That is so true, anyone who watched Raheem Sterling for instance this year for Liverpool would have seen a small fella who has improved his strength immeasurably without really bulking up.  He did get bigger but in no way did it impede him, nor make him any slower. 

Syferus, when i mentioned the word bulk I didn't mean the beefcake kind.  I think players sometimes need to earn the right to get playing their football especially when they're being double or treble marked.  Jamie struggled a bit in the last couple of games and one line of thought could be that a lack of physical strength (the fella seems to have a very light frame) means he gets closed off too quickly.  He didn't get on the ball much against Donegal and that would be a concern for the future in my view. At the very top level and latter part of the championship forwards aren't going to get lovely flighted ball into their chest in loads of space - they have to scrap for it.  I don't think Jamie is fit to scrap for it at present. Just an opinion.

A player who has taken his game to another level in the last couple of years is McManus from Monaghan.  Big transformation in his body shape too.

Quote from: Syferus on August 15, 2014, 03:41:58 PM
Quote from: Zulu on August 15, 2014, 03:39:10 PM
Anyone who develops physically in a proper way won't lose agility, in fact he will improve this aspect of play considerably. The days of inter county footballers going into the gym bench pressing and bicep curls is gone and certainly in counties like Armagh. If Jamie does undergo a strength training program it will be done properly. Johnny Doyle spent years trying to bulk up but couldn't do it. By the way, developing strength and power is not the same as bulking up.

Which is a mistake a lot of managers and coaches, even McGeeney, seemed to make. Jason Ryan and Barry Solan have slimed down members of the Kildare to be functional stronger since McGeeney was exiled.

I wouldn't say McGeeney got it wrong, developing players physically can take many years and in an amateur setting it isn't easy to get it right all the time. Some players do have to put on a few pounds of muscle as well as increasing strength and power. There's also the issue of body type, so some players find it very difficult to gain weight and others will do it too easily.

Jamie Clarke has no worries regarding bulking up anyway that's for sure.

Contrary to popular opinion, the Gooch is actually very powerful through the hips & legs.
He's physically well able to win his own ball and rarely ends up on his arse.

Quote from: supersub on August 15, 2014, 03:42:31 PM
Quote from: Syferus on August 15, 2014, 03:13:37 PM
Quote from: supersub on August 15, 2014, 11:10:47 AM
Quote from: Syferus on August 14, 2014, 07:01:05 PM
Sure Gooch looks like he could line-out at minor still. As long as Clarke is fit enough to last a match there isn't huge benefits for him to bulk up for and some obvious negatives too. I'd be more worried about him being rusty in May than being physically unfit.

What are these obvious negatives?

Have you never seen a skillful play bulk up too much and it effect his balance and agility? I've seen it happen regularly. McGeeney wasn't too bothered about bulking Johnny Doyle up either.

Example? Whoever it is obviously didn't have very good guidance if that's the case.

Gaining lean muscle on a S&C programme for GAA (or most similar sports) in noway affects your balance or agility, or speed for that matter if done correctly. It is all about power in this regard. Your 'skill' is not affected by the mechanics of your muscles in any way. The reason you would do a weights programme for GAA is to be stronger on the ball, burst through tackles, be able to take the hard hits and have explosive 'off the mark' speed/power in the first few yards. None of this will affect a player's balance or agility. We aren't looking to turn our players into body builders which is a totally different way of training.

Any footballer who struggles with his flexibility should just do yoga/pilates or get the Ryan Giggs video. Seeing all the things available to young footballers now only makes me yearn for my playing days again.

We had none of this stuff.

LCohen

Quote from: bennydorano on August 13, 2014, 10:56:02 PM
Quote from: LCohen on August 13, 2014, 07:43:15 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on August 13, 2014, 01:13:13 PM
Hopefully it's a seamless transition to McGeeney & no gobshite club reps try to make a name for themselves at the ratification Co Board meeting.
So any club that looks at an alternative or asks a relevant question is a gobshite?

Will we start the "Heil Geezer" straight away or after the coronation?
Yip
Whats the love affair with McGeeney? Surely there are others worth a look?

Sidney

McGeeney has the Tipp hurling job sewn up after that.

Back to Paddy O'Rourke or Jm McCorry for youse next year.

Mc geeney gets a  fixed five year term as Armagh manager
Ratified tonight

JP

Quote from: naka on August 27, 2014, 09:29:43 PM
Ratified tonight

Great news!! plenty of young lads there to have a really good team in a few years.

Quote from: JP on August 27, 2014, 09:52:50 PM
Ratified tonight

Great news!! plenty of young lads there to have a really good team in a few years.

Armagh have a good team now. Donegal just scraped past Armagh a couple of weeks ago.

JP

Quote from: orangeman on August 27, 2014, 10:27:47 PM
Quote from: JP on August 27, 2014, 09:52:50 PM
Ratified tonight

Armagh have a good team now. Donegal just scraped past Armagh a couple of weeks ago.

I was there.  We are at a competitive level again. But there is obviously room for improvement. Another year or 2 in development for some of the younger lads is an exciting prospect.